We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“General”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Ranked #175 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“General”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Pool water dirty. Blackout if you use all electric engines at same time (tv,microwave,refrigerator,light,etc). They didn't notified us about closing the water, when we want to take a shower. There is NO free breakfast, and NOT a speed wifi, it's poor and very slow. The room are OK, like every single room at a hotel/motel. Not a plasma TV, just a normal old tv NOT HD. The people on the front office NOT cool. If you not like the noise, please DON'T stay here, SD airport close(too much noise) plus railroad at the back of the hotel(more noise). Jack in the Box at the courner 24 hours.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maryana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    161
    97
    32
    53
See reviews for
79
149
57
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a last minute at 8.15 at night. It was a bit expensive for motel style accommodation but it was convenient to just pull up to the door and unload our luggage. We could have booked a fancy hotel near by but would have had to pay for parking and then lug our luggage up a lift. This also enabled us to leave quickly in the morning. The room was a typical motel room being clean and suitable for a nights sleep. Not the the type for a romantic evening. Peter, who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. And we got the last room!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue19342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Although I live in San Diego, I decided to get a hotel close to downtown for Comic Con this year and found the Pacific Inn as a convenient and affordable choice. The room was very clean and had a mini-fridge, which was great for keeping drinks cold to bring to the Con. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Although the hotel is close to the train tracks (and trolley making it easy to get around), I had no noise issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was the 3rd time we have stayed here, it is older but clean, very convenient for flying or cruising out of San Diego, close to airport and cruise terminal.
Only downside this time was that they no longer had their breakfast bar, or even coffee. They should offer in-room coffee for the convenience of their early morning travelers!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

You have no idea how happy it makes me to hear that you have stayed at our hotel and continuously enjoy the results.

Thank you for pointing out how convenient our location is in order to navigate to, from or throughout the San Diego area. It was one of the many reasons why we picked this great location to help our guests have hassle free travels.

We do offer in room coffee pots, it was a new addition when we started our “breakfast on the go”. So, when the next time you stay with us and enter a room with no in room coffee, please contact the front desk immediately and ask for one.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and stay with us so frequently. We really appreciate it.

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Mnaager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have a very nice stay with Pacific Inn. They had recently remodeled their rooms and they were very clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. Also they were also willing to price match the other hotels on the strip that were comparable to them. I think we got a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamdrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel.
Thank you also, for noticing the new renovations that we implemented at our hotel.

We wanted to make sure that each room was stocked with fun, new amenities for your personal convenience.

We are a family owned hotel and don’t have corporate rates so we pride ourselves on our affordable prices.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to your liking. We look forward to your visit soon.

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERRE HAUTE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

San Diego is a pricey town to stay in for a visit. However, if you are more interested in sightseeing than in how fancy your hotel room is, then this is the place. PROS: Priced far below the nearby upscale hotels, you have the advantages of the same location along with free parking. The room's are bit dated, but adequate for getting a good night's sleep. With the air conditioner running I never really heard the nearby trains passing by. My initial problem with the air conditioner was dealt with promptly the attentive and friendly staff. They also had just installed a secure and fast wi-fi router, which was very helpful for investigating restaurants and sightseeing places nearby since it is located very conveniently to both. CONS: No breakfast offered at the motel, but were welcome to walk down the street to a sister motel. However, there was no place to eat your breakfast at that location. Also, breakfast is very scanty - mostly cold cereals, etc. Did pay extra for use of the safe. No coffeepot, fridge but was given a hairdryer upon request.

Room Tip: Rooms parallel to the street I would guess are quieter than the rooms along the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingfish182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to thank you and show our appreciation and acknowledge our gratitude for the time you took to write this review.

In our rooms you will find many great amenities such as fridges, microwaves, in room coffee pots, safes and much more. We also offer other more personal item at our front desk such as hair dryers and irons.

We love our location and are a family owned hotel who tries to keep the cost of traveling as low as we can for our guests. Our location provides easy access to so many wonderful attractions like the world renowned Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Thank you also for noticing the improvements that we continuously make to our hotel, like our updated super fast wifi. Another improvement which we recently started is our new “breakfast on the go”. It’s a box full of healthy and nutritional foods to help start your day off the right way, such as granola bars, fruit, juice, pastries and much more.

However, you are correct in that if you wish for a more robust breakfast we offer it at our sister hotel right down the street where we provide: cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, coffee, juice and many other items. Or we can recommend you to some great nearby restaurants.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very convenient as it was located right by the ocean/pier/boardwalk.
A bit pricy because of the holiday, but overall a very satisfactory stay.
Did not see a restaurant or fitness center at the hotel, so had to put down 'terrible'.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write this review. We love hearing from our satisfied guests because it means we are doing something right!

Thank you for mentioning our location. We too love the easy convenience and the short beautiful walks to some of San Diego’s hottest attractions like, the downtown pier, little Italy, the Star of India and so much more.

Because we are located in the heart of Downtown and so close to many great restaurants and fitness centers we thought it would be better to encourage touring our wonderful city and our restaurants than to simply have one at our location. Don’t worry though, our front desk would be more than happy to recommend some great eats just minutes away from our hotel.

Again, thank you so much for writing this review. We appreciate all of our guests and just wish to allow them the best stay possible.

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#121 of 279 in San Diego
2,328 reviews
La Pensione
#105 of 279 in San Diego
526 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites

Property: Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Address: 1655 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and newly remodeled rooms. Just blocks from the Gaslamp, shopping, and San Diego Airport. Only 300 yards from the water. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Try our jacuzzi suites. Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Hotel And Suites
Pacific Hotel San Diego
Pacific San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing