We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK airport hotel with slow shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #45 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I arrived late at the airport and just missed a shuttle and found I had to wait almost 30 minutes and then since the shuttle is a shared service, it took another 20 minutes to get to the hotel. The hotel was an older Embassy Suites, with friendly people at the desk, but unable to accommodate me in the room I thought I had reserved - hard to tell since a travel agent made the reservation, so I ended up in a room that was less than my expectations, but clean and quiet if a bit outdated. The setting on the bay was very nice and if you wanted to use it for a longer stay it had great exercise capabilities for running / jogging next to the bay and seemed to have a good indoor pool. Breakfast was as expected at Embassy Suites. Bottom line - you get what you expect from this ES, but with some down sides.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Paul H,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to understand some of the opportunities you experienced recently. Although San Diego is a very accessible airport there is rather limited options to get to and from the airport, the main shuttle service I understand typically require reservations and apologise they challenged your arrival, especially late.

I apologise for the room type error on our side and regardless if it was originally done by the travel agent or not, we must endeavour to deliver your needs.

Delighted to hear that you found the hotel and most importantly our team.

Cheers and hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel in it self was great for the value. Complimentary breakfast was great and good selection. I missed the complimentary/welcome guest time. My room was clean. I had to call twice once no trash bags in my room 2nd the t.v. was giving me a no signal on the screen. I didn't agree with the $20.00 fee for parking. But all in all it was a pleasant stay. I also was able to check in early and get extra towels and blankets.

Room Tip: The room is spacious plus you have a separate seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTHA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear MARTHA M,

Terrific to see you over this past weekend and I think that you may of been here for the Chargers and the Cowboys, from what I hear a fabulous game. Delighted to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the team here brilliant.

Many more games to watch this season and hope that we will have the pleasure to see you again.

Cheers
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

it was a nice hotel for family vacation I brought two of my siter family to stay with us, got 3 rooms, the kids had fun the only thing the kids were not happy because we did not want to pay 12.00 for internet per room

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Lequyen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Lequyen U,

Thank you for being our guest and delighted that you and your family had a brilliant stay, I do apologise for the inconvenience regarding the internet and upsetting your children. Please should you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back that I personally ensure that I cover the internet expense for your family.

Cheers and hoping to see you soon.

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey good hotel, bit pricey

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Tjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Tjay B,

Thank you for being our guest and delighted that you enjoyed your stay, with our complimentary cooked to order breakfast, evening reception, and spacious suites we do try to keep very competitive within this area as there are many options of course for our guest.

We certainly hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Cheers
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The evening complementary session is highly worthwhile. The staff are efficient and freindly. If I had business in the area again I would checkin here. Otherwise the location of the hotel is distant from San Diego and the waterfront.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Peter W,

Deligthed that you had a brilliant time here in La Jolla and that your experiences throughout the hotel, including the evening reception were excellent.

We are very much looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to San Diego/La Jolla.

Cheers
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

All in all, an excellent experience. Only complaint is the $20 parking fee per day and the $11.95 fee for daily Internet access. We chose not to use the Internet on the second day due to that fee. Complimentary Breakfast and Evening drinks were excellent, room was great and very quiet (12th floor).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Stephen S,

Thank you for being our guest and I very much appreciate you and letting us know of your experiences, our legendary evening reception and complimentary cooked to order breakfast are indeed fabulous as is the team delivering it.

We look forward to the oppportunity again to deliver excellence.

Cheers
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The service is horrible for such a big hotel the slow elevators and the lack of a staircase made it impossible to leave at checkout. People were yelling it was a disaster. It could have been a major issue if we had a flight to make that day. We went down the emergency elevator after 30 minutes and wound up outside because they have no interior elevator. This was a horrible experience. The location is not near the beach and is barely in La Jolla very residential. Stay in the beach or in the gaslamp district. The rooms and hotel are nice and the breakfast is very good. I have stayed at multiple embassay suites and have never had this
problem before.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear 1TravelKing,

I am terribly sorry for the dreadful experience you had with the excessive time and inconveniences you had with getting to and from your suite. I had mentioned in some recent past responses that we had one (1) elevator down waiting correction, although this significantly challenged your experience we, as of Friday last week, have corrected this and now have four (4) fully operating elevators.

Thank you for being our guest and again my sincerest apologies for this terrible inconvenience.

Yours sincerely,

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £122 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing