We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We spent 3 nights here at the end of our 4 week USA trip. It was fantastic. The location was great, and really easy to find. You literally exit the Interstate 5 and drive down Rosecrans several blocks to Shelter Island Drive. And it's only 10 minute drive to Old Town, Sea World and the airport.

The staff were very welcoming and very helpful. We had our GPS system stolen out of the car two weeks earlier and when I told them that they insisted on providing us with instructions and maps from Map Quest wherever we were going. There is a small internet desk for guests, but when this was in use it was much faster for them to provide us with the instructions.

We had a king size waterview room in Casa del Mar. A very nice sized room with all amenities: fridge, coffeemaker, microwave and a balcony. Directly outside Casa del Mar is a swimming pool with hottub, and when we were there in mid-September it was not at all busy. Great for relaxation after a day sightseeing. I have seen on another posting that they offer drinks and meal service at this pool. Maybe we were too late in the season for that because we didn't see this service all 3 times we were at the pool, but it was unimportant for us anyway. One morning there were no pool towels available but once we asked for them they were brought out quickly.

The only complaint we have is that our neighbors would order room service in the evening, and the used plates were still outside their room next morning at 8 am. Unfortunately they were into seafood and the plates smelt pretty awful next morning. But other than, everything was fine.

We ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. See my comments on that in a separate posting on "Blue Wave Bar & Grill.

We were also given good advice for a restaurant nearby: Brigantine Restaurant. See also my separate posting on that.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,967
    1,062
    232
    62
    33
See reviews for
1,227
1,378
102
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Aside from less than perfect directions from front desk, a wonderful stay. Beautiful accommodations, great decor, great view, lovely grounds, helpful staff, GREAT price. Would go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MairAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Best place we have stayed in a long time definitely would stay again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junbug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

My 20 yr old daughter and I stayed for 9 days at the Casa Del Mar 2nd floor room in which the balcony overlooked the marina. The palm trees and water provided a tropical feeling. If you don't want the high rise hotel, valet parking fee, internet fee feeling this is the place to go. You are 5 minutes away from downtown San Diego and best part free parking and internet. Hotel had two pools the main one has a restaurant and bar the smaller one at Casa Del Mar has staff coming by to take orders for drinks and food. We went to the pool at some point every day and its open until 11 PM. On the other side of the hotel is a public park/ walkway that was great to walk on each night. The hotel next door Humphrey's by the Bay has an outdoor theater so each night we could listen to the entertainment for free. Also we could see the fireworks from Sea World from our balcony every night. Staff was great no issues with housekeeping, front desk or the pool area everything was clean. If you like the beachy tropical palm tree feel this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msemengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

In my opinion, San Diego was the worst place to go in terms of dullness and boring people. I will never go back to that boring place ever again. However, if you must go I would definitely recommend this hotel as an alternative option. Even though it did not offer breakfast, with the low rates you could just as well purchase one at dennys or mcdonalds. The suite we stayed at was only 1 yr old and had 2 swimming pools with amazing views. This is just like a resort and helps with the dullness of the city it is in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTObaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We were in San Diego to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We could not have found a more perfect place to stay than the Island Palms Hotel and Marina on Shelter Island. We were in the Casa Marina building, third floor room, wonderful view of the bay. The hotel had complimentary champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us in our room. Every staff member that we encountered was courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was large and very comfortable. We never heard our neighbors unless we both happend to be on the balcony at the same time. We felt that with all the amenities we got good value. We will go back and we will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The building we stayed in was newly renovated and was immaculate. The beds are the kind that you can adjust the firmness, great. The window covering was full length sliding (3 panels) shutters! You could still get light in and have privacy, plus you could adjust the amount of light you got, just like at home!! Okay, so the view was great! There was a small play area across the street for kids (swings) and their was a pier to fish off of and some beach to have a fire. You could see downtown San Diego across the bay very easily since there were no clouds to be found! Everyone was friendly. Then there was the marina....beautiful! I would love to retire here with my husband and just enjoy life!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbyT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing