We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in La Jolla”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #48 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Weekend in La Jolla”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We selected this hotel because the rooms are all suites and for its proximity to both La Jolla Village and the Safari Park. We stayed with the kids and enjoyed the whole experience. The complimentary breakfast cannot be beat (in overall value) and there is also a free evening reception with chips and adult beverages. The room was clean and had the living and bedrooms separated by a door. Bathroom was clean with soap/shampoo/conditioner and a hair dryer. There weren't extra pillows for the sofa bed, but you can ask for housekeeping to bring you a couple.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you firstly for being our guest and secondly delighted that not only did the hotel live up to your expectations but the team here delivering brilliant cleanliness and an exceptional experience.

We certainly look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    491
    192
    69
    28
See reviews for
660
229
35
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We invited our friends from Buenos Aires to come to visit us. The wanted to know the beautiful California. They were staying only 2 wks. So it was difficult to decide what to do and what to visit with so limited time. We decided to go to San Diego. But a friend of us recommended to go first to La Jolla and spend a night at the Embassy Suite. So we did and had a wonderful experience in our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Angela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Angela Z,

Thank you and to your friend for suggesting you and your international friends stay at our hotel, we are delighted that you all had such a brilliant time. Here's to you and other friends and family to the next opportunity to welcome you back.

Cheers and again thank you for being our guest.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vista, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Will be back to stay at this hotel again! Rooms were great and bed was very comfortable. Free happy hour in the evening was a huge bonus. The rooms were also very clean and had a microwave and fridge along with coffee

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alexis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Alexis D,

Fantastic that your recent stay was brilliant, from the comfort of the bed, to the fabulous breakfast and evening reception.

Thank you for being our guest and thank you for your kind words.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nice hotel for business and pleasure. I was able to relax after a long day. Breakfast and the complementary cocktail hour were good. But while your are eating and having an evening cocktail there could be more and better entertainment, I'm to keen on CNN in the morning and without choices it makes breakfast go down a little harsh.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Robert B,

Thank you for being our guest and delighted that your stay was relaxing and exceptional, with the exception of our news channel choice during breakfast. With the hope that we will see you again, perhaps we can seat you in the Indulge Restaurant which has multiple televisions with many more options and will allow you to have a relaxing complimentary cooked to order breakfast.

Cheers and look forward to seeing you soon.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The first impression we got was its a bit dated, when we arrived we were told that our non smoking room that we had booked 4 months prior had actually been double booked. we were put into a smoking room for the first night, What an unpleasant smell that was, they did there best to help with an ionizer. We were given some free drink vouchers and free wifi which was ok but not enough to stop our clothes stinking from the room.
the second nights room was better and much fresher. The rooms are a little older but still very clean. They do offer free breakfast and free drinks in the arvo, this was very well suited to us..
the lobby area is very nice with waterfalls and rivers and large fish swiming around. made for a very nice change..

Room Tip: Go for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainTex80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear CaptainTex80,

Thank you so much for being our guest and that you congratulated the team here even when we challenged your first night with a smoking suite, I will be investigating this as rarely occurs. Although this will not correct this past stay, we will be 100% non-smoking in 2014 and with new carpet being installed as we speak we be able to deliver excellence across the board.

Thank you again for being our guest and we certainly look forward to the next opportunity.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is the second time we stayed at this Embassy Suites.We chose this hotel because it has a non smoking and no pets policy. The Lobby was clean and inviting, The cook to order breakfast was great. This time you had a choice between the cook to order or the buffet.( we didn't have the buffet option on the last stay) The room was clean and the bed firm and comfortable. We had some down pillows and that presented an allergy issue. They were quick to swap them out. The only 2 issues that would have rated the hotel a 5 is 1, no WIFI. We went across he street to the mall and used theirs and 2,you pay for parking. The hotel is close to restaurants, shopping and the beach. We travel to the San Diego/ La Jolla area a few time a year and this is becoming one of our favorite hotels

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 543JohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear John R,

Delighted that your recent stay was brilliant and that we will have the very good fortune to see you again in the near future. Our morning breakfast team are indeed fantastic and your comments have been passed on to them.

Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our three year old. Staff were great with the boy, and the accommodations were perfect for our needs. Happy hour food was ideal for a hungry toddler.
Poorly designed and tight parking structure.
One morning we requested that our room be cleaned in the morning so that our child could nap in the afternoon without interruption, and the room was not cleaned. When we talked about this with the desk staff, he scheduled a precise time for the cleaning and gave us a free movie voucher.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaddeus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Thaddeus E,

Fantastic to hear that we will be seeing you back in the near future, delighted to hear that our team were able to assist and ensure that not only you received service on time but that your younger family member was able to get a well deserved nap.

Cheers and we look forward to the next time.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
911 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing