We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Sunday brunch with a million dollar view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Epic Sunday brunch with a million dollar view”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Sunday brunch at the Catamaran gives you the opportunity to enjoy an incredible meal and take in some of the most scenic views of Mission Bay, and at $50 a person it is probably the best value in the entire city for what it offers.
Parking is free and convenient on the streets around the adjacent residential area. We made the five minute walk along the bayside boardwalk and arrived at the restaurant which is located on the back of the resort, overlooking Mission Bay.
We were greeted promptly by the friendly staff and seated on the patio that provides 180 degree views of the entire bay. Our server Freddie was polished and professional and took the time to clearly highlight the brunch menu and the location of the different stations.
Even though it all looked wonderful, there was no way we could try one of everything, so we gorged ourselves on fresh sushi, oysters on the half shell, various smoked salmons, crab, prime rib, lamb, gourmet bacon, eggs Benedict, sashimi, and French toast. There is definitely something for every pallet and diet, so take a glance at the hotel website to see a complete sample menu.
The artisan dessert tower is not to be missed, so make sure you at least leave room for bread pudding and carrot cake.
Even though the food and drinks left us beyond content, the most satisfying part of the experience was the attention that the our server and the other two members of management (Ashley and Carson) gave to us throughout the meal. We felt special and will certainly be back to enjoy another fabulous brunch and day at the beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,348
    970
    349
    138
    92
See reviews for
1,397
991
131
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Middle of August on 8th floor bay side in the Tower looking at skaters, bikers, pedestrians on the walk to the Pacific. The Bay fifty feet beyond them with sail boats, paddle boarders, daredevils tied to kites, ah where is that bottle of cabernet?
An old hotel with location that just gets better. Breathtaking landscaping, cool Polynesian style fun for adults or families. Adults head for the tower and "bay side" is worth the premium. For families the primo spot is ground floor on the Bay with large grass areas between you and the water.

Room Tip: reserve early adults in Tower Bay side families on Bay ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent the weekend here with our daughter and her boyfriend both college students. We went to the luau Friday night and was pleasantly surprised at the quality as I had been to a couple in Hawaii and the dancers were just as good. food was ok - pretty standard buffet but that's not really why you go to a luau. The pool area is nice but a bit small - I wish they had a second maybe adults only pool because there are a lot of families with small children and parents who tend to just ignore them. However you are right on the beach of Mission Bay and the ocean is one block away with a short walk to the pier, so lots for teenagers to do!

The room was basic but nice with the bathroom a bit small by today's standards. But it was clean and overall service was great. All the staff were very responsive to special requests and happy to help.

It's a bit expensive but for a resort vacation was a good choice and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I got married here in July and it was absolutely the most AMAZING day of our lives! The Catamaran is a gorgeous venue and the customer service there on all ends was undeniably GREAT. Most importantly to me was that our venue coordinator, Amber Kelly, made all of the planning process so easy and organized for me. We went through a year of planning and she made sure that every detail that we had discussed was exactly what we wanted...the Aviary Ballroom & the North Lawn made the perfect places for our ceremony and reception. Truthfully, we couldn't have imagined doing our wedding anywhere else and Amber was the one who made the whole package complete. The hotel itself is just wonderful - it's beachy and tropical vibes make the perfect getaway for wedding guests and the staff all around are awesome - from bartenders to bell boys and front desk receptionists. Another person who made our event such a wonderful night was Dave Hopper, our "Captain" for the night. He managed the Cocktail Hour and Reception making sure that the service was going smoothly and keeping guests so happy. If you choose this venue for your wedding (which you should!), I highly recommend a special request for both Amber Kelly & Dave Hopper - they know what they are doing, are VERY friendly, and both do everything in their power to make your wedding day the most special day of your lives with their personal touches :)

~ Lauren Maskell

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our family of 4 spend three days at the Catamaran Resort this August. The resort was disappointing. The rooms were in the hallway with the business offices and the thoroughfare to the pool. It was very loud, especially on arrival of the business staff. We were there during the week. Maybe a different location would have been better. The service staff is very nice, but very slow. The breakfast "buffet" is more like a continental breakfast and way overpriced for what it offers. The surroundings are nice and the location is great, very close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. We will stay at a different resort next time.

Room Tip: Please be sure you do not stay in a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for writing in and expressing your concerns. The normal workday for our business staff begins at 8:30 a.m. and they are well aware that noise levels need to be kept to a minimum upon arrival due to the proximity of guest rooms. This is the first we've heard of this issue, yet one occurrence is too many. We apologize and we have already issued a reminder to them. The breakfast buffet includes scrambled eggs, egg whites with spinach and mushrooms, bacon, sausage, potatoes, danishes, assorted fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, and homemade granola. We're sorry if this didn't meet your expectations, but we hope you were still able to enjoy it. We also have a regular menu to order from. Thank you again for the review and we hope you'll reconsider joining us down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The property itself is amazing- mature trees and tropical plants, koi ponds, and a large pool with poolside bar and food service. The outdoor bar area had great seats for lounging, with fire pits, tropical greenery and a very nice ambiance at night. Breakfast at the restaurant buffet was very expensive but came with a great view. In general the service was very good. The location is also perfect- on calm Mission Bay with a nice beach and perfect water for paddle boarding, sailing, or swimming with our young children. It was only 2 blocks to Mission Beach with its boardwalk, surfing and restaurants (just turn right as you hit the boardwalk to find a number of restaurants a block or two away). We did not use the free boat vouchers, but it looked like a fun activity. We were upgraded to room 609, in a bayview room on the 2nd floor of the beachside buildings. We were far from the outdoor bar, so we did not have noise issues. We could watch the Sea World fireworks from our porch each night. The room itself was so-so. It was large, but the beds were doubles (not queens). The shower spout was very low, and there were a few small upkeep issues (subtle chipped tiles and peeling baseboard paint). The AC was loud. We pondered switching rooms but loved the view too much. We had a flat screen TV and newer furniture/carpet, but it still felt like the older building that it is. For a family with children, this is a perfect choice due to the location and grounds. I'm not sure about romance, unless you are up for a 3 star room. Then again, I didn't see a nicer place in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Last month I married the love of my life in San Diego, CA. I started planning the wedding while I was still living in Washington, DC and my future husband was here in San Diego. While most of the wedding planning was done via email and internet searches, I was able to spend a couple days in San Diego 3 months before the wedding. Fortunately all of the vendors, especially Sylvia Ramirez, the Catering Sales Manager at the Catamaran Resort Hotel & Spa, exceeded my expectations and made our special day better than I had imagined. The outdoor ceremony space was breathtaking with views of the bay, the reception area was elegant and perfect for an intimate event, the service staff was professional and extremely accommodating, the food was superb and brought accolades from all of the guests, and the rooms were lovely. Thank you, Sylvia and Catamaran, for creating such elegant and enchanting ceremony and reception spaces and providing such exceptional customer service for our wedding day!

Room Tip: I had an awesome view from the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahia Resort Hotel
#34 of 278 in San Diego
3,901 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk,Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing