We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, nice grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Love the location. Beach right on the property. Nice restaurants as well, with patio overlooking the water. Great central location, lots of restaurants nearby. Boardwalk just across the street. Rooms are average, nothing special.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JT3062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,960)
There are newer reviews for Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,238 - 2,244 of 3,960 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great service, friendly staff, inviting environment, and steps away from the beach. We really enjoyed the evening dj boat cruise in the bay. Also, Jake (pool bartender) mixes a fabulous drink... better than Tom Cruise in the movie Cocktail!! Canadian approved!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieKlassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Best location around. Back of the hotel opens up onto a nice cove in Mission Bay complete with beach chairs, umbrellas and all the water toys available for rent. Front of hotel is literally one block from the Pacific Ocean. Service is AMAZING!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applepostergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

With a perfect location at the top of the bay this resort hotel suited all our needs. The hotel is suited for longer stays, but be prepared to pay for it. The fitness center was ok compared to hotel standard gyms and the surrounding area is great for running. Nice pools and plenty of activities. Rooms are a bit old, but are functional and cosy. The bay view rooms are the ones to look for. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank trond_sakshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had a wonderful experience, and the staff was very nice and friendly. The hotel was extremely organized. The room's had plenty of space, and were always very clean. I would recommend this place to anybody and I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miryam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Location in Mission Bay is 15 minutes from downtown SD, the same from Zoo. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained and there is an all-inclusive resort feel to this facility. The staff we are friendly and grounds workers were all smiles. There are lots of activities on the site with pool and rentals on the beach; we tried the paddle board and had lots of fun. The surroundings of the hotel are very busy with vacation rentals. The beach is one block away and a great place to learn how to surf as there are several surf schools directly on beach. Our room in the main tower was old and not so clean. The bathroom was not well cleaned in between guests; found lots of human hairs on floor. We also tried to have an 8:30 pm dinner but were refused access to restaurant because they were back up... humm. That we did not appreciate very well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanBoy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My family and I have enjoyed this beautiful resort! We enjoyed the movie on the bay this evening and during had a good dinner outdoor on the Moray's patio due to the excellent service of waitress Lauren! She made our dinner a great experience and we would love to return again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlmw855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahia Resort Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
3,961 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
#100 of 278 in San Diego
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £126 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk,Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing