We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great polynesian resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #15 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pros: The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. The tiki vibe, proximity to the bay & ocean, the food, the price. Great setting.

Cons: The overall condition of the resort. The hallways were dank with old carpeting, ceiling tiles falling apart, and the aging elevators took forever.

Location: The bay and the beach. 10 min to the Zoo, 30 min to Legoland, 5 mins to the orca torture park, SeaWorld.

We went for a quick trip from Los Angeles, 2 adults and 2 kids. The hotel is great for the little ones, right on the bay and near the ocean. It has a tiki feel, complete with a lava rock waterfall in the lobby, parrots, koi ponds, and lush gardens. We were pleasantly surprised by food in the dining room. It was excellent, far better than we expected. Although it was a bit pricey (and the decor of the dining room was straight out of the 80s) our dishes were exceptional. Hats off to the chef. We went to the pool at the end of the day and it was very crowded. And if someone from the Catamaran is reading this, can you please tell the guests in the pool (adults and kids) who are hurling footballs back and forth to knock it off? It makes the pool nearly unusable for everyone else. Thank you. During happy hour on the patio, the tables were dirty and we had to bus our own table. Trash was on the ground blowing all over. Although the food was good and our waitress was nice, they seemed understaffed. If you're unfamiliar with San Diego do some research before booking in Pacific Beach. It's not the touristy part of San Diego. If you're looking for family friendly restaurants and sightseeing, try Mission Bay or downtown. PB has a very "locals" vibe to it which is both good and bad. Overall we'd stay here again due to the great price, proximity to the beach & bay, and food. A nice resort getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for writing in and pointing out the ball playing at the pool. We never want to compromise the safety of our guests and our pool attendants should be monitoring that activity closely. It is common practice to ask guests to cease playing ball if other guests are there looking for a peaceful afternoon. We apologize you had to clear your own table at Moray's Lounge. Being busy is never an excuse for that and we could have certainly done better in this case. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience here and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,389 - 2,395 of 4,074 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Catamaran in PB is a great get away. We went for 3days and 2nights
Loved it close to everything or just stay at resort don't need to leave the grounds.
We out in the bay rented a lounger boat had cocktails at Morays Emma great server :)

Room Tip: Walk or ride a bike to World Famous for dinner Woodys for breakfast watch the surfers and dolphins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The resort is beautiful and excellent customer service. Water on both sides bay and ocean. Fun place to stay with lots of activity in the area with restaurants, bars and shopping. Good for adults and children.

Room Tip: stay on the bay side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa92029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the second time we have visited Catamaran. Returning to this luxurious environment was a real treat. It is the exterior that most engages me. There are gorgeous plantings, exotic birds that entertain, the outdoor restaurant facing the bay, and the ocean, just a block across the street...as well as a collection of South Pacific art on display in the lobby. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are good, the staff is accommodating. Wifi works. This is a good solution for romance or for families, and there is sufficient space so that one group does not impinge on the other.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room, to wake up to the water is a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meijiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Got a fantastic price on Deal Chicken and got an equally fantastic room with view of the ocean. Everything was wonderful. Only complaint, noisy neighbors late in the evening, but not the fault of the hotel. Beautiful grounds, great private beach area, close proximity to Mission Beach and all the restaurants around. Would certainly recommend and will definitely go back; especially if there is another Deal Chicken or Groupon.

Room Tip: We had a garden view studio in the tower on the 10th floor. So, in reality, no garden view but from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizonanative46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Mom & 4 daughters stayed at Catamaran for Mother's Day week ! The property is absolutely breath taking !! The flowers & plants are beautiful ! The view from our room was unbelievably gorgeous , the bay in front of us & the Pacific on the right ! Everyone working @ the Catamaran was friendly & helpful ! Good places to eat & grocery store in walking distance ! Beautiful city! We will definitely be going back !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at Catamaran over Mother's day weekend. We just loved the resort. We would definitely stay here again. Staff was super friendly and courteous. We were in room 400 with a view of a small pond with plush greenery surrounding it. Close walk to the lobby, the bay and the ocean and right by the parking garage which was convenient. We had excellent service at our delicious breakfasts on the patio each morning and the outside bar for a cool drink in the afternoon. The room was perfect for our needs, very clean and very quiet. Wifi didn't work so well, no big deal and the maid service was either very early in the morning or very late in the afternoon. We did come back to our room after breakfast one morning and the maid was washing the drinking glasses in the bathroom sink. We brought plastic cups from the bar after that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,057 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,039 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 279 in San Diego
1,000 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £108 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk,Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing