We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Hastings, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband had a 2-day conference so we made it into a mini-vacation. We had a few days to do a little sight seeing. The grounds are beautiful with the trees, flowers, birds, ducks and fish. The waterfall inside the lobby and out front are very nice as well. They resort, inside and out, is very well maintained. Décor is a little dated, but the cleanliness made up for that. It does have a musty smell, but I attribute that to the waterfalls and all the water features around the grounds. Enjoyed the beach one day and the pool another. Food in the restaurant was very good and the staff is very friendly! Did get stuck in the elevator once, and they were very timely on getting to us. When we returned to our room after being out for dinner, there was a very nice note apologizing for the inconvenience and a tray of cheese, crackers and fruit--very nice. The resort is located in a very charming "surfer" neighborhood--only one block off the Pacific.

Room Tip: If you want views, book in the Tower--the higher up the better. You have views of the bay and the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,242
    951
    343
    134
    89
See reviews for
1,324
975
127
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunman, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just returned from a 4 day, 3 night stay at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa. After reading many of the reviews we were more than happy with the results of our choice. The property was so well maintained and gorgeous. Tropical look everywhere, and the ducks, turtles, waterfalls and winding paths throughout the property made for enjoyable walk on a daily basis.
The room was nice, 10th floor with a partial view of the ocean, and the bed was comfy. The hotel restaurant had delicious breakfast each morning, with fresh squeezed juices and great choices.
What made the stay the best though was the workers. Everyone from front desk, to maids and groundskeepers were so friendly. WE were celebrating our 30th year wedding anniversary and had a pleasant surprise when we returned from a day out sight seeing with a git of chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of champagne, and a hand made Anniversary card.
You cannot go wrong by staying here, I will be recommending it to any family or friends heading to San Diego.

A special thanks to Holly and all of the front desk for making everything so special and pleasant. We really appreciate it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Kids had a blast....great location, beautiful views of ocean n bay. Restaurant on the beach with beautiful views. Rooms were self contained with kitchen, micro etc. Spacious room and great staff. Located very conveniently to major attractions i.e. Sea World etc

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in a ground level suite and it was large, clean and wonderful! The resort was beautiful too - especially at night! They have tiki torches and fire pits on the grounds. Exotic ducks, fish and turtles too! There is also a beach area in addition to the large pool and large hot tub.

Room Tip: Ask about their suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a well-run facility with a great location. I took a shuttle from the airport and visited off-season, so I don't know what it's like to get in there by car. The staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed in one of the suites facing the bay. It was quite comfy and well-kept. The bar is nice, as is the bar food -- big plus. I plan to return with the family.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Azguy602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had stayed here about 4 years ago, prior to this recent visit. Location is ideal for getting to the beach or walking around Mission Bay, and there are tons of restaurants close by. My room was in one of the villa buildings overlooking the pool area. Room was big, which i really like about older places. It's definitely not like the cookie-cutter hotels that seem to be everywhere. Was there for a business meeting, and all of the group meals that we had were good. Spent some time in the bar and adjacent patio area. Decent beverage selection, and the service was prompt. Chatting with the parrots can take your mind off whatever's bothering you, and give you a good laugh.

Room Tip: I stayed in the tower last time, and preferred the villa room i had this tiime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thugsdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The Catamaran is a great location for us. We don't drive, so we take the bus everywhere and there are two bus stops right out front... Very handy indeed! It is also real close to lots of great choices of restaurants and shopping... Not to mention one block from the ocean and Mission bay on the backside of the hotel. The grounds are beautiful... Our room is nice, with kitchen and balcony overlooking the ocean and the city. The shower was a bit tricky, as far as getting the right temperature, but over all, we had an enjoyable time here. This is our second stay at the Catamaran.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dinomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing