We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Shelter Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed on the Marina side with a balcony which was terrific. The bay side is nice too, it depends on your preferences. Not all rooms have balconys. The property is beautiful and a quite stay with a park across the street for enjoyment. The pool area can have a few more kids at one than the other. The restaurants on the island are good for seafood. Other great ones are not that far away too.The fridge in rooms are a bit small if this is an important element. Electrical outlets are plenty and this is a big factor for me. I liked the sensor lighting in the bathrooms. Loved the bikes they had available to use for free. Parking costs $10 day though if you park on property. You can park across the street at the park too, for free. I would recommend this as a great get away, spending a bit more but worth it and plan to try it again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,884 - 1,890 of 3,800 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hi again folks, Where do I start. We had just come off a long flight from Hawaii and a short annoying one from LAX. This place is about 10 minutes from the airport and NOT on an approach route. The room was excellent and right next to the pool. It came with all the amenities. It was clean and the maid staff even found a hat pin clasp that I didn't even know I had lost and put it where I could find it - Well Done. The BW also had the usual computor and printer so I could print my boarding passes. This BW is also near Point Loma and Cabrillo National Monument as well as downtown San Diego. Lots more good. Regards, OldeBear

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for our 1st Anniversary. I based it off the reviews of other ones. Everything positive that's been said is true! We were very happy with our stay. The marina view is worth it! The pool is heated to 80 degrees and the hot tub was nice. It was a good balance between family friendly without going overboard. The wifi was in and out a bit. Otherwise it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Monty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We just returned from a six day stay at Best Western's Island Palms Hotel on Shelter Island, San Diego. We very much enjoy SD and have visited there 10-15 times over the last 20 years. Of the many places we've stayed I don't believe we've enjoyed any as much as the Island Palms. The combination of Shelter Island, many close attractions and restaurants and a well run, comfortable and cozy hotel was perfect.......and an excellent value. We'll be back here on our next SD trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My second time to stay at this hotel. I love the location on Shelter Island. Enjoyed the tennis courts, bikes, and nice pools. Wish they had a free breakfast, as it gets pretty pricey to bring my family, but overall enjoyable. The hotel lobby and the room smelled musty when first walking in, but I do enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Marilee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is about the fifth time we have stayed at this Best Western. We keep coming back so that speaks for itself. Great place for our baby girl to play with the ducks and watch the boats coming and going. Close to everything and quiet and we feel safe as it is secure and has parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Guest Services at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always pleased to hear when families choose to come here to make their memories. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Cesar at the front desk was awesome. he went above and beyond to give us the perfect room. the views of the marina were great. the room was spacious and the beds were super comfy. the lounge was ok sadly not all employees ie (Theresa) was not as friendly as most of the staff is. overall we would comeback again.

Room Tip: get a room with a bay view or marina view, its worth the extra montey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2by2wetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £82 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing