We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of Marina and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #21 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice view of Marina and quiet”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed 2 days and really enjoyed the location. The staff was very helpful and attentive. We walked along the greenbelt, walked to a breakfast restaurant and sat in the jacuzzi. Downtown San Diego is close by and when we were finished running around, it was very pleasant to come back to our comfy room facing the Marina.

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing the Marina, very quiet. We also had chairs on the front "porch"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuxtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,125
    1,122
    252
    64
    37
See reviews for
1,346
1,458
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Outstanding hotel and service provided. Stayed for three nights and everything was perfect from check-in to check-out. The hotel is in a great location. The marina is quiet and the surroundings felt safe. All the employees we interacted with were all very friendly. The rooms were spotless and the housekeeping staff did a great job each day we were there. Breakfast was not free here but OMG it was good each morning. It rivaled many 4 and 5 star hotel breakfasts I've had. Only had breakfast at the hotel but would imagine the rest of the meals they served were just as good. Bed comfort was excellent as well. Absolutely no question I would stay at this hotel again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank TOM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Excellent guest services. Beautiful surroundings. Very nice restaurant. Accessible location. I really can't think of a single thing that was disagreeable at this hotel. Oh, wait! Just thought of it... we did not have enough days to enjoy this place. We would have stayed another week if we could have.
Seriously folks, top marks for this BW hotel.

Room Tip: 2 choices: face the marina for great views of Point Loma and quieter rooms. Face the Coronado bay if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for a night while visiting my son at his Navy base. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure my stay was comfortable. The room was very comfortable and had a great view of the marina. They have a nice bar and breakfast/lunch/dinner area. Only a 10 minute cab ride to downtown San Diego. Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glens Falls, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were pleasantly impressed with the courtesy and the accomondations at the Royale! Nicely remodeled rooms and the staff was pleased to make our stay as pleasant as possible! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! Will be back next year too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank SueD147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel in good location with great views to marina. Room fine for 3 night stay, but did not like being right next to car park . Room not airy and unable to open window during the night. There was a bit of a bad smell from drain in room, but this was rectified swiftly by staff. The breakfast area and bar are both very pleasant , food is great . Staff very professional , airport shuttle nice touch. Had a great time in San Diego and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel was everything the website promised and more. The Staff was the best and the setting was so beautiful. When we arrived we were upgraded for no additional cost to a beautiful suite. The pool area was awesome. In the morning we would sit on our balcony and watch the sailboats, yatchs, and Navy fleet go by. There are so many Marina walkways to enjoy and free bicycles to ride around the island on. This hotel was definetly a 10!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,164 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#34 of 278 in San Diego
3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing