We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited this hotel for a 2 night stay as part of our CA tour.

First impressions are very good with a nice reception area and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, resturant is lovely with a view of the marina.

Only thing is, fitness centre is of no use...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_B37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,018
    1,077
    236
    62
    35
See reviews for
1,252
1,405
106
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for a quick weekend getaway. The property is nice and our room was nicely updated, had a marina view and had a kitchen which was a nice feature. No included breakfast which was unfortunate as we have come to expect that at Best Westerns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

hotel seemed to want to avoid any extras such as news paper delivery to room or free breakfast. Bes t was among the worst I have slept on in a hotel room was large and we had pleanty of elbow room which was appreaciated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JNWArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We held our wedding at the Island Palms. This was a great location and convenient to the airport for out-of-town visitors. When it rained on our wedding day, the staff worked extremely hard to move the ceremony inside and did everything they could to accommodate us. (It turned out possibly even better with the ceremony inside rather than outside.) Lauren, the hotel's wedding specialist, was absolutely fabulous. The staff was very friendly to our guests (even when we weren't around). The wedding banquet prices were very reasonable compared to other locations. The rooms are much nicer inside than what they may initially appear from the outside.
Recommendation for those serving Sunday brunch following a wedding: Make sure that all champagne bottles are accounted for on the day of the brunch. We did not do so - and I believe that our group did not drink the amount that we were charged. However, since we did not account for the bottles that day, I have no way to prove it to challenge it. The food for brunch was excellent.
I would definitely recommend for weddings or for visits. Great location, great staff, great food.

Room Tip: We planned to have our wedding in the grand marina garden - and reserved rooms for family around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Harbor, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here and would recommend it to everyone! The staff was great. Danny went out of his way to be helpful.
We live one street away from the Atlantic ocean. It was fun to watch the sun set on the Pacific side.
We found the location to be GREAT. It's not far from most of the attractions and coming back to relax by the pool, with the marina just a few yards away was a special treat. We had lunch and breakfast there. I LOVED both. The menu has a bit of everything. We also walked along the pier and watched people fishing, taking in the panoramic view of the city. Ships of all sizes go by.

The room was clean, had everything we needed, the bathroom was large with plenty of counter space. The bed was extremely comfortable. It wasn't noisy. We had a family of baby ducklings on our patio each morning.... priceless.

The rates were reasonable, and worth every penny. We will definitely come back to stay there next time we're in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyRN61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel has the bay on both sides and is beautiful! The pool area at night was like a tropical resort! All of the staff from the front desk to the maintenance staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and will definitely be back! There was a concert a few hotels down and it was like we were in our own little bubble, didn't even notice any noise at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The view is unbelievable from our balcony. The staff is so welcoming and even the housekeeping personal can't seem to do enough for us. The rooms are spacious, well designed and the cleanliness is beyond my expectations. The pool was so enjoyable. Would recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#53 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing