We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #17 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
phoenix az
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely would return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Got a fantastic price on Deal Chicken and got an equally fantastic room with view of the ocean. Everything was wonderful. Only complaint, noisy neighbors late in the evening, but not the fault of the hotel. Beautiful grounds, great private beach area, close proximity to Mission Beach and all the restaurants around. Would certainly recommend and will definitely go back; especially if there is another Deal Chicken or Groupon.

Room Tip: We had a garden view studio in the tower on the 10th floor. So, in reality, no garden view but from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizonanative46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,172
    936
    338
    131
    89
See reviews for
1,291
950
126
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Mom & 4 daughters stayed at Catamaran for Mother's Day week ! The property is absolutely breath taking !! The flowers & plants are beautiful ! The view from our room was unbelievably gorgeous , the bay in front of us & the Pacific on the right ! Everyone working @ the Catamaran was friendly & helpful ! Good places to eat & grocery store in walking distance ! Beautiful city! We will definitely be going back !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte Genevieve, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at Catamaran over Mother's day weekend. We just loved the resort. We would definitely stay here again. Staff was super friendly and courteous. We were in room 400 with a view of a small pond with plush greenery surrounding it. Close walk to the lobby, the bay and the ocean and right by the parking garage which was convenient. We had excellent service at our delicious breakfasts on the patio each morning and the outside bar for a cool drink in the afternoon. The room was perfect for our needs, very clean and very quiet. Wifi didn't work so well, no big deal and the maid service was either very early in the morning or very late in the afternoon. We did come back to our room after breakfast one morning and the maid was washing the drinking glasses in the bathroom sink. We brought plastic cups from the bar after that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a great place. Right across the street from the Pacific Ocean, near lots of great restaurants, great walking areas. Our group has chosen to return to this hotel for a third time because it is so great. We have a light dinner in the bar happy hour which is lots of fun.
Please consider going there if you are looking for a beach hotel with wonderful atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Mission Bay. What a fabulous view. In the summer you will be able to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbs60flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a great hotel and there were a lot of great things about our week-long visit. First of all, the property is really beautiful. The reception area is lovely and the people were great when we checked in. The wait was short to check in and our room was ready around 3 PM.

The location is fantastic. Mission Bay has some really nice chairs with umbrellas and we sat out there one entire afternoon. The Pacific Beach is stunning and we spent many hours walking up and down the area. Lots of bars and places to stop to eat and souvenir stands. Close to a bus stop so can get downtown without a car, though you will need to transfer to the Old Town trolley station.

ROOM: We were lucky and had a great view. We were on the penthouse floor and had a beautiful view of both San Diego and the Pacific Ocean. It was really breathtaking. We sat on our balcony with a drink several days.

The room was pretty small which made it less comfortable to hang out. There was a small desk with a chair and then a King-size bed. It wasn't comfortable to sit on the chair so you had to sit on the bed. I would have enjoyed another comfortable seating area. Both my husband and I found the bed uncomfortable and had some back stiffness throughout the entire trip. Nothing horrible, but a little annoying. The bathroom was nice and had a decent sized bath tub. It was great taking baths every night.

The worst part of our room was the noise. The walls were very thin. We were right next to the elevator and a room that the cleaning staff used. We heard noise from both during the early morning hours. Our air conditioner was crazy loud and every time it kicked on it would wake us both up so we had to sleep without it. The noise from the street (sirens, car alarms, etc.) was very loud even with the door closed (with the air conditioning off this made the room warm.) Luckily there was only a person in the room next to us for one night, but we heard those guests as well. Overall, we didn't sleep great at this property and that did impact our entire vacation. Even with earplugs in I was woken several times. For this reason I don't think my husband and I would return.

Other good things: The pool area was nice. It could be busy in the hot tub, but we had the chance to use it. We also used the pool a few times. The chairs were comfortable and it was pretty. The food at the bar was surprisingly good (get the pesto chicken!) The Mai Tais are absolutely delicious.

The birds are so awesome. We really enjoyed seeing the parrots and listening to them talk They also had two groups of baby ducks which were so cute to watch.

The Bahia Belle was a really fun boat and it was great that it was included. We went at 10PM on a Friday night and it was lively and fun.


The biggest complaint that I have that would be easily fixable by the hotel was the service in the Moray outdoor seating area. My husband and I went there one night and the wait for every single thing was crazy. We had to wait nearly 20 minutes just for our check. It made it less fun. We chose to to into the bar for the rest of our visit which was much better and we saw several annoyed customers who had come into the bar for service because they had been waiting so long for service outside. I don't know why the service was so poor outside but it was annoying.

Overall I would probably not stay here again because of the sleeping issues but wouldn't necessarily discourage someone else from staying there because it had so many other great benefits.

Room Tip: If possible, get on the top floor - hard to have a bad view from up there. My room on a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lololives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for such a thorough review and we appreciate both the positive and negative comments you provided. We apologize you didn't get a good night's sleep while here and we're inspecting the bed in your room to determine whether the mattress simply needs to be flipped or replaced entirely. We also apologize for their noise from our housekeeping team, which starts its day at 9:00. Your review will be used as a reminder to them to be more careful in the a.m. hours when prepping their carts. The last thing we want is to wake up our guests who are trying to relax on their vacation. We appreciate you pointing out the air conditioner as well and our maintenance team has since fixed the unit. We're sorry your experience in Moray's Lounge wasn't what it should have been. Being busy is never an excuse for slow service and we are working with our food and beverage team to eliminate any further less-than-exemplary service going forward. Thank you again for your review and we hope you'll reconsider joining us down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were out at the beach and I forgot something so I came back to our room to find the door open and the room being cleaned. I said, as I walked towards my bag to fish out my camera, "I just forgot something". She stopped me from going any further, respectful but firm, and asked that I put my key in the door to make sure I was actually the person who belonged to this room. We walked to the door and I put my key in, it turned green, and I was able to get my stuff. She was very nice and did a great job cleaning the room. My mom, who was staying with me, heard my story later and appreciated the woman so much that she sought her out by finding the housekeeping office to ask for her. She gave the woman who cleaned our room a $20 tip because she thought it was worth it. I agreed. Anyway, I wanted to commend the cleaning attendant, Lucero Chavira, for a job well done!

By the way this hotel is awesome. Using the free wifi to write this review. We have the courtyard/garden view and it is gorgeous. Steps from the beach, so convenient. I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniemccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were greeted with wonderful smiles and efficiency at the front desk and were treated caringly on our two day stay. The views from the southwest side of the tower were wonderful. Floors 5 and up. Property is well mainted. Ducks and their ducklings wandering around the property were enlightening. Wonderful place to stay. Thank you IDA .

Room Tip: Tower 5th floor to 11th floor. Southwest side, views wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing