We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GEM!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent location with views of the bay and marina, very friendly staff and outstanding facilities!! I have being going there for almost a year, every month!! The breakfasts at the Blue Wave were exceptional....especially the omellete and the burrito. The view of the marina is very rekaxing. The margaritas at the bar were very good. The pool and jacuzzi were well maintained. I plan to use the bicycles on the next trip!! 10+++

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Vinod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,967
    1,062
    232
    62
    33
See reviews for
1,227
1,378
102
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have nothing but praise for this hotel. We booked a staycation for a babymoon. After looking at several places we choose this one based on reviews. We booked on their site, and mentioned it was a special getaway for us. First they upgraded us to a marina view but it was above the pool and noisy, so instead of just moving us to a quieter room they gave us the king suite! Room service was very affordable and tasty, the hotel restaurant was perfect for late night desserts. Great views, romantic atmosphere. They even gave us plenty of extra pillows and the maid shaped my pregnancy pillow into a heart when she made up the room. All the staff was incredibly polite. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valueandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed several times before cant beat the view and the location! The food is excellent and the prices are good lots of restaraunts nearby , they did make me wait to check in but it was after new years so they where busy usually I have been allowed to check in early, they also provided free parking. Had a good happy hour too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel added to the pleasurable experience of sailing with sail San Diego by providing service without question nothing to upset me or members of my party, such as the excellent meals in the dining room with a beautiful view of the inner bay. allowing for a checkout to match the return from sea. Convenient parking, a hot spa which was hot. A walk way along the shore to enjoy viewing the boats in harbour. I have stayed here twice now and would definitely return and would recommend it to others looking for a relaxing fun simple adventure with hassle free accommodations and time at sea watching whales

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 798Dave798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Wonderful staff, great views, wonderful pool/hot tub, clean, updated rooms, comfortable beds, quite, beautiful grounds, shuttle service from/to airport was great. close to everything. minutes to tourist attractions, grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here during christmas break.
The room was a 1 bed suite.
It was very spacious with a large bedroom, large bath, kitchen and separate entertainment room with 2 TV's.
Good location and amazing view at night of San Diego downtown.
Friendly staff.
comfortable beds and sofa beds.

Pros: location, space, kitchen
cons: carpet definitely needs replacement, no dishwasher, no knife or chopping board, no complimentary BREAKFAST( i would expect complementary breakfast for the rate I paid and no in room laundry(there was a common laundry room behind the guest service office)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilttatw_2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The reviews we read were not over stated. This was a great experience. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a view of the marina. Room was recently updated and offered a kitchen. Very comfortable stay. 2 pools to chose from and a very relaxing environment. Great location to get to San Diego attractions as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank RONMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing