We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at this resort at the end of our southern California vacation. We stayed in the Casa Marina building and the view outside our balcony was wonderful. The front desk employees were very helpful and friendly and always had a smile for you. The shuttle bus driver was very informative and friendly also. Unfortunately, 2 nights were not enough to visit San Diego but if we ever visit again, I would definitely stay at this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casa Marina building in a king room on the third floor. The view of the marina was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohiotrav23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,990
    1,068
    235
    62
    35
See reviews for
1,245
1,386
104
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Shelter island is a great place to stay. Our room was very nice and we had a great view of the marina. The bay is a great place to relax and watch the ships, birds, fishermen and people. The hotel was very nice and we had a great experience. We are looking forward to returning again. I would reccommend that you upgrade your room from the cheapest rooms available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent one night in the main area of the Island Palms before heading home and just relaxed. We booked a standard room with a harbor view. Parking is free. It was definitely worth the $10.00 extra for the beautiful view. The room had a "Key West" feel to it --very tropical. The bed was so comfortable with 6 pillows. The bathroom was really nice with a walk in shower and lots of sweet smelling soaps and lotions. There are lots of places to walk and look at the boats, ducks, and the skyline of San Diego. What I like most was how quiet it was--minutes from the city and airport but you would never know it. If I return to San Diego this is where I would stay and if the weather was warm I would book one of the rooms with an outside patio (it was cool when we were there).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mawenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Have stayed here previously. Sits behind a marina and the ocean on the other side. Many restaurants nearby and the hotel restaurant, Blue Wave, is quite reasonable and good. Two pools/spas are clean, one with a depth of 8ft (near the restaurant) and the other only 5ft. The room we had was an upgrade from the standard room which we had previously. The standard room was ok, no complaints (queen beds) and slept well with no airplane noise despite being relatively close to the airport. No issues with that room. On this trip and the upgrade room to a suite in the casa del mar building we had some issues.... TV did not function (there was some incredible wind the day prior to our arrival so will give them that) and the maintenance man was called and he was able to get the TV working but not the remote. Next was the shower head... Sprayed water everywhere.... Onto the ceiling, over the curtain.... Call for maintenance yet again, but was fixed. The toilet paper holder was also broken but refused to call maintenance for a third time. The room itself (418) was clean and comfortable with 2 queens and kitchenette. A second door to the room (facing the marina) lead right out to the smaller pool which has an outdoor fireplace (nice to sit out there while watching the kids swim). Key lock on the door always you to get back in from the pool, without walking all the way around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just arrived at the best western island palms a day ago. So far, everything has been great. We arrived early and, not only were we upgraded to a Jr suite, but we had an early check in. I have had a couple encounters with the staff and all are helpful. Our jr suite in the Casa del mar was quite large and had a mini kitchen. Couple of things I would have liked is more utensils (including a sharp knife) and a freezer section in the mini fridge. When I asked at the front desk for dishwash liquid (to wash the dishes we used), the person told me housecleaning would take care of it.
They still sent over the liquid and towels so I could take care of the dishes myself. The pool at Casa del Mar was warm, as was the spa. The gas fireplace by the pool at dusk was a plus. This is a pretty quiet, with great views and wonderful walking paths. I will continue to enjoy my stay and plan to come again.

Room Tip: Both the bay view and marina view are great. Upgrade and get either the Casa Marina or Casa del Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTrip2009Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Staff are very friendly, rooms clean and the location is convenient. Bar and restaurant could use some work -- limited menu, kitchen closes fairly early. Waitstaff a bit too casual (I know, it's California) and slow. The free internet has a bandwith of a rubber band and the upgrade isn't much better. All in all, not a bad place to go to chill.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCJ1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlin, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in Nov '13 at the BW Island Palms Hotel on Shelter Island in San Diego, CA. AARP price was $99.00 plus tax per night, for a room with two double beds. Our room was adjacent to the pool/Jacuzzi entrance. and was very quiet (until the tree trimming started on the day we checked out). Room was clean and comfortable. Good selection of TV stations and nice bathroom, with ample complimentary coffee and soaps, hair products. We parked very close to our room (free parking). Complimentary USA Today newspaper avail. in lobby each morning. Bar and restaurant on site. Breakfast room service available. Beautiful views of San Diego bay and good area for walking or riding the complimentary beach cruiser bikes available for guests. Would recommend this very affordable hotel, which is pretty central to all freeways in San Diego, but is very quiet and relaxing. No pets are allowed unfortunately. Slow check-out due to only one attendant at the front desk was our only small complaint. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Merlinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing