We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer vacation with my daughter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summer vacation with my daughter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is the best. The drivers, front desk, breakfast crew, and housekeepers are all top notch. We utilized the complimentary shuttle service everyday of our five day stay and all of the drivers were friendly and helpful. The front desk always had recommendations for meals and places to visit. Breakfast was always well stocked and love the cinnamon rolls. The room was also well maintained. Traffic can be noisy but we always travel with a portable noise maker and when that was on, the noise was not a problem. Great stay. The only thing missing from the on sight sundry store was sunburn ointment or aloe vera.

Helpful?
2 Thank mtack24
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
WOW!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay with us at Holiday Inn Express old Town, and we were happy to have you hear! We hope to see you return back here at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town.
Thank you for the kind and praise words..

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    317
    117
    39
    27
See reviews for
372
252
65
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location - within easy walking distance of Old Town. Going for dinner, sightseeing, browsing the stores - it's all within walking distance.

The rooms were clean and at the regular standard for Holiday Inn. The breakfast was actually quite varied and there was always a lot of it. And unlike many places, the breakfast room wasn't always overflowing with people - there was enough space for everyone.

Another plus - the staff didn't bother us. We travel frequently, and sometimes I'm just tired and I want to get my room and go to sleep with minimum hassle. That was very easy to do.

The only issue we had was the parking - the spaces are underground and small. I'm not sure how some of the larger cars managed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It's a pleasure to hear you had a fantastic time during your visit in San Diego. It's our goal to consistently provide superior service at Holiday Inn Express Old Town. We appreciate the feed we receive from our valued guest. We hope to see you on your next family vacation. Glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and breakfast. Thank you so much for the great review, much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weirton, WV
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in July and was very satisfied. Courtesy van took us to Old Town, but certainly within walking distance. This hotel was centered exactly for our activites - a harbor cruise, lunch at Slater's 50/50, getting to Coronado Island and even a ghost tour. Very clean and the staff was exceptionally polite. Breakfast buffet was really good, as well. We stayed in a room that looked out on I-5 and the airport, but the noise was no problem at all. Very pleased with our visit, would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLDWeirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express Old Town. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful stay with us. It is rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to say thank you. I will share you comments with our entire staff. Glad you enjoyed San Diego.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was in San Diego in 2013 to present at a conference. I had a very late arrival as the closing ceremony of the conference took longer than expected. I was exhausted by the time I came to the hotel. The individuals manning the reception counter were very friendly and courteous. The room was spacious, VERY comfortable and had all the amenities. True value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFerdinandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are pleased to receive the praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature at Holiday Inn Express Old Town. It is rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to say thank you. I will personally share your comments with the staff. Again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We'll see you on your next trip to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here five days while he was on business. I asked for a room change (closer to the pool), and Art was happy to accommodate my request. He later asked if I was satisfied; this is the kind of service we experienced at this modest hotel. George (and Dolores), who was in charge of the breakfasts, greeted us every morning with a warm welcome and great food. The shuttle drivers were friendly and prompt. I was able to visit Balboa Park, the zoo, and Old Town easily and safely. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We do take pride in our customer service in all area's of the hotel at Holiday Inn Express Old Town.
Thank you for your positive comments. It's always nice to hear our guest recognize our staff's efforts. I will share your comments with our managers here on property. We look forward to having your family stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town your next vacation in San Diego.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had reservations - we confirmed we were a late check-in. Called to reconfirm at airport that we we arrived and needed a shuttle. We arrive. They (Jose) said, "We don't have your room anymore" WHAT?! Mom/Dad with 2 kids - and you are sending us where? "Oh we got you a room down the street" Translation: 30 mins away in a run down nasty dirty hotel with only a king bed for 4 of us"
George & Alexander tried to remedy the situation but it was now 1:30 and we were done.
5-STAR review for other staff who made sure we were taken care of on our stay before we few out a week later. Found out from staff that our room was given away to Walk-in couple just in front of us...WHAT kind of service is that Jose?? C'mon.

Room Tip: Rooms are next to the freeway but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Upon reading your review, I am very disappointed that you had the experience that you did. It is never the intention of the hotel to not meet your expectations. We understand how important it is to ensure your satisfaction and will look into the matter. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We look forward to another opportunity to turn around your experience and ensure that your next stay meets your expectations. Thanks!

Sincerely,
Manager, HIE
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon SK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed June 30-July 1st, 2014. Great shuttle service. Free. Prompt. Knowledgeable and friendly drivers. Took shuttle to the Zoo and he picked us up at the Zoo. Also took the shuttle to Old Town and walked back. Nice walk even in the early evening. The room was quiet and clean. Breakfast as expected at Holiday Inn Express. Good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMFOX222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us feedback regarding your recent visit at Holiday inn Express Old Town. We are happy you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and you gave a high score for our breakfast options. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.

Sincerely,
Manager, Holiday Inn Express Old Town
Suzy B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Courtyard San Diego Old Town
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Address: 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing