We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best service and great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
KC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“the best service and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

The entire staff at Island Palms was superior! My room was in Casa Marina, it had a balcony with a perfect view of the San Diego skyline and the bay. Room service was prompt, friendly bar, spacious, beautifully decorated room. A front desk employee printed my boarding pass and had it delivered to my room so I wouldn't have to walk up to the main building where the office is. I'm sorry but I didn't get her name.
Extremely convenient parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,988
    1,067
    235
    62
    35
See reviews for
1,244
1,385
104
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

If you want a high-end resort, with officious managers, overzealous bellmen and overpriced mediocre dining, look elsewhere. If you want a nice, clean, relaxing hotel in pleasant surroundings, this is it.

It's on Shelter Island (which is really a peninsula, by the way) so the rooms face either San Diego Bay or the marina. We stayed in an Island Palms Water view Suite (living room, bedroom with bath), facing the marina. I'd recommend this side of the property since the it's more picturesque and quiet. The room itself was nice. Not great, but more than adequate, and very clean. It was in the older building, but didn’t seem in dire need of upgrading (except for the small, old fashioned picture tube TV in the living room. That was kind of lame). This particular room comes with a full kitchen, complete with pots, pans, plates and utensils. And since there’s a Vons just up the street, we generally ate in, and saved a ton of money (which we promptly spent on other stuff).

There's a fitness center right off the lobby, but it has to be the smallest hotel fitness center I've ever seen, about the size of a school nurse’s office. It has a treadmill, stationary cycle and a weight machine crammed into it, but that’s it. You can, however, borrow one of the hotel's bikes and ride around the area if you feel the need for more exercise.

We didn't try the on-site restaurant, but we did go to the bar and had some of the appetizers, which were very good.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I’ve been in higher end hotels and had far worse service.

Perfectly pleasant. I’d stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorWhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel over Spring Break for 2 nights. When booking the reservation I was hesitant since on the map the location seemed out of the way and possibly inconvenient to the attractions in San Diego. I was wrong. Everything is in a comfortable driving distance and the property itself is very serene and relaxing after a long day of touring. The room was spotless, the beds comfortable, the property well maintained and the bathroom was nice with upgraded travertine tiles and granite countertops. There was a coffee maker and mini fridge in the room which helped with bfast and being able to pack lunches. We didn't eat at the properties restaurants but Winchell's donuts is also close by for an affordable bfast alternative.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jswsant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

This hotel located mintues from the airport yet it seems a world away. We had a 2 room suite overlooking the marina. Peaceful, wake up to seagulls, a true relaxing experience. The front desk went above and beyond by offering to help print an email I needed. very peronable front desk staff. Many restaurants nearby. Room was clean, wireless internet signal was slow at times, no big deal. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a12548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcadia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

My family and I booked a three night stay at this hotel based on the great reviews. I got a deal on line by prepaying. As a result, we were treated like second class citizens by the hotel staff. The beds in the first room we stayed at were so old and delapidated, the springs kept popping into our backs as we tried to sleep, not that we got much sleep. When we tried to get a different room, as soon as they saw that we had prepaid, we were given the run around. I certainly cannot recommend this hotel. I have stayed in better and cheeper motels. How this hotel gets so many stars is beyond me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anoArcadia10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

My family stayed at the Best Western Island Palms in the main property from June 15-19. We had a one bedroom suite that over-looked the bay. Room had a kitchenette and was a one bedroom suite with a pull-out sofa. The room was clean, repeatedly restocked with ample amenities and had everything we needed to start/end each day. The only knock on the room is the occaisionl noise from navy helicopter and plane traffic. Nothing that will keep you up, but it is sometimes noticeable. Nothing the hotel can do about it though, so its definitely not a deal breaker. (We did see the USS Ronald Regan aircraft carrier being escorted to sea on one of the days, so it wasn't all that bad!)

The grounds were kept neat and clean and the pool/hot tub were great. Plenty of fresh pool towels available. We ordered from room service for breakfast one morning and other than paying a little too much (typical room service prices), the food was great and delivered hot and timely. We also ate at the hotel restaurant, the Blue Wave Grill. We had no problem with the food as it was prepared excellent and in the manner we requested it. The prices were that of a nicer restaurant so we expected the same in the quality and we received it. Full disclosure, I am a rewards member for Hilton Honors and sought out that family of hotels first. Based on the price of their hotels in the area and our needs/wants for location and room amenities, we decided to look at other hotels. After seeing the reviews of this place, we decided to give it a try. I was a bit sekptical having stayed at other Best Westerns in other cities that were pretty beat up and not worth the cheap price. Not this place. This hotel was every bit as accomodating, friendly, well-kept, beautifully maintained as any nicer hotel I've ever stayed at. They have everything you need to make a vacation stay worth your money. Our next trip to San Diego will include a stay at this Best Western - without question.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Made-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. And we are so happy we did. Danny made us feel welcome the moment we entered the lobby. We stayed in a second floor Queen Suite at the Island Palms with a marina view. While clean, the exterior hallways of the older building are a bit run down from the sea air but once we entered our room we could not have been more pleased. The room was so clean with a very updated look. The living area and bedroom had a ceiling fan and plantation shutters. The decor was tasteful and the kitchen had a bar with four stools which was ideal when eating in. Our view was just lovely (nice yachts!) and the location was quiet. We took advantage of using a the hotel bicycles to pedal along the harbor and we also walked the boardwalk which has a small playground. Grocery stores, Vons and Trader Joe's, are about two miles away. Location is ideal for visiting Balboa Park and Ocean Beach, and it's a quick ride to the airport, too.

One last thing, we had drinks and appetizers at the Blue Wave restaurant. The Shrimp Trumpets and Seared Ahi were to die for. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanePeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing