We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #44 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

When searching for hotels in San Diego, this was not our first choice but I am very happy that we chose this hotel. This is a very nice and clean hotel. Very friendly staff. They gave my friends and myself goody packs when we checked for being a member of the IHG club. Sure it was not much but it is these smallest things that sometimes make some of the biggest differences. I loved the location of this hotel. Not too far from the airport. Sometimes we would just sit outside and watch the planes land and take-off. There are also a large number of Mexican restaurants close to the vicinity. These were some of the best authentic Mexican food I ever had. The trolley service is also near by. You have to walk a bit but still very convenient. Overall this was an excellent stay and would check in again next time I visit San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamsul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review at Holiday Inn Express Old Town. We love getting guest feedback as it helps us improve our business and grow. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Old Town. You do us a great service by providing your positive feedback with us. I will be sure to share these comments with our team here. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you at The Holiday Inn Express Old Town.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    320
    117
    41
    27
See reviews for
379
255
65
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Clean and nice rooms, but the ones facing the freeway are a bit noisy. If you can, select a room facing tue other way.
Room was clean, but the hallway smells of old carpet.
Breakfast was acceptable for the type of hotel, But at 180 a night I think it is a bit overpriced. The location, however, is excelent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not one hundred percent satisfactory. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Manager, HIE
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We waited 25 minutes for the shuttle after a 5 hour flight from Maui. Once the shuttle arrived, a bunch of other people jumped ahead of us onto the van while we waited to put our bags in the back of the van. We were told that the van was full and the driver would come back for us again in about a half hour. It was 10:30 already, so we hired a taxi. So much for the free shuttle. I choose this hotel because of the free shuttle to the airport and old town so was very disappointed. The driver and check in person said there was nothing they could do, so I gave them suggestions a to how they could fix the situation. The ride back to the airport was perfect and the driver was lovely. The hotel itself was ok. Slow elevator, so we took the stairs with our luggage. Would not stay again. Would stay at another hotel and pay for taxi, which I did anyway.

Room Tip: The rooms were all very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. I have spoken to the proper department managers and will look into the matter. . Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,
Manager, HIE
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

For people who like small convenient friendly hotel with kind helpful staff, this is it. The room's not too big but sufficient for comfort.
the underground parking is accessible from the room by elevator. However to get the car to this parking is a bit of struggle due to its modest size.
The breakfast hall is a little too small and the variety of food served seem to be less than other Holiday Inn I stayed.
I want to San Diego for a 2 days 1 to the san Deigo zoo, and another day to Safari.
I will comeback to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yingsaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for sending your valuable feedback to the hotel. Comments like yours enables us to target problem area's so similar situations can be avoided in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you on your vacation. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and we did not meet our nor your expectations. We take your comments very seriously and hope you'll consider returning to our hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Manager, HIE
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at many excellent IHG properties. This is our favorite. We love the location, just a walk or shuttle ride to Old Town. It is also with in walking distance of the trolley.

The best feature of the hotel is the staff.

We would like to thank:
Yasmine & Kylene for their help with our reservation.
Dolores, Glades & Ghada for the awesome breakfasts.
Vangie for putting us in "our room".
Alex & Hadir for the shuttle rides.
Josh for the front desk help and for taking our nightly photo.

We feel like family when we stay here and we see the staff interact with all the guest in this way.

Room Tip: We stayed on the freeway side of the hotel, but had no issue with the noise. You may want to reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffhippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. A hotel is defined by the kind of service offered to its guests. We are very happy to learn that you had a great stay and wrote about your experience at Holiday Inn Express Old Town. Our staff is thrilled to read your comments. We will share your feedback with our entire staff as comments such as yours ensure we are doing our job correctly and make our day! we truly appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to San Diego, have a great day!

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had to make an emergency visit to San Diego because of a family crisis. We had stayed at this hotel in May 2013, and thought highly of it at the time, so I booked a weekend visit, during July 4th weekend. I got a lovely room, down first floor hall, near the breakfast lounge. Everything was clean and nice as it had been last year. ALL the desk personnel were so friendly and helpful. I was stressed by the circumstances of my visit, and they helped considerably in relieving my stress. One young man even fixed my cellphone for me! The entire staff was extremely nice. I got reasonably priced taxis to and from the hospital thru them, got the airport shuttle to go home, and I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Very close in proximity to everything in San Diego too.

Room Tip: Been upstairs and on first floor, both quiet choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are glad we were able to accommodate you at the last minute at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, clean rooms and the location of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Old Town, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The customer service at HIE was great and our room was very clean, I guess those are the most important things in any hotel. We chose this place because parking, breakfast and wifi were included. However, I honestly think McDonalds serves a better breakfast. The eggs were powdered, the bacon was flabby paper, the cinnamon rolls were like Pillsbury refrigerated biscuits with icing...The free coffee and juice were appreciated, and they did have a decent selection of yogurt and cereal. Ultimately I wish we had stayed at a nicer place and just paid for a real breakfast somewhere. Parking was ridiculous - the spaces were hard to fit even our small Kia Rio rental into, and when we complained about large cars double-parked in spaces marked Compact, they said there was nothing they could do.

We did take advantage of the shuttle rides down to Old Town (about a 10-12 minute walk). Jose at the front desk gave suggestions for a local restaurant which was very good, and gave us a card for a free appetizer. There is a small outdoor seating area that allowed smoking, but the view is just a freeway. Again it worked fine, but I wouldn't rush to stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway side if you don't want to hear the freeway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyFoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the breakfast and the inconvenience the issue you have encountered during your stay with us may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Address: 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing