We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Not Return”
Review of Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pleasant Inn
Ranked #198 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Firestone, Colorado
1 review
“Will Not Return”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our toilet wouldn't flush at 10:30 at night. When I called the front desk, the attendant asked me if I wanted to come get a plunger. After I said no, he wasn't able to come up until 11 after someone relieved him from his shift. There was no maintenance on the night shift and the hotel was completely booked, so we couldn't switch rooms. The only thing the attendant was able to do was to fill a soda bottle and stick it in the tank. Although, he was very nice and tried to help, we should not have had to remove a water bottle and replace it every time we needed to use our toilet. He told me to speak with the manager in the morning and she would probably give us a 10% discount on our bill. When I spoke to her in the morning she said she couldn't give us a discount because we had used Cheaptickets to book the room. Not sure why that should matter, but I didn't feel like arguing. The room also smelled musty because the air conditioner was leaking. Instead of fixing it they put a bucket underneath it. Location is very noisy. Parking lot is very small, we almost didn't get a space one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    46
    68
    38
    23
See reviews for
83
43
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here. It was centrally located to everything we planned on seeing in San Diego. It's close proximity to Highway 805 was very handy. We would recommend this hotel for the price and easy access to everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It was one of the worst experiences We've had. The bed was very uncomfortable, mattress was very old which we both got back aches. there were only 3 small tables at the breakfast area with 4 chairs each for everyone to use from 7:30-9:30 and the place was packed because the room was very small. The information that was printed, the directions were not correct and accurate. not enough staff at night time to help with house keeping and delivery of towels. we had to go and get them ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roubina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Bakersfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Breakfast room is too small. Food was below average. Room was clean. Staff was friendly except at check out. Bathroom is very small. Will not stay here again. Location is very noisy. The remainder of this review is simply to add characters to make the 200 character minimum. A stupid requirement.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGoldenTriangleInn, General Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for choosing our property for your travel stay needs.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We will be undergoing renovations after summer which will include upgraded rooms and a new, larger breakfast area, both with enhanced amenities to help serve our guests better.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


Sincerely,

GENERAL MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

1) Desks Staff was indifferent. I was waiting at the desk to ask a question and I had to wait for her to finish her text before she acknowledged me. 2) Breakfast was late everyday but one, Monday which was a different women. The breakfast start time is late any way for a professional tradesmen at 0630 but when you arrive at 0630 the waffle iron is still warming up, no milk, no waffle batter, no eggs, etc. Nothing but coffee is ready. This girl is still setting up breakfast at 0645 – everyday – FIRE HER! 3) Breakfast in minimal at best. Should have biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, at these prices. Toaster was broken. Hard boiled eggs were terrible - everyday - try to peel the eggs and all you end up with ia a yoke ball. Terrible breakfast. 4) Internet slowly - signal poor/fair all the time. 5) No newspaper - how cheap can you get. 6) Bad access to hotel. You have to drive a half and make a u-turn from any direction to get to the hotel driveway. 7) Worst Best Western and Best Western experience I have every had to suffer through and I have stayed at a lot of Best Westerns and for some reason I was not allowed to change hotels in the middle of my stay to the Miramar hotel or I would be charged for the full week at this hotel any way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGoldenTriangleInn, General Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We will be undergoing renovations after summer which will include upgraded rooms and a new, larger breakfast area, both with enhanced amenities to help serve our guests better.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


Sincerely,

GENERAL MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The price was very good for this hotel but the amenities were poor. Could not get the A/C temperature right, way too noisy of A/C, always off and on all night. Shower was good, lighting was awful and room almost stark it was so empty of decor. Toilet ran all the time, had to close the door. Not the best area of town. Good location if going between La Jolla and San Diego. Staff was indifferent, not very friendly. Breakfast was better than I had anticipated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel room was decorated all right, but the hotel is a cement block with no view, dark, no outdoor area except some really uncomfortable iron chairs by the main road in the parking lot. They had no newspapers. I did like the waffle maker in the breakfast room. Some were nice, others chewed gum and lacked any kind of professional attitude. I am grateful to the afternoon manager letting me leave and not charge me. The morning person did not want to refund me, even when I told her I felt unsafe. SOme dicey drunks banged up, walking around and in the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#225 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Central
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#188 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn

Property: Pleasant Inn
Address: 5550 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117-2309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pleasant Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of sunny San Diego, we are a service-oriented hotel combining both value and convenience. Find us at 5550 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, California. We are open 24 hours, every day. Our property is just minutes away from attractions such as Sea World, the world famous San Diego Zoo, UCSD, Mission Bay and miles and miles of our spectacular coast- line and beaches. For a unique cultural experience, the exotic land of Mexico is less than thirty minutes south of us. For business travelers who stay with us, we are centrally located and near to Kearny Mesa, La Jolla, and just minutes from downtown San Diego, the Convention Center, and Lindberg International Airport. Your satisfaction is our top priority, whether you are traveling to San Diego on business or pleasure, our friendly staff and comfortable rooms eagerly await you. Among the amenities we offer to every guest are: fitness room, free cable television, free WiFi, complementary paper weekdays, in-room coffee, and a refrigerator in each room. Many conveniences are available to our guests such as easy freeway access, free parking, and restaurants adjacent to the hotel. We offer a complementary continental breakfast served daily from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m. Children under twelve years of age stay free. We look forward to your visit soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Triangle Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing