We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull location on the marina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very spacious rooms with a garden with seating. View of the marina from the garden. The hotel has two swimmingpools. The city and the airport are nearby. Hotel is suitable for longer stays. Free bikes are available for guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Louwrens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,790 - 1,796 of 3,766 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed on the harbor side of this hotel, which was nice to be able to watch all of the activity on the bay while sitting on the balcony. The marina side is also lovely, which is where the pools are located. The room was clean and comfortable. I ate a lunch and dinner at the hotel during my week stay and both were good meals at reasonable prices
I found the location of this hotel very convenient to the major attractions in San Diego. The hotel staff, especially Dan, were helpful in suggesting restaurants, obtaining a taxi and just general questions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We visited San Diego for 4 days mid August to celebrate my birthday and enjoy some family time. The room was clean and beds were comfortable, the kitchenette was handy and there was lots of room for my family of 4. The staff was attentive and polite. The view of the marina was lovely and the hotel was situated in a central area of Shelter Island. My kids enjoyed the bikes available for use by the hotel and we all enjoyed going for walks along the pier. We rented a car and the parking was handy. The pools were a little small, but clean we enjoyed the bar and restaurant almost daily, the happy hour menu was great!

Room Tip: Marina view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ImacanuckCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at hotel in June. It is located on Shelter Island, close enough to all attractions and yet far enough away for a peaceful stay. The bayside room view is superb as you sit on the balcony with a cold beer watching the pelicans, the lights of downtown San Diego, boats sailing by and yes the American airforce planes flying out during the evening! The staff were very friendly and attentive. The restaurant and bar are good, if a little small, but it was lovely to sit by the pool having breakfast whilst looking out over the Marina. Special mention to Jessica Perrham who sorted out our booking superbly and provided us with a room and stay that made our visit unforgettable. Can't understand previous reviewer having to pay parking as we were given a parking voucher, perhaps this has changed since we visited. If you want a good value for money, very attractive, clean and tidy hotel in a fabulous location then we thoroughly recommend staying here....we would certainly return!

Room Tip: Choose a Bayside room with a balcony on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britsabroad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location of this property is great! Great seafood dining nearby, relaxing atmosphere, views of the bay are spectacular, and views of the marina are interesting. Watched sailboats, container ships, as well as military ships pass through from the balcony. The room could use a good handyman - the adjustable pressure mattress did not work on one side of the bed, and the shower handle to turn on/off and adjust temperature was extremely difficult to adjust. But, the hotel staff was very professional, attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Awesome location and beautiful hotel that was close to all San Diego attractions. Bayside room was wonderful.
Air conditioner could use some fine tuning as it was loud but otherwise excellent room with an amazing view .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

excellent hotel for both bay and marina experience. Proximate to all popular tourist attractions and many restaurants. My only issue is that parking was always free in the past but now they charge for each day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank carolej614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#56 of 279 in San Diego
1,664 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 279 in San Diego
2,744 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 279 in San Diego
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £91 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing