We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area and resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Seymour, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful area and resort”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

BW Island Palms resort is located in a beautiful location and quiet area, directly across the road from a park and channel on one side, and a beautiful marina on the back side. You can choose the marina view or park/harbor view. Excellent facilities, very friendly staff, and one of the nicest accommodations we have stayed at in years. Great value for superb resort. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Marina view first floor room was beautiful! Landscaping was superb and well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellejoycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    1,105
    246
    63
    35
See reviews for
1,313
1,440
107
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

What a beautiful setting! The rooms were spacious, clean and inviting. Location is perfect especially if you like to walk. The restaurants around are quality. So much to do and very reasonable. Staff very friendly and helpful we will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We chose to stay at the Best Western Plus on Shelter Island for our recent vacation after reading all of the favorable reviews. This hotel did not disappoint. We arrived around noon and were happy to find that our room was ready, so we were able to settle in right away. The staff was very friendly, and check-in was quick. We chose a waterfront view and got a 2nd floor room that had a lovely view facing the marina. Our room was spacious and very clean and updated, with sliders that went out to a small patio. We even had a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The island is very peaceful with the marina on one side and a small beach on the other. They also have a playground that my 5yr old loved, along with walkways, bike rentals, a fishing pier and tennis courts. The location was excellent - minutes from the airport and 15mins to the Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, USS Midway, etc. We only ate breakfast at the Blue Wave, but the food was good. We had some service issues, but the manager took care of us. They have two computers in the main lobby so you can print out coupons or purchase attraction tickets online and print them out in advance, which came in handy, since many places offer online discounts. All in all, a very nice stay in a great location to explore San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LML31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is on "Shelter Island". It has the bay on one side of the street and a marina on the other. I prefer rooms on the Marina side (prettier view and quieter). The benefit of this hotel is the area. The hotel itself is no big deal. From the hotel, you can walk to concerts at Humphreys by the bay as well as to shops and restaurants and Pt Loma Sea Foods:). We also like to walk across the street to watch people fish from the fishing pier. It is close to downtown and to the airport. Easy to park ($10 a day). Bottom line is that it is a basic hotel (normal sized rooms at best, good to above average beds, shower facilities, etc... Nothing special. However, some rooms have a VERY nice view out on to the Marina (or to look across the street at the bay and downtown skyline). Many rooms have a patio or sitting area with a couple of chairs. Nice to sit outside and have a glass or wine etc... Try not to get a room that looks at the parking lot with no views... Other than the views, the allure of this property is the location. A nice place for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thank you for making our stay in San Diego so very special. We were overwhelmed with the professionalism and the accommodations. We had a special request and there was no problem in getting it done. We are thrilled that we picked the Best Western Island Palms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Trip Advisor reviews provided me with the information I needed to make the ideal choices for our recent week long stay. Casa Marina building, third floor, corner room, just right. The building is situated at the end of the complex. Beautiful, mature plants surround the walkways. The rooms in this building are modern and oh so comfortable. Large sliding doors with access to a private deck. Comfortable bed, wonderful linens, and the bathroom is well appointed, great shower but no tub. Housekeeping is done by a staff that take great pride in their jobs. The shuttle to and from the airport gave us the opportunity to rent a car from a local Enterprise location for only three days. The island has a wonderful pathway that gives you the ability to observe the public fishing pier and beaches. The Navy presence was felt due to helicopters, but they were comforting to us, the Navy ships in the harbor gave us a feeling of "Pride". This island has a good feel to it, the hotel blends in nicely. I would love to visit the Island Palms again in the future.

Room Tip: Casa Marina has so much to offer, three floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Our room was beautiful with large plantation shutters and a lovely patio overlooking the marina. We stayed at the Island Palms for 5 nights to celebrate my mother's 75th birthday. The marina view was amazing, along with the pool and outdoor fireplace. Housekeeping was superb (especially for having to take care of a Junior suite). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Shelter Island with lots of great restaurants nearby and a quieter pace than other areas of San Diego. The only minor complaint was the key card reader to our building was not working properly and would not always open when we returned from a day of sightseeing. Another minor inconvenience was that this hotel used to have free parking (and had free parking when I booked the trip), but now charges $10 per night. Otherwise our stay was exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Iris_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,820 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,124 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing