We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was a great hotel.The pool area is small but has everything needed including a hot tub. There is a great view of the downtown skyline and the harbor ambiance is nice. Rooms are clean and not too small. Free parking is definitely a plus since you need a car to get around San Diego. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saradeviletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,967
    1,062
    235
    62
    33
See reviews for
1,228
1,379
102
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Great views from the bedroom, easy parking and close proximity to many attractions. I have nothing but compliments for this hotel. Staff were efficient and friendly, and the room was comfortable. Definitely coming back again on my next visit to San Diego.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Center, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

WE took just a one night mini vacation. This was just the perfect spot. Marina on one side, Harbor on the other. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted, so no need to drive! Had dinner and breakfast at the Blue Wave Bar and Grill - excellent meals and reasonably priced. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank pdorschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our family of 4 finished up a 10 day SoCal vacation with 4 nights at the Best Western Island Palms and Marina. We were greeted in the lush, tropical setting of a lobby, at check-in by Brianne. She was extremely friendly, and made us feel immediately welcome. We were upgraded to a Marina view on the second floor in the Casa Marina building. The room had 2 beds, a balcony, and was equipped with a microwave and refrigerator. And it was SPACIOUS! The beds are sleep number beds, so you can adjust the firmness of your mattress. I was able to get it just like my mattress at home, so a good, comfortable sleep was achieved! The washroom was a very good size as well. It was immaculate; exceptionally clean! We had just spent very unsatisfying 2 nights in LA at another Best Western. Island Palms restored my faith in this hotel chain. It felt like we were staying at a tropical resort.
One side you are facing the marina, and the other you are facing the bay, with views to downtown. Please note, that if you are with a bay view, there is a road in front of the parking lot, in front of the hotel, so you aren't as close to the water. The marina was literally 30 feet away from our room, with wonderful views of the hills as well. And everyone time we came back to our room after a full day of play; the rooms were made up superbly and cleaned really well. Housekeeping should be applauded for this! Cleanliness is very important to me in hotels.
The 2 pools were a hit with our 10 and 13 year old daughters, and my husband and I sure liked the hot tubs. The one pool outside our building wasn't as deep, but had a nice fireplace and was a shorter walk back to our building when it cooled off in the evenings.
Doing laundry here is very secure as well, so need to hang around and miss out on the fun. You have to sign a key out to access the laundry facilities, and only 2 people can have keys at the same time. Other hotels should pick up this system!
The hotel is very close to the airport, and it is very quick to get to downtown as well.
In summary; fabulous location with beautiful views. Very clean, and very friendly staff. (did I mention that after we checked in, we were carrying our luggage up to our room, and 2 staff who had appeared to have just finished up for the day, asked if they could give us a hand?) Comfortable beds!!

Room Tip: Casa Marina with marina view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel was perfectly located between San Diego Bay and marina area. Safe, clean, great for walks and access to nearby restaurants. Also easy access to activities and sights in San Diego and beyond. Room and staff were exceptional. Highly recommended this Best Western. We liked staying on Shelter Island much better than Mission Bay and LaJolla ---- less congested and more scenic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LearnerID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went down to San Diego for a quick vacation to get out of the winter. The hotel was very nice and compared to most of the hotels I stay at for work, even the older building looks better than many I stay at. The amenities are great and the staff was excellent. I would say staying on the Marina side would be quieter than the harbour side with the military base across the bay. If you are there on the weekend the little gem of an eatery that is on the pier good and very reasonably priced. The hotel could use a shuttle to downtown/the boats like other hotels in similar spots next to cities like in Charleston, SC The remotes for the TV's aren't good but I wasn't there to watch TV. But I am looking to stay there again for another trip to SoCal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Extremely friendly and accommodating staff. The Hotel is older although well cared for, however noise cared easily from one unit to another. TV provider often cut off free viewing seemingly to entice one to buy their product. The internet service was extremely slow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank stephenpY5089JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing