We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Ranked #188 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Recommended hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This time, I would like to share my experience in staying at Quality Inn I-15 Miramar end of last year (December 2013). I chose this hotel during my visit in San Diego Area due to its review and I didn't regret my decision (thanks to reviewers who had helped me finding this hotel).

I did not really mind staying in this hotel although it was not centrally located as I was looking for a decent accommodation which was near freeway as I had to head back to Los Angeles the next morning. Upon our arrival in the motel property late at night that evening, I proceeded to check-in which was prompt and within five (5) minutes, we both were in our room already.

Our room was big, spacious, clean and well maintained; so does the bathroom. I was really impressed with what they had to offer and at the price I paid, I would definitely rate this hotel as one of the best gems in greater San Diego area. Breakfast is quite simple but I had nothing to complain about as there was a burger chain restaurant outside the motel.

Overall, I do strongly recommend this motel to everyone who is looking for a safe, clean and well maintained hotel accommodation during their visit in greater San Diego area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the street level as this property doesn't have elevator which could be trou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy E, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn San Diego Miramar, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. The property is nearby a lot of attractions and provides easy access to many destinations. Our rooms indeed offer a lot including a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker as well as hi-def flat screen t.v. and I believe it really does make a difference in terms of comfort. Your great feedback lets us know that we are providing a great service and value to the guests. We want everyone to have a memorable and fun experience and I really do hope that you come see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    54
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
35
22
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Room close to family home.Room was updated and close to shopping.There was a full street of designer stores.Free parking.That is rare in California.We will stay there again when in San Diego.Price was good when using our CAA card.Nice continental breakfast and coffee and tea available all day.Staff had loud voice to get people moving.Free wifi clean fridge with freezer large screen tv and out door pool.Extra pillows and blankets were available.Restaurant across the street for quick dinner. Hotel was easy to get to and close to highway.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy E, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn San Diego Miramar, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
I would like to first start by saying Thank You for your wonderful and informative comment . Your great feedback lets us know that we are providing a great service and specifically a great value to our guests. We are happy to hear that you had utilized most of our amenities. As you have highlighted in your review all our rooms are newly furnished and also equipped with 40” hi-def flat screen tvs. We also take pride in providing a great selection in our complimentary breakfast which includes sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, and a great variety of breads and pastries. We hope to provide an even greater experience for you on your next visit to our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in two days in this hotel and I love the atmosphere and the quality of service and how clean it was,
Best part the price for this hotel was incomparably reasonable

I love the staff there extremely nice and professional specially the front desk female Who checked us in I believe her name is rutu.
She Was very professional and helpful,
Also the female who checked us out I believe her name is Lisa was very nice and polite as well

I'll definitely recommend it I'll definitely stay in the next time I'm in town
Room #2 17

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Akotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy E, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn San Diego Miramar, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with the world. I am glad you highlighted our staff and how satisfied you are with their customer service. We strive to provide the best experience to all of our guests. We work hard to build a core of friendly staff members who are assertive in being helpful and supportive. It’s encouraging to know that our hard work is noticed by our guests. I once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have searched alot of hotels in San Diego area and it is next to impossible to find anything under 100.00. You have to spend close to 150.00 to get anything decent. But here you have a very decent hotel for around 80.00 and you are about 20 minutes from seaport village. In fact the freeway from the hotel goes right into downtown San Diego. Its clean and affordable just don't expect to much enthusiasm from the staff. Great price for a 4th of July weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muskateer345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy E, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn San Diego Miramar, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. Indeed the property is nearby a lot of attractions and provides easy access to many destinations. We strive to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Your great feedback lets us know that we are providing a great service and value to our guests. Again we thank you for your feedback and hope that you will continue to visit us on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delano, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed one Sunday night last April for a base rate less than $70. Check in clerk (East Indian) and the lady manning the breakfast who checked us out later were both friendly. We were given a room on the same level with the breakfast room and found it clean.We had a restful night. Breakfast is typical Quality Inn offering that I consider adequate for the price we paid. And for those who travel with their pet, this hotel charges the lowest pet fee in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdoin9456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy E, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn San Diego Miramar, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m glad to hear that you were happy with your decision to stay with us during your recent visit to San Diego. I have shared your comments with the entire staff, and they join me in thanking you for taking the time to share your experience and rating. We look forward to our next opportunity to provide you with pleasant and comfortable accommodations on your future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nice location, Nice hotel but, no breakfast after 09:00 o'clock for who mat late weak-up ?.

Rooms are clean and nice but please do not try to walk in your room below level and/or your next door can call the reception. Rooms not have soundproof !!!!!.

Reception staff are not very friendly and breakfast area is completely awful !!! No cheese and/or simple scramble egg which it is next to rest room and 3 days hotel was sewage smelling. :-(

Room service was awesome. Room was clean and well prepared, bed & towels are nice coffee maker, microwave and fridge was working well plus free internet & new flat screen TV are great options...

No parking problem :-)

Room Tip: Choose second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredChendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy E, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn San Diego Miramar, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated as it helps us improve our hotel. I apologize if you were not completely satisfied with your stay here; we appreciate your kind words regarding our grounds and rooms. We encourage our guest feedbacks in any area of our hotel as it helps us make modifications and improvements. We do go beyond the traditional “continental breakfast” which does include sausage, bacon, waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, and a variety of breads and pastries. I am sorry that breakfast was not available after 9am. We try to accommodate everyone starting our breakfast hours M-F 6am to 9am and 6am to 10am on weekends. I thank you on behalf of our housekeeping staff for recognizing their attention to detail and their awesome work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

First off, I am not rating this hotel based on the official star rating, those wildly vary on quality. I am reviewing it based on price (avg $80-100 most nights) and the ranking it got on this site (top 40%, one of the few lower price hotels at this rating).

Room - average, double beds. The air freshener they use smells weird and there is no fan in the bathroom (they claim this is the entire hotel). There was mold on the window sill from the rain when we got there. Didn't notice it come back after cleaning though. Cable TV on a flat screen.

Workout room - 3 out of 4 machines were not usable. The main weight machine they claimed they were waiting on a part for.

Hotel itself - the building is very narrow and the bulk of rooms are below ground. The breakfast area is much too close to rooms.

Breakfast - pretty standard continental - cereal, bread, waffle mix, bagels/muffins, sausage & bacon, juice/milk. No variety or changes no matter how long you stay. The room is tile and they leave the door open so loud people (one of their employees was very loudly talking with a customer) are heard easily all the way down the hall and behind your own door. Closes at 9am on weekdays so no sleeping in for vacationers.

Although this place is right near my parents, I don't think I would stay here again unless the deal was really good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnorlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy E, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn San Diego Miramar, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated as it helps us improve our hotel. I want to offer my sincere apology for your unsatisfied stay with us. As for the exercise machine, I assure you that all 4 machines are in working order. Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. I do hope on your next family visit you give us another opportunity to not only meet your expectations but go beyond them. On behalf of me and the entire staff we sincerely apologize again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
8.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
25.5 mi away
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#183 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego Miramar

Property: Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Address: 9350 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92126 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego Miramar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A San Diego CA hotel - Quality Inn I-15 Miramar hotel near MCAS Miramar BaseThe Quality Inn® I-15 Miramar hotel offers a great location and outstanding service close to all the best San Diego offers. This California hotel is just one mile from Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS Miramar Base) and is near many local points of interest. Popular attractions close to this San Diego, CA hotel include:•SeaWorld San Diego theme park •Balboa Park •San Diego Zoo •San Diego Miramar College •La Jolla Shores beach From miles of beautiful shoreline to picturesque sandy beaches, unique cultural attractions, historical landmarks and family friendly activities, San Diego and the surrounding region offers something for everyone. This California hotel is located within walking distance to a number of restaurants and shopping opportunities. As a guest of this San Diego, CA hotel, you can enjoy amenities like:•Free full breakfast including waffles, fresh fruit and meat •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free weekday newspaper•Free coffee in the lobby •Outdoor pool and exercise room A free shuttle within a five-mile radius of the hotel is available weekdays from 7 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Shuttle service to San Diego International Airport and outside a five-mile radius is available for a nominal fee. This California hotel provides business travelers with additional conveniences like access to copy and fax service. All spacious and inviting guest rooms are elegantly appointed and are furnished with 40 inch HD TVs, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Laundry facilities are located on the premises and valet cleaning service is available. On-site parking is provided. Whether you are visiting San Diego for a business trip or vacation, make the Quality Inn I-15 Miramar hotel your home away from home. We have countless features and our friendly staff is waiting to make your say memorable. Book a room with us today and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn i-15 Miramar Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing