We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

thank u island palms for a fabulous long weekend in san diego! i picked shelter island to have a relaxing experience which is what we got! the Blue Wave Grill and bar was delicious! the staff was very welcoming. thanks to the front desk for informing us of the bus stop right down the road from the hotel. we didnt want to drive on our vacation and for only $5 day pass u can use any bus or trolley which goes to many locations. the bus and trolleys were clean and very easy to find. just ask the front desk for an attraction map which was very helpful with which bus and trolleys to take for where u want to go! we had an amzing view from our room on the 3rd level of the casa marina buliding. we would definitely recommend best western island palms hotel and marina to others!

Room Tip: the casa marina has great views and very nice newer rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you so much for the review. It's really nice to hear that you enjoyed all the wonderful sights of San Diego as well your room with a view. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,849 - 2,855 of 3,775 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Best Western Island Palms is on Shelter Island with San Diego Bay out the front door and hundreds of yachts right behind. The facility is very clean and well- maintained and the staff is quite friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves quality food at very reasonable prices. When there was an issue with a water heater in the building I was occupying, the staff did everything possible to make it right.

The best part of this hotel is its location. The views of the bay and downtown, especially at night, are fantastic. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and if you are a boater, it is pretty close to paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiverDaveMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel...right one the water and a great room to boot! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: There are rooms with kitchens and also 2 bedrooms as well which we didn't need. Others in our g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bienbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Wow what a nice place to stay before the cruise. The drivers were outstanding. Pointed out the local attractions. Very well done on customer service. We would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiseshipnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We booked this after much procastinating about which hotel to stay at for a short get away with little advance preparation.
The location of the hotel is great. Being it is on Shelter Island it is a nice relaxed atmosphere with lots of walking available and water all around. The free parking and internet was what decided in our booking here. There are some good places to eat within easy, less than a mile, walking distance. The breakfast offered onsite at the Blue Wave was very reasonably priced and the food was good. It is an easy drive to get to the downtown area and there is a free shuttle for the airport. The pool and pool area is very small and the pool is not heated. Capacity for the pool was stated at 60 but it would have to be SRO. Not a lot of room for loungers either.
There is an old section and a new section of the hotel. The old section has been remodeled but the walls are thin. I am hard of hearing, Viet Nam, and I could hear the people in the next two rooms urinating...UGH! Each time the shower was used, the toilet was flushed, etc, we could hear it. Not what we were really looking forward to for a short get away. The room we were given was small, just about three feet longer than a standard cruise ship cabin and even though painted a light color was dark and dreary. The bathroom was nice with a nice shower, even though there was no light in the shower itself, there was one right outside the shower door. The hosekeeping staff were very good and the room was kept very clean. There was free internet, bring your own cable. The room had a large flat screen TV, a microwave and a small refrigerator. The box spring on our bed made so much noise, creaking and groaning from just sitting down, rolling over that my wife went to a CVS and bought ear plugs. We mentioned this to the front desk, thinking that maybe the frame was busted, but nothing was done. Later we talked to Chris at the front desk and he offered to move us to another room but when we tried the other room in the old section of the hotel it was just as bad so we stayed where we were. we did look at one of the rooms in the new section of the hotel and they were nicer but we forgot to check out the beds. Thank you Chris for trying to make our stay better.
There are certain rooms to avoid at all costs:111,117,122,144,157,168 our room,169, and 170. These are not good ones to stay in as there is no view and they are dark. There are Four rooms that are right across from the loading dock for the hotel and restuarant, plus along the walk way for the boat owners at the marina. This means lots of noise and foot traffic at all hours but especially very early in the morning. They are rooms: 134,135,136 and137.
Overall it is a nice place but we will stay somewhere else next time we drive into San Diego.

Room Tip: I have done this with room numbers to avoid in the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RickHLihue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We have many room and suite options throughout the hotel and I wish our staff would have found a room that met your needs. We have 2 swimming pools and spas, both heated to 82 degrees and fortunately, we don’t have a problem with overcrowding but they certainly are the place to be when the weather is nice. Our guests can also enjoy the free wireless internet access at the pools and everywhere throughout the property.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our hotel and feedback such as yours helps us to focus on areas that need attention. We appreciate the time you’ve taken and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel was everything I wanted it to be! First thing to know is there are actually 3 different buildings with different features on this property so call ahead to get a better feel of which building would suit your preferences. We stayed in the Casa del mar which is in the middle and has views of the marina or the bay. I had coffee on my own patio each morning facing the marina. Perfect. Everything was pleasant: the spacious room, the view, the patio, the pools, the free bike rentals, the service, and the price! The ONLY thing I can think of as a drawback for this hotel is having wheels- its not far from downtown/airport but I could see not having a car as a hardship from this location. So get a rental car already and drive to this awesome hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennykat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm very glad I booked the Island Palms for my week in San Diego. The staff was extremely helpful, very comfortable bed with an incredible view of the sailboats in the marina. At night we enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi overlooking the harbor with a lit fireplace and 80s music. Parking was free and plentiful. The tennis courts under the parking structure were always available. Free wifi. Heavy classy wood blinds opened up to a patio with a spectacular view of the yachts day and night. They even picked up my wife from the airport when her flight was 3 hours delayed and my young child was asleep. It's a short drive, but not an airport hotel with boring atmosphere. Water pressure in bath very strong. Rooms had microwaves and refrigerators hidden under the large screen TVs. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AthensBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 279 in San Diego
1,666 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 279 in San Diego
2,749 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £90 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing