We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing family resort”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Catamaran - the first was in a ground floor room on the grass looking out at the Bay a few years ago. This time we were in the high-rise on the 6th floor with a Bay view.

It was Father's Day weekend so the place was full of families and kids running around, especially at the pool. Up in the high rise it was peaceful and quiet on the small deck with a great view. My first complaint was there was no small refrigerator in the room.

The property is very nice (if a little dated) with a convenient restaurant and bar with plenty of outdoor seating looking at the water. The food is pretty good and the service is friendly and enthusiastic from the young staff. We didn't use the Spa but worked out in the exercise room there with large open windows looking out at the Bay.

My second complaint is a $17 a day charge for self-parking (in a 2 story structure with no elevator) or $22 for valet parking.

There are umbrellas and chairs on the beach, boat, paddleboard and bike rentals with a paved 8 mile trail around the Bay. Across the street is Mission Beach with even more activity, shops, bars and restaurants and a 4 mile trail to walk or ride. At 10pm every night you can see the fireworks display at Sea World across the Bay.

The location is good between the airport and La Jolla, with easy access to Little Italy, downtown or any of the other San Diego attractions.

Overall I really like the Catamanran Resort and can't think of anywhere I'd rather stay for a weekend in San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musiclover63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    934
    337
    131
    89
See reviews for
1,286
946
126
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a review of the spa services only. We booked a spa treatment package special for each of us. It allowed us the use of the entire resort (sans room) from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. We arrived at 9, had breakfast overlooking the Bay. The service was 5 star and continued that way throughout the day. Every staff member we met acknowledged us or asked if we needed assistance. We were surprised at the reasonable price for breakfast at a hotel! My yogurt, fresh berry and homemade granola were delicious and more than I could eat. We checked in at the spa, each of us escorted for a tour of the facility; an oasis of eucalyptus scented tranquility. Our day consisted of an hour paddle boarding, whirlpool, heavenly massages, hanging out in the relaxation room, a facial for me, steam room for him. We wandered around the facility, shared guacamole and a glass of wine in the outdoor patio by a koi pond.
We recommend this for people who live in the area or vacationers staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank namastegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our family of four's first trip to San Diego. We picked this resort because it seemed centrally located to the attractions we were doing (Zoo, Legoland, La Jolla, Coronado, Sea Port Village). We selected a bay view room with two double beds. We had a balcony on the 11th floor overlooking the bay and we could also see the ocean....what a treat! The room was very clean and comfortable. We utilized the kitchenette for breakfast on more than one occassion.
We had one issue with a lamp in our room, but it was quickly remedied with a call to the front desk.

The kids loved seeing birds on property....baby ducks wondered all over and the macaws were a big hit. We found an excellent breakfast/lunch place within walking distance (The Mission Restaurant)....food was fantastic and service was excellent. We also enjoyed World Famous for breakfast and dinner (walking distance), but weren't as impressed with Tony Romas. The resort pool was never too crowded and we really liked being able to order food from the grill while at the pool. It was a short walk to the beach, but we were not prepared for the number of bicyclists, skateboarders and roller bladers that we encountered. If you are with children keep them on the right side of the sidewalk so those folks can pass you if needed. Lots of interesting people watching on the beach. We also enjoyed taking the kids kayaking while at the resort and we did eat at Moray's Lounge outside and the food was pretty good there.

Overall we had an excellent stay and would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is my third year coming to the Catamaran and I fall in love every time I come here. I especially want to thank Jocelyne at the front desk for making our stays even better. Brittany was very helpful as well. The grounds and animals are breathtaking. I feel like I'm in Hawaii. The rooms are perfect in size as well as beautiful views. My grandson loves the pool and the birds. So much to do here with the water sports, pool, bay, happy hour, walking, biking, or just sunbathing under the complementary umbrellas & chairs. I feel spoiled and never want to leave. This will be our vacation place every year hopefully for years to come.

Room Tip: The bay room suites are breathtaking and perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at dozens of resorts in Palm Springs, San Diego, Hawaii, Florida, and elsewhere. The Catamaran is my families favorite. The grounds are beautiful and tropical. The staff is top notch. During the summer they have great free family activities such as a free arcade, free stern wheeler cruises, and movies on the bay. The location can't be beat. It's right on the bay and 1 block from the ocean. You can walk to many restaurants and shops so you don't feel stuck at a resort. There are fun water sport rentals right on site too. The pool has a bar and food stand as well as the hotel bar and restaurant. Plenty of choices.... They have thought of everything! I highly recommend the catamaran Resort!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wemisssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have been bringing my kids to San Diego for the past 15 years. Every year we stay at the Catamaran Resort. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, the food is wonderful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. This year we rented a ski boat and driver through the on property Resort Sports venue - our driver Joe was great and the kiddos had a blast. We also rented kayaks, stand up paddleboards and the FunCat to play around in the bay. The resort is a short 2 block walk to the ocean and always a relaxing day on the beach with the waves and boogie boards. I highly recommend the Catamaran Resort when booking a property in San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNiimiTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a great experience. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to stay on this property for a week. From the start with the greetings from Ryan. ( so friendly) to the front desk. I want to thank
Rachel and Kyle, they took the time to check me in and answered all my question in a very professional manner. All of the wait staff in the dining area were the best. The room was always clean when I arrived back in the evenings.
Again, Catamaran staff, thank you for a wonderful stay. Your training is the best of the class. Catamaran Management, my stay will be shared with all my farmer-rancher friends in Montana.
Dean McGinnis, Billings, Montana.

Room Tip: The view from the 10 th floor was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
819 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
860 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#26 of 279 in San Diego
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing