We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #14 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a top floor room in the high rise building. It was big enough for a family of 4. We only had one night here but wish we'd stayed longer. It's a perfect location, on the bay front is perfect for little kids to play. And you only have to walk over the street to hit the surf. I recommend staying here, it had a tropical feel, the pool area was great too.

Room Tip: One of the garden rooms would be great if you had a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,405 - 2,411 of 4,167 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We selected to stay at the Catamaran Resort Hotel during a recent vacation to San Diego. The hotel complex was very nicely landscaped with a beautiful beach facing Mission Bay. We enjoyed lunch at the lounge restaurant and found the food to be very good. This hotel is located within one block of the ocean so we enjoyed walking along the beach front. The only big disappointment during our stay was the location of our room. We were located on the first floor of the very northwest corner of the hotel complex. Our room was located near the hotel trash dumpsters and maintenance building. The maid service laundry containers were left on the outside building door almost the entire morning on each day of our stay. We had to call the front desk one morning and request maid service for our room at 4:30 pm.

Room Tip: Request a room in the hotel tower or fronting Mission Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ldno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had an unbelievable view that over looked the bay and Ocean. Everyone was so helpful and so nice.I had an amazing massage from Christina! We hope we can make it back sooner than later! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissamickow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We'd flown all day from FL to find our previously booked condo not available! Sat.P.M. with no place to stay! So, we asked a 'local' who recommended the Catamaran (thank heavens!) We were lucky to get a great room that night in the tower. When we saw the cleanliness of the rooms, grounds & facilities we immediately booked the entire week. Thanks to the nice staff & hotel our San Diego experience is now a wonderful memory! We highly recommend this hotel, w/ it's great location. Car-friendly (secure parking garage), it's also easy walking to shops, restaurants & beachfront & boardwalk. We rented bikes at their sport shop for a fun ride around the bay (easy & safe)! Don't miss this place if you're heading to San Diego! We are a couple, but enjoyed the family-friendly atmosphere too.

Room Tip: Tower rooms facing Mission Bay & downtown (in the distance) have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Palms2Pinetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights in the Catamaran and enjoyed every minute. Great location and facilities. Rented sailboat and Segway which were fun. Rooms are spacious but not particularly modern. Close to boardwalk and many restaurants and bars. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyexpatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The front desk service is awesome. Ask for Dave when making your reservation. He is very detailed and will make recommendations to enhance your experience.

The restaraunt is great and has great service. The lounge patio has good food and drink, but be sure to be aggressive in flagging down servers. If you are not, you will probably be ignored.

The ferry to the sister property is very cool. We didn't expect the DJ. Makes the long boat ride very enjoyable. We even talked about doing it several times just for the drinks and music. There is a dance floor as well.

The room itself is adequate, but the view is what sells it. There are many areas of the resort that are obviously in disrepair.

Overall, we would definitely stay again and recommend Catamaran Resort to anyone vacationing in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afognaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were greeted with a smile and treated well throughout our 3 day visit. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had two room next to each other and any needs we had were met. Just steps from the bay and two blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,086 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,035 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,222 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 286 in San Diego
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £116 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk, Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing