We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #16 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here on a girls' weekend, and really liked it. Our rooms were excellent, so maybe it depends on what building you are in as I noticed that others thought the rooms were "tired". Sadly, I don't remember exactly what type of room we asked for, but we did pay a bit more for it than other offerings, and we specifically asked for rooms overlooking the water. It was very quiet, the view was excellent, and one evening, instead of going out, we just ordered pizza and ate by the pool near the outdoor fireplace. Staff was friendly and helpful. I like the idea of a restaurant on the premise and many BWs don't have this, so found this to be a plus. No free breakfast, but I find these to be highly overrated so I didn't care about that.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the water, and go for the more expensive room offering as the rooms wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,536 - 2,542 of 3,845 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our room, in Casa Marina building, faced the marina so we could see the sunset every evening from our balcony - wow!. Beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet, although children across the hall could be heard in the entry way. The housekeeper was quick, polite and professional. Really nice, friendly and lovely staff, especially all the front desk staff.Property had 2 heated pools and hot tubs - open until 11 PM. We rented a car at the airport so we could travel to/from shelter island very easily and the parking (like the WiFi) was free. Our friend, staying downtown at the Westin paid 32 per day for parking and our room was larger and cheaper thab hers...In the room, we had a small microwave and refrigerator so we saved money by eating a few meals in, although there were several good restaurants near by. We definitely plan to return soon...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina get the late afternoon provide beautiful sunset views of San Diego...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokeybonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Have a great flight with West jet from Edmonton (with a 2 hour lay over in Calgary) to San Diego.All flights on time,no lost luggage,very smooth,be aware because it is a short flight no free meals,but meals available to purchase.

Landed in San Diego at 1230 local time,phoned hotel for shuttle pick up,told van out of service,take cab and will be reimbursed at hotel.Was a little worried about that,but after a 15 minute cab ride we arrived at the hotel,got a receipt from the the driver and went to check in and no hassle was given cash for cab ride. We arrived around 1:30 and the room was not ready,4 pm check in time. We went exploring,the hotel is right across the street from the beach,with a nice walking path,green area and a warf if you like fishing. The back of the hotel faces a large marina,if you are a boat lover you will be in heaven.
The hotel location is a little out of the way and we ended up loving that part,I would suggest renting a car,but you can do like we did all but one day and use the transit system which worked great for every tourist stop but the San Diego Safari Zoo which is located about 35 miles out of San Diego,we rented a car that day because in was cheaper than any taxi or shuttle we could find and with the help of a gps unit it was an easy and stress free trip. We purchased a 4 day transit pass for 15$ each and went to the zoo,midway,seaworld,petco park,seapark village and the gas lamp district. Once you got the hang of using the system it was easy and all the drivers we very helpful.
The restaurant in the hotel was okay at best,we only tried twice and looked elsewhere.We found a little deli on shelter island drive at the fuel dock,they made the best egg muffins I have had in a long time(bacon,ham,sausage),my wife and I found each have a muffin and a large bottle of water for under 10$ and it was a challenge to finish the muffin.There are alot of dinning choices around Shelter island so have fun.

The rooms were very clean,we had a king with a balcony facing the street(543) and it was nice, a little small with the bed taking up alot of space.The room had a big tv,a safe the bed was very comfortable and we had 3 very nice pillows

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank square52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 13. The hotel location is stunning, and almost adds (at least) a star to my review. Staff on check in were very friendly and helpful, rooms ok but slightly in need of a refurb. Good size, decent equipment, mostly clean but all just a little bit tired. A re-fit and this would probably get 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here before and never get disappointed, even thou the hotel is old, everything is done to give it a modern look.The reception as very friendly and helpful. Ebony was very helpful in getting us a discounted taxi ride to the airport, unfortunately the shuttle service is not available until 7 am, this was disappointing since most hotels have shuttle service early in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The personal service and attitude of all the employees was amazing! The bartender made a great Mai Tai. The shuttle driver took us wherever we needed to go. The newly renovated rooms were terrific. We had a great room with a view of the Kona Kai Marina. Showers were great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandlindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for the 5-Star review! We appreciate the great comments. The Blue Wave Mai Tai's are definitely amazing and you can't beat that view over the marina. We do hope you'll come back and see us again and please let us know if we can ever be of service.

Kindly,
Bill Orman
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My friends and I stayed at a 2 bedroom suite at the BW. It had a great view, and a lovely private patio where we could enjoy the weather and the boats. One bedroom of the suite had a king bed and the other bedroom had 2 doubles or queens. The beds were very comfortable and most of the unit was cooled appropriately to match the thermometer. The a/c couldn't keep the temperature cool enough in the bedroom with the 2 queens. It wan't warm, it just wasn't cool enough. The meals were tasty and menu varied. Room service was great, if you are in the mood for a drink at the bar, the bartender, Ray is very accommodating. The bar is overlooking the marina, as well. The hotel provides airport transfers without charge. Some of the staff that made our trip more enjoyable was Ray, the airport transfer guy. Ebony was very responsive to our requests.

Room Tip: Try to arrange a room on the marina side of the hotel. It was very relaxing and the scenery was bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,685 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 286 in San Diego
2,825 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £82 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing