We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Standard For Many Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Jasper, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Standard For Many Hotels”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel was one of the cleanest and well run that my wife and I have stayed in. The staff was obviously very well trained. They were very friendly, efficient and the price was very reasonable. The front desk clerks ( Elia and Jose stood out) were not only friendly but very helpful. They recommended sites throughout the city to visit as well as some great eating spots. The shuttle drivers (Fernando found my lost wallet and it was returned intact, Stephen and George were also outstanding) were also friendly and provided great information concerning most areas of the city. Great value for the money. ALD

Room Tip: Select a room facing San Diego Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We appreciate the beautiful comments about our breakfast and shuttle services that we offer for free at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your excellent feedback. We strive for great and impressive service to all of our guests and It makes us happy to read we exceeded our expectations at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Always great to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. Thank you once again for the great comments,we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Manager Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    334
    120
    42
    27
See reviews for
400
270
70
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was in and out of CA for a day. Shuttle took me everywhere I needed, loved Fernando and Josh, drivers. Staff was like my family, friendly and efficient. I will stay there all the time, since I will be going back and forth to pick up my grand daughter. Room was great, clean, breakfast excellent. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonita M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We strive for great and impressive service to all of our guests and It makes us happy to read we exceeded our expectations at Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Iam glad to hear you had great experience with our complementary shuttles that we offer. Always great to hear that our staff Fernando and Jose, went above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. I am glad you enjoyed our city of San Diego n took time to do fine dinning here. We appreciate the beautiful comments about our breakfast that we offer for free at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Thank you once again for the great comments,we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Manager Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for three nights and besides having to stay in a room with two double beds the first night when we made a reservation for a king, this hotel was fantastic. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, everything u could want and snacks for the day too. Pool and hot tub were also great, small but clean and relatively not busy. Rooms were clean and modern. Hotel staff were nice and as helpful as staff could be making minimum wage.

We will definitely stay here again when we return. Price can't be beat for the location and amenities.

Room Tip: Room 320 has a way nicer shower than the other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We strive for great and impressive service to all of our guests here at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town, and it makes up happy to read we exceeded our expectations. We are happy to hear that our staff provided great service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Old Town.
Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I took the complimentary shuttle to the SD zoo on the day of Rock 'n Roll marathon - felt compelled to submit this review to thank driver Fernando for not being deterred by all the road blocks and detours. He knew the area well and tried multiple alternate routes, keeping a positive and friendly attitude through it all. I had an amazing time because of a wonderful start of the day, all thanks to FERNANDO. The best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aidan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind comments on the staff at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Iam glad to hear you had great experience with our complementary shuttles that we offer. We try our best to keep our guests very happy here at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Thank you once again for the great comments. We hope to see you again soon at Holiday Inn Express Old Town

Sincerely,
Front Desk Manager
Suzy B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Staff, accommodations and amenities are all up to snuff. Good value and great location for any area of San Diego, not just SAN and Old Town. Staff members, Jose and Josh for check in are outstanding as are Vangie and Kylene in the morning for check out (which is not necessary but we like to say good-by in person). Each remembers us from trip to trip and that makes a difference in this day and age of hustle and bustle. Dolores is great with her care in the breakfast area. Our only complaint with the hotel is the change of breakfast eggs. From scrambled AND hard-boiled available, to now only mini-omelets with Velveeta cheese. Other than that minor detail, the hotel is the only one we consider staying at in San Diego. Enjoy...

Room Tip: To us, the main building is preferable for its closeness to breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback for Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Our employees are happy to hear that they could be of service to you. We try our best to keep our guests very happy here at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Hoping that your husband is feeling well. We hope to see you again soon at Holiday Inn Express Old Town.
Sincerely,
Front Desk Manager Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

1 night stay, nice room, but the room above us had a/c noise from loose fittings or cover. Started around 10 pm when guest arrived. Called front desk, they looked at it and said it could not be fixed until next day. They were very apologetic and moved us to a new room, and us some $. Besides the a/c ,rooms are nice staff is very nice and location is good, also the morning breakfast buffet was great, check out the conveyer belt pancake maker, added attraction!

Room Tip: Don't get one on the I-5 side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback for Holiday Inn Express Old Town.
We try our best to keep our guests very happy. . Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with the room. Your review will be used to consider improvements and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.
Sincerely,
Management HIE
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, CT
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Make sure you ask for a room away from the highway. We did and the room was quiet. Great free breakfast! Great service! The room was clean and it was within walking distance of several good restaurants in Old Town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomSchlagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback for Holiday Inn Express Old Town. We appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind comments. Glad you enjoyed our city. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.
Sincerely,
Manager Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Address: 1955 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110-2105 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing