We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would go again!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have vacationed here, had work events/meetings here and have casually visited...each time has been a great experience! Melissa and staff are super classy when it comes to events, they will make you feel right at home and we have never been let down. If you ever get a chance to go to their summer Luau, I highly recommend it...they truly bring the Polynesian atmosphere to mission bay. You'll be greeted with the friendliest staff, great food, spectacular music and entertainment! You will enjoy the closeness to all the great southern California amenities such as the pacific ocean (great surf and fishing), mission bay (killer boat tours and rentals), Seaworld, SD Zoo/wild animal park, breweries, shopping and much more...The rooms are great and clean, the grounds are killer and give you that tropical vacation getaway feel on the water!

I will return again without a doubt!

Devon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,296
    957
    345
    135
    90
See reviews for
1,357
985
130
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just attended the summer Luau and have to say it's the 'best'!!! But let me digress...anything I attend at the Catamaran is the best (Sunday Brunch, meetings, etc.) because of the caring professional staff like Melissa (Armstrong), Hollis, David (and all the Banquet staff). How can you not keep coming back to events where the food is great, the entertainment is wonderful and staff treat you like family? It amazes me that they always remember my name!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here one weekend during my company's summer get-together. I'll say in advance that my review will probably be more forgiving since I didn't have to pick up the tab for the room.

The grounds were nice and clean enough but a little out-dated and confusing to get around at first. However, after walking the pathways a couple of times you get the hang of it. Our room was a Bay-side King on the 2nd floor right off of the beach which, as the name would imply, had a really nice view of Mission Bay. In the mornings I would often sit on the balcony and watch all of the bikers and runners go by on the beach sidewalk while I wiped "sleepies" out of my eyes. A nice, relaxing way to wake up! The room had a little bit of an old, musty smell but it was clean and big enough so it wasn't an issue. We really liked the big bathroom counter with dual sinks along with the separate toilet/bathroom.

The beach out front (as previously mentioned) was well maintained and active. People would play volleyball, lay out on the sand or play in the water during the day and at night there was a luau which we attended one night (mediocre food but decent entertainment). We also hopped aboard their paddle-wheel boat for a 1-hour spin around the bay. It was a good way to spend an hour but with the pricey, watered-down drinks and tight confines an hour was more than enough. We also thought the exotic birds, ducks, coy, etc. were a nice touch to the grounds giving the resort an exotic feel.

We didn't try the restaurant or spa, however my wife did go to the exercise room twice and said that it was nice enough with decent exercise equipment. Beware of the $20+/day parking fee if you're driving your own car. There is a nice sized parking structure on the grounds with automatic gates so you can come and go as you please while also feeling like your car is secure while it's parked on the property.

Overall a nice stay. I would have given it a 3.5 if that were an option. Not sure if I would pay full price to stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for a week as part of a longer road trip holiday. We took the advice from trip advisor and spent the extra money on a bay side suite. Ground floor ones would be my preference for a return trip as they offer direct access to the beach, allowing you to base yourself from your suite for a long day on the beach. There is something to do every day at the Catamaran, it strikes me that the management work hard to ensure a varied agenda. From a wild bird show to water sports, movies on the beach, themed evenings and of course, people watching from the patio area of the bar. If you want a sun bed and umbrella for the day you have to get up early, but as it's a public beach guests are welcome to bring their own beach accessories. Would return tomorrow if I could, great location and a fantastic base.

Room Tip: The style of the hotel, Polynesian "theme" leads to a lot of cane furniture. This does app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jegmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My work booked rooms and conference rooms at this hotel and it was amazing. The staff were so helpful, Hollis Bolar, Melissa Armstrong and Kim Gaines. I would definitely book another event here or even just stay myself. It was very conveniently located with lots of activities such as the sternwheeler cruise and luau's. :)

Anything I needed last minute was given to me and it was really appreciated how nice the staff was and how great the food was too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Sunday brunch at the Catamaran gives you the opportunity to enjoy an incredible meal and take in some of the most scenic views of Mission Bay, and at $50 a person it is probably the best value in the entire city for what it offers.
Parking is free and convenient on the streets around the adjacent residential area. We made the five minute walk along the bayside boardwalk and arrived at the restaurant which is located on the back of the resort, overlooking Mission Bay.
We were greeted promptly by the friendly staff and seated on the patio that provides 180 degree views of the entire bay. Our server Freddie was polished and professional and took the time to clearly highlight the brunch menu and the location of the different stations.
Even though it all looked wonderful, there was no way we could try one of everything, so we gorged ourselves on fresh sushi, oysters on the half shell, various smoked salmons, crab, prime rib, lamb, gourmet bacon, eggs Benedict, sashimi, and French toast. There is definitely something for every pallet and diet, so take a glance at the hotel website to see a complete sample menu.
The artisan dessert tower is not to be missed, so make sure you at least leave room for bread pudding and carrot cake.
Even though the food and drinks left us beyond content, the most satisfying part of the experience was the attention that the our server and the other two members of management (Ashley and Carson) gave to us throughout the meal. We felt special and will certainly be back to enjoy another fabulous brunch and day at the beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Middle of August on 8th floor bay side in the Tower looking at skaters, bikers, pedestrians on the walk to the Pacific. The Bay fifty feet beyond them with sail boats, paddle boarders, daredevils tied to kites, ah where is that bottle of cabernet?
An old hotel with location that just gets better. Breathtaking landscaping, cool Polynesian style fun for adults or families. Adults head for the tower and "bay side" is worth the premium. For families the primo spot is ground floor on the Bay with large grass areas between you and the water.

Room Tip: reserve early adults in Tower Bay side families on Bay ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
897 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
3,842 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing