We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moray's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moray's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went to Moray's for a drink and a light snack on Thursday, August 7th of 2014. We ate outside on the patio. My husband had a martini, I had a beer and we split a cheeseburger. The drinks were tasty, and the burger was really, really good! Our waitress was Jen, and she was extremely accommodating, very friendly and gave us excellent service! In fact, we liked it SO much that we are going to go back there for their Happy Hour tomorrow night (which is the last day of our week-long vacation in Mission Beach), and we're going to have dinner there again, as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    925
    335
    131
    87
See reviews for
1,265
942
125
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I travel extensively for work and it takes a lot to impress me with hotel accomodations. I've stayed at the Catamaran several times and have hosted corporate events many times and the Catamaran continues to be one of my favorite destinations. The grounds of the hotel are abundant with wild life. They have a river running through loaded with large fish, an amzing bird collection and very impressive land scaping. The back of the hotel opens right up onto the bay and it's just a short walk across the street to the Pacific Ocean. View from the bay side is amazing! The pool is great and is very child friendly with lots of activities for kids. The staff are great and do everything they can to make your stay memorable. Charlotte Corvi, Kim Gaines, Melissa Armstrong and Trish Dickens treat you like family and make your experience special. The rooms are very nice, much different that a more traditional hotel. My wife and I attended their Luau on Tuesday and were very impressed. The show was awesome and the food even better. How is it even possible to make rice taste that good?!? The Catamaran is a pleasure to visit and is my nuber one choice for business and pleasure in San Diego.

Room Tip: Bay front rooms are great to enjoy the beach. Rooms inside may be a little quieter and have less di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bay, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked a Bay view room which is stated as being 430 sq ft. with a sofa bed and coffee table and 2 double beds. The room I got was more like 320 sq ft with no sofa or coffee table and 2 full size beds. We had to squeeze a fold away bed into the room. I was told no sofa bed rooms were available even though I booked this in April for a July trip. I also don't understand why you would have a kitchenette when no pots or pans are supplied so the stove and oven were useless. There are only dishes for four supplied and a toaster, microwave, small coffee maker and fridge.
The rooms of this hotel are in need of an upgrade.The counters have nicks and the curtains are wearing thin in spots. Yes the grounds are lovely and being on the beach is nice but for the price you could do a lot better.
This hotel is priced like a 5 star but the rooms are only a 3.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mozo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and we apologize you didn't enjoy your accommodations. It sounds like you were in a Bay View Studio, which on average are 430 square feet. The size of the room in this category does vary slightly, but the smallest one is not less than 400 sq ft. Though requests for sofa beds can be made, not all Bay View Studios include them and therefore can't be guaranteed. All kitchenettes include cooking ware such as pots and pans. If something by chance is missing, our guests should never hesitate to call our housekeeping team so they can immediately replace the item. We hope this information helps and we're glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds and proximity to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed the night after attending their Luau even though we're San Diego locals. The room was comfortable and decently appointed though a touch dated and lacking in creativity. It had a very "hotel room" look to it. Similarly priced and appointed hotels we've stayed at recently present a more "designer" look, i.e. Washington DC 'W', Willard and San Francisco 'Meridian'. The Luau was excellent and a lot of fun. We had an amazing time. If you stay at the Catamaran you NEED to attend the Luau. Food was great, music was too, the dancing was very good and it's suitable for the entire family.

Room Tip: Bayfront Rooms are key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Catamaran is one of the most beautiful properties in San Diego! The location gives you access to the ocean, the bay, the beach, and their pool- great choices all around for a family, couple, or friends! Plus a kitchen included in your room, who doesn't love that?! Treat yourself to a summer luau- we went to the Tuesday night luau and had such a fabulous time. Melissa Armstrong was just one of the super sweet staff members who made sure we were enjoying the night and we certainly did.. the show, the food, the drinks, the atmosphere! Be sure to enjoy the happy hour EVERYDAY and try the delicious food too while people watching along the Bay. You surely will not be disappointed in this hotel!

Room Tip: If you can, splurge on a beach front room with a patio leading out to or balcony overlooking the Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Personally, The Catamaran holds a special place in my heart. In Sept 2012 we stayed here on our wedding weekend, along with family and friends from out of state. We also hosted a welcome dinner, and got ready for the wedding here, so I have a lot of special memories that will always make me a little partial to this beautiful property.

Professionally, The Catamaran is a meeting planner’s paradise. You’ve got beautiful scenery, an awesome location, tranquil ambience, delicious food, flexible meeting space, and excellent service. I’ve helped plan my company’s annual conference here twice, June 2012 and June 2014, and we will be back again June 2016. Zach, Charlotte, and Kim are like family now! Kim (convention services) is absolutely the best! She is professional, experienced, and I really enjoying working with her to iron out all the minute details that go into planning a week-long event for 300 people. The banquet team that includes Hollace, Ralph, and Mike, were amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure meeting rooms were set correctly, kept clean, and that our meals and receptions ran smoothly. I can’t say enough good things about the staff - they were all friendly and provided exceptional service. The food was great this year, many compliments from our attendees. The bell staff were wonderful as well, helping me unload boxes to our “office” and then transporting upstairs for registration.

Bottom line: If you are considering planning a business meeting of any kind here, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've stayed at the hotel a couple of times, worked with the staff on planning a corporate event, and attended one of the summer luaus. The place is great. It's different than the chain hotels, seems more genuine and friendly. Melissa Armstrong, Cara Usher and the staff are terrific - very helpful and accommodating. Location is tough to beat, and the experience is always fun. Would highly recommend The Catamaran.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bse1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#26 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing