We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as the first time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #21 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is my second (approximate week long) stay at BW Island Palms on Shelter Island. This hostel is great. Every staff member I have encountered is always doing their best to keep the customers happy. The rooms are lovely and Shelter Island is a perfect location. I personally enjoy the harbor view, however, it definitely is not as quiet as the marina side. A lovely hotel to stay at in San Diego, as long as you don't mind needing a car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTrip2009Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 3,712 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Once again this hotel made me feel like I was a VIP. There are several types of rooms and décor to choose from. The view from the back is a beautiful marina and the front view is the bay. Sitting on the balcony you can watch Navy ships, sail boats, tourist tour boats, etc. pass by. The room service is incredible. It's fast, inexpensive, and the staff act so happy to please you. A couple of examples of great hotel service are I left my jacket in the restaurant and they brought it to me, they printed my boarding pass and brought it to me. The hotel is three buildings so the staff have to use a golf cart to cater to the guests, not just hop on an elevator. Their airport shuttle service is prompt and reliable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Sandy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for two nights @ BW Island Palms in late March. We arrived early, so thought we would try for an early check in to get started. Our room wasn't ready, so they upgraded us to a suite over looking the SD Yacht club Marina. The room was beautiful, the staff was unreal in accommodating us with directions, and print some tix, and just making sure we were satisfied with every aspect of a first class hotel. Even when my wife left something behind, they sent it to our existing location. They couldn't of done more for us. It's a definite return for us when we get back that way. Even when we were checking out, and the desk manager asked if there was any little thing we thought they could of done better, or a little different to make our stay even a little bit better. A little hint, if you eat at their restaurant, don't hesitate to ask for the lounge menu, if you feel like something a little more casual, they were both fabulous....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank JohnBabchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had no complaints at all! Everything was good. The hotel exceeded our needs and expectations. All of the staff that we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful. It is in a nice area and convenient location. The food in the restaurant was good as was the service.. Our room was beautiful and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

3 year Anniversary. Humphreys was booked :(
We stayed here :(
Our room wasn't ready until 4:15 Pm We'd. Check in is @ 4:00 pm. We walked for hours, sat and waited, than went for lunch at the Mexican restaurant. Incredible find!
Once we went to our room, the patio was filthy cereal, spilled milk and who knows what else. Carpet was soaked couldn't set our suit cases down, back to the car to put the suit cases in our trunk. Bed wasn't changed. Black hair and cheese it's in the sheets, tub was black, floor towel had large black foot prints, dirty towels nothing cleaned! Sink & mirror had tooth paste all over it. Microwave was clean. I told my husband, I'm sleeping in the chair, he didn't like that. At 5:00 pm We went down to the front desk spoke to the manager no apology nothing. Please could you send H K to clean our room. 5:30 Pm H K brought a set of sheets, I said we will need a lot more than that! we will need clean towels, bath mat, hand soap. I showed Norma from house keeping our room Norma was in shock, she started taking pictures to show her boss!.Norma H K came back to clean our room please. Norma came and she was in total shock how filthy our patio bay view and the condition of our room. AC unit didn't work, maintenance came in and took the cover off, the A C unit was covered in Black mold , maintenance removed the entire unit from the wall. He needed to clean this entire unit and bring it back. Our room was finished being cleaned at 8:00 pm . Still haven't settled in, went back to our car to get our suit cases etc. finally at 9:00 pm we grabbed something to eat.
Wedding Sat night drunken out of control party and the hotel staff still didn't care! We asked for room service, it was placed out side our door Un covered. 2 coffee's & cream. Dessert plates & silverware. Unreal. We will Never Stay Here Again! Food poisoning from Blue Wave sat. Evening! Went Home early. Had reservations for brunch at Humphreys! I told April The Manager about this hotel, I showed her all the pictures. April was in shock! This year we booked our hotel stay at Humphreys, lesson learned.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank WSJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We must give our sincerest of apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay with us in September 2013. We truly tried to make your visit with us go better. However, we do understand that sometimes no manner of apology will make the feelings go away when a hotel stay goes wrong. We will always strive for the best in customer service and recovery efforts. This is our hotel team’s commitment to our current and future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Love this hotel, rooms are great, staff is wonderful. The grounds are very well kept, lots of space with 2 pools! \the outdoor part of the restaurant is very nice, food is good. Beautiful view of downtown San Diego and the Bay. We had a bay view room with a balcony and it was fantastic!! Shelter Island is very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank 505teresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was a wonderful stay. Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked Sn Diego Bay and was a very nice, comfortably furnished room. The housekeeping staff was very helpful (slipped USA Today under our door every morning. The grounds were lush, and very well maintained. If you want a view of SD Bay, this is your place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Pollyanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#57 of 278 in San Diego
1,650 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,679 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £91 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing