We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Small GreatHospitality friendly helpful Staffs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #44 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean Small GreatHospitality friendly helpful Staffs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

For people who like small convenient friendly hotel with kind helpful staff, this is it. The room's not too big but sufficient for comfort.
the underground parking is accessible from the room by elevator. However to get the car to this parking is a bit of struggle due to its modest size.
The breakfast hall is a little too small and the variety of food served seem to be less than other Holiday Inn I stayed.
I want to San Diego for a 2 days 1 to the san Deigo zoo, and another day to Safari.
I will comeback to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yingsaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for sending your valuable feedback to the hotel. Comments like yours enables us to target problem area's so similar situations can be avoided in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you on your vacation. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and we did not meet our nor your expectations. We take your comments very seriously and hope you'll consider returning to our hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Manager, HIE
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    320
    117
    41
    27
See reviews for
380
255
65
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at many excellent IHG properties. This is our favorite. We love the location, just a walk or shuttle ride to Old Town. It is also with in walking distance of the trolley.

The best feature of the hotel is the staff.

We would like to thank:
Yasmine & Kylene for their help with our reservation.
Dolores, Glades & Ghada for the awesome breakfasts.
Vangie for putting us in "our room".
Alex & Hadir for the shuttle rides.
Josh for the front desk help and for taking our nightly photo.

We feel like family when we stay here and we see the staff interact with all the guest in this way.

Room Tip: We stayed on the freeway side of the hotel, but had no issue with the noise. You may want to reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffhippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. A hotel is defined by the kind of service offered to its guests. We are very happy to learn that you had a great stay and wrote about your experience at Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Our staff is thrilled to read your comments. We will share your feedback with our entire staff as comments such as yours ensure we are doing our job correctly and make our day! we truly appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to San Diego, have a great day!

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had to make an emergency visit to San Diego because of a family crisis. We had stayed at this hotel in May 2013, and thought highly of it at the time, so I booked a weekend visit, during July 4th weekend. I got a lovely room, down first floor hall, near the breakfast lounge. Everything was clean and nice as it had been last year. ALL the desk personnel were so friendly and helpful. I was stressed by the circumstances of my visit, and they helped considerably in relieving my stress. One young man even fixed my cellphone for me! The entire staff was extremely nice. I got reasonably priced taxis to and from the hospital thru them, got the airport shuttle to go home, and I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Very close in proximity to everything in San Diego too.

Room Tip: Been upstairs and on first floor, both quiet choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are glad we were able to accommodate you at the last minute at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, clean rooms and the location of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Old Town, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The customer service at HIE was great and our room was very clean, I guess those are the most important things in any hotel. We chose this place because parking, breakfast and wifi were included. However, I honestly think McDonalds serves a better breakfast. The eggs were powdered, the bacon was flabby paper, the cinnamon rolls were like Pillsbury refrigerated biscuits with icing...The free coffee and juice were appreciated, and they did have a decent selection of yogurt and cereal. Ultimately I wish we had stayed at a nicer place and just paid for a real breakfast somewhere. Parking was ridiculous - the spaces were hard to fit even our small Kia Rio rental into, and when we complained about large cars double-parked in spaces marked Compact, they said there was nothing they could do.

We did take advantage of the shuttle rides down to Old Town (about a 10-12 minute walk). Jose at the front desk gave suggestions for a local restaurant which was very good, and gave us a card for a free appetizer. There is a small outdoor seating area that allowed smoking, but the view is just a freeway. Again it worked fine, but I wouldn't rush to stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway side if you don't want to hear the freeway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyFoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the breakfast and the inconvenience the issue you have encountered during your stay with us may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick overnight on our way to meet a bus to Mexico for a week the next morning. The hotel was average but the big plus was you could park your car there for the week in a secured garage. The staff was really friendly as was the driver of the van that transported us. The rooms were ok, clean but sit right on the freeway so request a room away form the freeway. They do have a couple of suites which my friends stayed in and it was very roomy but on the freeway. They have a shuttle that will take you to Old Town which was nice as parking can be tough there sometimes. This wouldn't be my first choice of a hotel to stay at for just visiting San Diego but it would be if I were going away for a week and needed to leave my car. It was a bit pricey for what accommodations I had but I did book at the last minute. My friends that had the suite had a much better, bigger room for much less. Supply and demand I guess.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us Holiday Inn Express Old Town . We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Sincerely,
Manager Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, New Mexico
Level Contributor
133 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Friendly and helpful folks at this place. This is our second time staying here and its because of the great staff with smiling faces that makes this place a great place to stay. Josh greeted us as we arrived and promptly checked us in, asked to help with our luggage, and explained the breakfast routine to us. Then there is Suzy, with her bright smile and gorgeous eyes giving us directions and checked us out. I believe a gentleman by the name of Jose also gave us directions to MCRD in the most polite and professional way. Parking is a bit of a problem but heck, that's something out of their control and besides, its the people who make it worth staying again. Suzy, Facebook me!!!!

Room Tip: Pleasant rooms and great sleep experience. Very close to Old Town and MCRD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our Holiday Inn Express Old Town. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Always great to hear that our staff Suzy, Josh n Jose went above and beyond to make your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town an memorable one. BTW this is Suzy, thank you so much for the nice complement. Hope to see you soon in the near future.
Sincerely,
Manager Holiday Inn Express Inn Old Town
Suzy B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this location due to its proximity to SD Airport and the shuttle service there. The front desk was also helpful with getting me down to Budget for my rental car the day after we arrived. Driver George was thoughtful on our 5am run to the airport on our way out, though as Oregonians we didn't need the heat on when it was already 60 degrees at that time. Kids enjoyed the pool and the free breakfast offered lots of selection.

Room Tip: Maybe not one with I-5 and airport traffic noise just to your west. Facing east is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time, to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. We try our best ,to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable room at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town, its nice to know we did just that! We really, hope you will choose us again when visiting San Diego. We enjoy hearing our guests say, that we made them feel comfortable while being away from home. We like to extend our thanks for recognizing our staff's hospitality and we look forward to your family staying with us again on your next vacation.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Address: 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing