We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #14 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our wedding at Catamaran could not have gone any better!!! From the ceremony on the North Lawn, to the cocktail hour, to the Boardroom (reception area) – everything looked so beautifully set up - it was better than I could have ever imagined it!! Sylvia - our venue coordinator - was SO patient throughout the whole planning process, always prompt to answer my million emails and questions, providing much-needed guidance and suggestions… even finding my lost bridesmaid the day of the wedding when I was just about to lose it! LOL! The catering manager was also wonderful during reception: she kept checking in with us to make sure we were doing okay drink and food wise, she even brought us food from the cocktail hour to try since we were busy having our pictures taken right after the ceremony – and let me tell you, the food was absolutely DELICIOUS! Not to even mention the amazing/complimentary Bridal Suite w/ the most AMAZING view, and the food and champagne that waited for us in our room on the night of our wedding – it ALL made our Big Day that much more special!!! So now, every time someone asks me how our wedding went, I can’t help but smile from ear to ear b/c I truly feel like it was PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,421 - 2,427 of 4,126 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was the MOST amazing place. I went to college in San Diego and I fell in love all over again with Mission Bay. We did specifically request a room on the first floor bordering the bay and this made our stay even better. The other reviews stated that the rooms were on the older side, but we loved the room. We loved that the room was nice and BIG! The service was great all around at the hotel. We also loved being able to walk to lunch and dinner. The buffet breakfast on Sunday was the best buffet we have EVER been to. We plan to come back and stay again for my birthday.

Room Tip: Pay extra to stay on the first floor with bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csophgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We loved staying at the Catamaran Resort, and we felt like we were in Hawaii. The facility, especially the grounds, is well-maintained, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Jocalyne your front desk lead really stepped up for us and moved our room to bay view. No charge. My wife and I really appreciated her attentiveness to our needs . Rent a boat. The guys at the rental shack are great and explain all of the watercraft . Larry is the bell captain at the resort. He unpacked and packed us up two times due to the room change. Clean pressed clothes attentive and well knowledgable of the resorts lush pond fish birds etc. thank you Jocelyn's and Larry made our trip memorable. Great rooms.

Room Tip: Patience and politeness go a long way. Bay view second floor wow!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadillaccts1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very good location near the Pacific and Mission Bay, with excellent atmosphere in the garden. Also good connections with public transport (bus 8 from downtown). The breakfast location and quality was great, albeit it was not included in the price. Minus was noise of cooling machines at the kingsize bed end of the tower on the first couple of floors. If you are lucky, you can even see Dolphins at the pacific beach!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ramon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked this resort based on reviews, and we were not disappointed. The location is fantastic, smack dab between two wonderful beaches, and still close to all the sights. The beach right outside the resort is a public beach, but often just the resort guests are there. If you want a bit more action, a five minute walk will take you to Pacific Beach. Both beaches are immaculately clean, friendly, safe, and have nice wide walkways that stretch for miles, perfect for a run or bike ride. The beach at the resort is on Mission Bay, which is protected from the wind and waves, therefore a bit more kid-friendly. You can rent pretty much anything here, including stand up paddleboards, bikes, segways, paddle boats, kayaks, etc. The rental prices are reasonable. You also get a free ticket for the paddleboat that goes between Catamaran and the sister resort the Bahia on the other side of the bay.

We chose a room at Catamaran with a kitchenette. Most of the reviews here say that the kitchenettes are dated, which is true. However, they are fully functional and clean. I suggest bringing or purchasing some ziploc bags and/ or tupperwares if you want to pack lunches, as the kitchenettes are really only stocked with plates, bowls, coffee cups, pots and pans, etc.

The room itself was pleasant, updated, quiet (we stayed in the tower, 10th floor). As soon as we walked in, we noticed that it smelled very clean.

The grounds are wonderfully maintained and there are lots of nice little touches like the parrot enclosure, koi ponds, duck families (bonus baby ducklings while we were there). The pool and hot tub are immaculately clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

There is a Ralph's grocery store and Starbucks about 3 blocks away which is important for us :)

We travelled with our 4 year old son and he had a fantastic time too. Overall, I would recommend this place in a heartbeat and we are already planning our trip for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaritaSeniorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

From check-in to check-out we loved our visit. Iva, and everyone at the front desk for that matter, was friendly and helpful. Our room fronted the bay so we could walk out to the beach or to the restaurant quite easily. I was surprised how quiet our room was due it its location and the fact there were many families staying there. The pool was well maintained and the garden staff said hello each time we passed. The food in the restaurant was so good we stayed there for lunch and dinners instead of going to our other choices. And last but not least, my husband mentioned it was our anniversary so Iva and many other signed a card for us and presented us with a bottle of wine and a cheese plate. WOW! Can't wait to return. Great place for families or a family reunion.

Room Tip: Room 600--first floor in one of the small buildings with immediate beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaAZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 286 in San Diego
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £99 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk, Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing