We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Catamaran!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at the Catamaran last weekend for the first time in a few years and had a wonderful time! I use to work in the Sales department and was able to meet with Charlotte Corvi (Director of Sales) & Melissa Armstrong (Sales Manager). They are absolutely fantastic long term employees that truly make staying at the hotel a treat!

The rooms have been renovated since I worked there last and were lovely to stay in. Very comfortable, the beach front rooms have a view that makes waking up not seem like a chore!
The food is always delicious! I would recommend their happy hour on the bay front or their weekend summer Luaus! I lived in the area before I worked for the hotel and would frequent to their Sunday brunches at Atoll as well. The food is always great and the staff is cheerful and fun!

If you are looking to book a group I would definitely be in contact with them as they truly know how to exceed any expectations! Family trips, weekend get away or just looking for a place with a view while you post up with wifi on the beach. This is the place to go!! The location is excellent and I couldn't say enough good things about the Catamaran and everyone working there. I look forward to visiting again in the near future! :)

Room Tip: The bay front rooms are beautiful. You can literally step out of your room into the sand. The balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavannahRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,668 - 2,674 of 4,205 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I just wanted to take a moment to thank Victoria Hartwell for her service oriented preparation of the MACCC Executive Board meeting at the Catamaran. She went beyond the call to accommodate all requests. The suite was the perfect location for the meeting. Many board members commented on the location and how nice it was to work in that environment. Lunch was superb and the hotel staff was extremely professional and attentive. I want to make a special note regarding Hollis Bolar, the banquet manager who helped us throughout the day. He was going back and forth between the restaurant and our suite, making sure that we were not in need of anything. Upon an exhaustive but productive all-day meeting I found myself in a beautiful room right off the sand. Thank you so much for the room selection and wine and cheese. What a fantastic way to spend the early evening. My wife and I sat outside our room enjoying the gift and atmosphere that your hotel has so carefully crafted. Lastly, I would like to say how much I appreciated the level of service that you and the entire staff at the Catamaran offer. It is obvious that service and customer satisfaction are at the forefront of your agenda and I would like to lend testimony to the fact that the service of your staff is top-notch. I am looking forward to our organization’s visit to your hotel in November.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor of the bay are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Many thanks to Stephanie Harrison and Kim Gaines for making our March meeting a great success! Attendees and conference manager were very pleased with the service, facilities, and overall experience provided during two days provided by each and every memeber of your team. Thumbs up people! Looking forward to working with you in the future :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very family-friendly in a busy part of southern San Diego between Mission Bay and Mission beach. The back of the hotel opens to the very pretty and quiet Mission Bay where the beautifully landscaped front entrance and drive lead to Mission Boulevard and, ultimately, Mission Bay. Our suite was very spacious with plenty of room to spread out and relax. The kitchen made it feel almost like a small home away from home and the grand window and balcony looking out over the bay was magnificent to wake up to.

But what we loved most about our stay was the landscaping. The lobby has a beautiful fish pond that leads through a glass wall to an outdoor seating area and, beyond, to the bay. Outside, there are more small fish ponds where colorful ducks wade and hope to be fed by passersby (a sign asks you NOT to feed them). Unfortunately, we missed the good weather and the opportunity to see the birds outside but we were able to peek into their indoor space and say 'hello' from a distance. Since you most likely will be walking from your room building to the lobby, restaurant, or parking garage, a nice outdoor space is appreciated!

The only negatives we experienced were few. First, the parking garage does not have an elevator. This made getting things to the room awkward (think strollers and carrying bags). Second, the front desk staff was a little aloof and not very friendly. The most memorable hotel stays are the ones that feel special and the front desk staff did not make us feel particularly welcome.

All in all, it is a very lovely hotel that is an escape from the busy neighborhood surrounding it.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Mandasings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We ( middle- aged "empty nesters) just returned from a delightful week at the Catamaran. The staff were helpful and professional, the grounds were immaculate, the restaurant was great, the location cannot be beat. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband had a 2-day conference so we made it into a mini-vacation. We had a few days to do a little sight seeing. The grounds are beautiful with the trees, flowers, birds, ducks and fish. The waterfall inside the lobby and out front are very nice as well. They resort, inside and out, is very well maintained. Décor is a little dated, but the cleanliness made up for that. It does have a musty smell, but I attribute that to the waterfalls and all the water features around the grounds. Enjoyed the beach one day and the pool another. Food in the restaurant was very good and the staff is very friendly! Did get stuck in the elevator once, and they were very timely on getting to us. When we returned to our room after being out for dinner, there was a very nice note apologizing for the inconvenience and a tray of cheese, crackers and fruit--very nice. The resort is located in a very charming "surfer" neighborhood--only one block off the Pacific.

Room Tip: If you want views, book in the Tower--the higher up the better. You have views of the bay and the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just returned from a 4 day, 3 night stay at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa. After reading many of the reviews we were more than happy with the results of our choice. The property was so well maintained and gorgeous. Tropical look everywhere, and the ducks, turtles, waterfalls and winding paths throughout the property made for enjoyable walk on a daily basis.
The room was nice, 10th floor with a partial view of the ocean, and the bed was comfy. The hotel restaurant had delicious breakfast each morning, with fresh squeezed juices and great choices.
What made the stay the best though was the workers. Everyone from front desk, to maids and groundskeepers were so friendly. WE were celebrating our 30th year wedding anniversary and had a pleasant surprise when we returned from a day out sight seeing with a git of chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of champagne, and a hand made Anniversary card.
You cannot go wrong by staying here, I will be recommending it to any family or friends heading to San Diego.

A special thanks to Holly and all of the front desk for making everything so special and pleasant. We really appreciate it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigdog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,049 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#19 of 286 in San Diego
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £136 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk, Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing