We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm a returning guest of the Catamaran, and I swear it gets better every time I come back! One of the most important parts of a hotel stay is the check in, and Sandra nailed it! She was incredibly warm, friendly, accommodating, and really started my visit on a high note! She listened to my preferences in what I wanted in a room and what I wanted to accomplish on my stay. The view from my room was breathtaking, accessible to everything, and incredibly comfortable. I love working out at the gym here; it even has a view of the beach! I can't wait to come back this summer!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    925
    335
    131
    87
See reviews for
1,265
942
125
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed on the 9th floor of the tower and couldn't have asked for a more beautiful view to call home for 7 days!! You can see the ocean and the gorgeous bay with the sail boats, paddle boards, rowing teams, and the resorts own large paddle boats cruising around the bay.
The staff is welcoming and ready to serve. The grounds are breathtaking around every corner from the tropical plants, flowers, Koi ponds, and duck families to the colorful parrots, tiki torches and white sandy beach.
Josh, our bellhop, was friendly and informative. Ralph and Ashley, our waiters, were courteous and very attentive.
The Mother's day brunch was absolutely phenomenal! It was an incredible delight for the eyes and the tummy. Atoll restaurant is sensational! (Try the Ahi tuna) Moray's bar served yummy appetizers and drinks by the cozy fire pit groups and tables as we watched the moon shine over the bay.
I would definitely return to this resort!!

Room Tip: loved the tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have stayed at many places in the San Diego are and this one was the best. Beautiful grounds, great staff and location was perfect. At the end of our stay Josh had helped us with our luggage and was very accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are staying on Pacific Beach, this is the only place to stay! Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pool and perfect location! We will return in the future without any questions... Thank you PB, San Diego and The Catamaran!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pros: The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. The tiki vibe, proximity to the bay & ocean, the food, the price. Great setting.

Cons: The overall condition of the resort. The hallways were dank with old carpeting, ceiling tiles falling apart, and the aging elevators took forever.

Location: The bay and the beach. 10 min to the Zoo, 30 min to Legoland, 5 mins to the orca torture park, SeaWorld.

We went for a quick trip from Los Angeles, 2 adults and 2 kids. The hotel is great for the little ones, right on the bay and near the ocean. It has a tiki feel, complete with a lava rock waterfall in the lobby, parrots, koi ponds, and lush gardens. We were pleasantly surprised by food in the dining room. It was excellent, far better than we expected. Although it was a bit pricey (and the decor of the dining room was straight out of the 80s) our dishes were exceptional. Hats off to the chef. We went to the pool at the end of the day and it was very crowded. And if someone from the Catamaran is reading this, can you please tell the guests in the pool (adults and kids) who are hurling footballs back and forth to knock it off? It makes the pool nearly unusable for everyone else. Thank you. During happy hour on the patio, the tables were dirty and we had to bus our own table. Trash was on the ground blowing all over. Although the food was good and our waitress was nice, they seemed understaffed. If you're unfamiliar with San Diego do some research before booking in Pacific Beach. It's not the touristy part of San Diego. If you're looking for family friendly restaurants and sightseeing, try Mission Bay or downtown. PB has a very "locals" vibe to it which is both good and bad. Overall we'd stay here again due to the great price, proximity to the beach & bay, and food. A nice resort getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for writing in and pointing out the ball playing at the pool. We never want to compromise the safety of our guests and our pool attendants should be monitoring that activity closely. It is common practice to ask guests to cease playing ball if other guests are there looking for a peaceful afternoon. We apologize you had to clear your own table at Moray's Lounge. Being busy is never an excuse for that and we could have certainly done better in this case. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience here and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Catamaran in PB is a great get away. We went for 3days and 2nights
Loved it close to everything or just stay at resort don't need to leave the grounds.
We out in the bay rented a lounger boat had cocktails at Morays Emma great server :)

Room Tip: Walk or ride a bike to World Famous for dinner Woodys for breakfast watch the surfers and dolphins
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 714Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The resort is beautiful and excellent customer service. Water on both sides bay and ocean. Fun place to stay with lots of activity in the area with restaurants, bars and shopping. Good for adults and children.

Room Tip: stay on the bay side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa92029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#26 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing