We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down, My Favorite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My wife and I, and occasionally our children too, visit this hotel quite often. We live about an hour from San Diego and love to go there frequently for weekend breaks from the daily stresses of life in the fast lane. A couple of years ago we attended a nearby concert and stayed at the Island Palms for its convenient location. That very first stay and each thereafter, we found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable, the service quite accomodating and the staff exceptionally friendly. The location is supreme, with beautiful views of the marina, as well as the San Diego Bay and nearby city lights. We really believe the hotel offers a classy, yet relaxing, resort experience at near budget-motel prices. The value is undoubtedly among the best available and I would reccommend this hotel without hesitation to my best friend. - James, Riverside, CA

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reginaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,369 - 3,375 of 3,873 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2009

After many stays in San Diego, we happened upon the Island Palms. The location was perfect. Looking out over the marina with a freshly brewed cup of coffee was a delight. Our room was twice the size of a regular hotel room for the same price. Grounds were well manicured, pool area was great. Weather was blustery, June gloom, but the pool was at least 80 degrees and the spa over 100. Staff was very accomodating in every way. For the price, you can't beat staying at this hotel. It is well worth the money. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed at Island Palms over Memorial Day weekend 2009. We reserved a junior suite and stayed in the Casa Del Mar Building in room 506 with 2 queen beds. The room was clean and exactly as described on the website. It was extremely spacious with a pretty big (long) balcony. Our balcony directly faced a new Island Palms building being remodeled but off to the left was a great view of the bay and to the right a small view of the boats. I wish it was more clear on their website that the wet bar includes plates, bowls, forks, spoons, cups, etc so that I could have brought oatmeal, cereal, etc for our 2 year old daughter but I'm mentioning it now so that it might help someone else. This room also has a small refrigerator and a complimentary in-room safe. The Casa Del Mar building is situated right across the street from a pier where many people fish (so don't forget your fishing poles if you want to take a stab at catching a mackerel or two!) and right across from a children's playground which we spent quite a few hours at. The hotel is about a 7 minute drive to Sea World up Nimitz Street. Because of the close proximity, we were able to bring our daughter back to the hotel for a nap during our all-day visit to Sea World. Super convenient and great location! The Casa Del Mar pool is currently closed for renovations. The main pool and jacuzzi off the lobby was open and was super busy with allot of children. It was fine for us since our 2 year old loved all of the other children but if you are looking for a quiet, romantic pool - this is probably not the place for you or at least it was not the place on Memorial Day weekend. Overall our stay was great. There was one thing that bothered me - the walls were thin thus the 4 star overall and room rating (=very good, not excellent). One of our neighbors was so loud - they had the TV blasting at night, I could hear their conversations, etc. Luckily my daughter and husband slept right thru it! I think this was an isolated incident because I never heard a peep from the neighbor on the other side of us or anyone else in this building. But beware that the walls in the Casa Del Mar building are thin and if you get unlucky enough to have inconsiderate people next to you, you will hear them. Also, FYI the parking is not great. They have limited spaces available on the property and if you get back late you might not find a space and have to park across the street at the park, which the hotel said is okay - a little inconvenient but not a big deal. This hotel is very nice and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarVistaBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This is our third stay at this hotel. We stay on the marina side and have a little patio that is wonderful. The ducks come and say Hi. The room is a suite with a kitchen without an oven. The living room area is small but comfortable and has a beautiful view of the marina. The problem appeared when we decided to go out Sunday evening to the harbor excursion dinner cruise on the bay with my ister and brother-in-law. We returned at 10:30pm and there was no parking. My husband went and spoke to the front desk and was told that there was construction ( not in the parking lot that). He was also told that parking was a courtresy/complimentary ( then why give each vehicle a Guest parking permit)nad that there was no one there to check permits. We had to park in the public parking area across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybug1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

This was to be a special family event for my granddaughter's 4th birthday. Their online concierge request to help out was completely ignored and I had to book things from scratch after we arrived. The Villa 2 bedroom suites are very roomy which was great for our stay, however bedroom 2 had no closet. Only 2 light switches worked, top and bottom of the stairs only. Outside patio/balcony lites we on a dusk to dawn setting, so it was bright all nite until we unscrewed the bulbs. Our view out the back was green plastic netting instead of the marina, and even the small amount of grounds between our room and the netting was not maintained. One pool and spa were closed. Construction was the reason for all of this and none of this is mentioned on their web site. I have been to several hotels that had always stated online that they had construction projects pending and where and to be prepared. Then, we were not allowed to check-in until 4P on the dot....as were some other folks that we met up with strolling the park across the street. We were there at 3 and had hoped to allow the little one some time for rest before the evening, but alas, that was not to be. The next day our room did not get cleaned as they didn't come around until late in the afternoon and our little one was taking her afternoon nap and could not be disturbed. In a family villa I would think this would be a consideration in the cleaning schedule. The next day I personally requested the cleaning staff to clean "in the morning" while we were gone. We did appreciate the 2 bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms. The couch downstairs made into a bed also so the full bathroom on the first floor would accommodate more guests if you needed to. San Diego is a great place to spend a weekend and we would like to return, however I will think long and hard before going back to Island Palms before construction is completed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

... As soon as we walked into rhe lobby Iknewthis was a great choice. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean. The beds are very vert very comfortable.GREAT LOCATION TOO!!!Very happy with this hotel.....WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND. Its a little drive to some areas BUT VISITING OTHERS WHO WERE STAYING IN OTHER AREAS WE FEEL WE MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE FOR US...QUIET... BEAUTIFUL... Great dining/ drinking choices very close by.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loroOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Just returned from our 25th anniversary trip to San Digeo. The Best Western Island Palms is amazing. We loved it. The room was beautiful. It was large and clean with comfortable beds. We were in a lovely corner room. "Thanks Shilo." We had a balcony from which we could see the marina and the bay. We also had a large window that gave us a full view of the bay. We could watch the small boats and an occasional cruise ship. The grounds and lobby were beautiful also. There is a nice area across the street with a lovely path to walk on. The marina is on the other side of the hotel and is nice to watch the boats. We arrived at the hotel after a long day of flying from the east coast and driving from Los Angeles. Both of us were tired but hungry. The restaurant staff was wonderful in having our food order placed in to go boxes. They even supplied us with wonderful bread and utensils. They definitely went above and beyond to make us feel special. This was the feeling from the entire staff. They are very friendly and willing to do what it takes to make your stay special. The food was delicious. We had breakfast in the restaurant. The food again was delicious. We had a table by the window and was amazed at the view. We didn't go in the pool but did it looked wonderful. The hotel is close to the airport, zoo and other attractions. We will definitely plan to make another trip back to the BW Island Palms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redsox721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#49 of 286 in San Diego
1,697 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#46 of 286 in San Diego
2,502 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#114 of 286 in San Diego
2,882 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £97 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, bedfinder AG, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing