We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very nice, views are great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sahkopee MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very, very nice, views are great!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary and Kyle said we deserved an upgrade and gave us the Jr. Suite overlooking the bay and city skyline. And he also let us check in early at noon because we came in earlier than expected. We stayed in the newer building on the second floor and it was priceless views :-)! We have found the only hotel that we will ever think about going to whenever we come here which is usually yearly. Thanks for a great stay!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tubuleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    1,067
    235
    62
    35
See reviews for
1,244
1,383
104
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Wonderful property, a true respite. I have traveled many times to San Diego; wish I found this property earlier. Great location, property, rooms and staff. Although older property, it has been well maintained with significant renovations. My only concerns in posting a review is that I have concerns others will find this gem, always want to stay there, and it will be more difficult to get a reservation. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great hotel with a wonderful location. Staff was wonderful and helpful. 10 minute drive to the airport and if you don't rent a car, there is a free airport shuttle. Free WiFi in the room and FREE PARKING. Beautiful view of the harbor from my room. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 621marsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

When I booked my room on Skoosh (great prices that include taxes), I noted a request for a quiet, second story room with a king-sized bed facing the marina. When I called the hotel to confirm the reservation a couple of days before we left for the trip, I was told I had reserved a standard, first-floor, 2-queen bedroom in the oldest building facing the parking lot. The person who answered my call at the hotel said they were full and the reservation could not be changed. However, it was so close to our travel dates that nothing else was available so we took our chances.

We arrived at about 7:30 pm, and I explained my experience and the reservation issues just briefly (and pleasantly) to Kyle, the check-in agent. (Thank you, Kyle!) While he was not able to find a king room with a view, he did put us in a nice marina view room with a lovely patio in a the Casa Marina, newer building. Was it ideal? No,but it was nice and reasonably priced, clean and well furnished. Its only problem, other than 2 beds vs. one, was the paper thin walls and slamming doors. You literally hear every conversation, crying baby, laughing child and door slamming all around you. They desperately need better sound insulation.

We were still able to sleep, so we didn't complain, but from the comments here on TripAdvisor sound like they would make every effort to get you to a quieter space if you experience a problem. Other buildings might have better sound proofing, but even that was not a deal breaker for us and I am still rating the hotel very highly. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

The service here was outstanding. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant every morning and the service was excellent. Every server we had was very friendly and efficient. The front desk staff were great, as were the housekeeping staff.

Located right across from a great park (complete with playground structure) it's an ideal location to watch everything from sailboats to Navy ships come into and out of the harbor. The area was pedestrian friendly, close to great restaurants, and right on the water.

The location on Shelter Island is wonderful. If you plan to rent a car in San Diego, parking at a downtown hotel can be very expensive. It's free here. We learned from reading signs in the park that Shelter Island was built mostly in the late 50s, and heavily influenced by Polynesian experiences of servicemen and women during WW 2. So there are lots of tiki torches, hut style structures and palm trees. It's a vintage feel with updated environment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the marina side are excellent, and the patios in the Casa Marina building offer great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLOE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The best part of the stay was the service. We were ready to check out after one night due to noisy neighbors. The manager was very apologetic and insisted on providing us with a good experience. He moved us to a better room where we ended up staying 2 more nights. It was so good that we would have stayed weeks... The room was terrific. It was large, quiet, with a beautiful view of the marina. The front desk staff were exceedingly friendly and kept asking us how they can make our stay better. The hotel is in a great location that is quiet, convenient, close to the airport, and 15-20 minutes from downtown San Diego. It is on small island with a view of the marina in the back and the San Diego bay in the front. The front rooms face the small parking lot, however immediately beyond the parking lot there is just one road along the shore (with zero traffic at night) then the magnificent San Diego bay. There is occasional noise from the naval base across the bay during the day, but total quiet at night. We loved the hotel and the place.

Room Tip: A room with no neighbors above is best. Rooms are on the water's edge on the marina side, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Love this hotel and most of all its location. We have a toddler and he loved walking by the water and looking at all the boats. There are a lot of very cute restaurants walking distance and it's pretty close to all the attractions. We also loved the little play ground right by the water across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good location - 10 mins from Mission beach / 15 mins to downtown and the zoo and LaJolla

Clean sizable rooms. 2 pool areas. Free parking and wifi. Polite staff. Free bike rental. Would def stay at this location again

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 536. I suggested higher level floor facing the back harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LOrlando13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,020 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#53 of 279 in San Diego
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing