We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired of the nickle and time tricks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #52 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tired of the nickle and time tricks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

You want internet, $12. You want to park $22. --Really? The price of the room is not enough. And its not like its the Estancia, which is a very nice and unique hotel a few miles down the road, where I might tolerate the extra charges.

Anyway, the room is what you would expect: the standard Embassy suite layout of a sitting room, a small hall way, and a bedroom. It seemed like it was updated in the last few years, and was clean. On the down side, the hotel was some what noisy and I could hear kids yelling when I was in my room. The outside looks like it is undergoing a renovation. You also have to park in a garage, which is poorly designed and doesn't have sufficient room for a vehicle going down to pass one going up. The garage also looks like it could use some sprucing up.

For me, I travel to the area frequently. There are nicer hotels, and there are other hotels that are as nice but a better value. I see no point in returning to this one, where they pad my bill with extras that are typically included in this class of hotel. I changed my two night reservation to one, I'm off to another hotel for tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Chriskoob,

Thank you for being our guest and certainly understand the frustration caused during your recent stay with internet and the parking arrangements, we are slightly challenged as our car park structure is on shared property and have little control on charges and the structure itself, although this year will see new surfaces, paint, and exit/entrance equipment.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spaciously clean suite and the newly laid carpeting, this coming year will also see a complete soft goods renovation in all suites. Currently we are completing an exterior paint project that you saw during your recent stay that is moving along famously.

You mentioned that we may not have the pleasure of seeing you when you are next in La Jolla, I truly hope that you will consider us again as I would certainly love to ensure that you are delivered a perfect experience.

Thank you for your valuable time and allowing me to understand some areas of opportunity.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    482
    190
    69
    27
See reviews for
645
228
35
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here recently for 5 nights on business and this hotel really came to feel like home. I had some large boxes shipped ahead and they were waiting for me. The staff was kind enough to load them on a cart, and give warning that the parking garage does not have an elevator. This was hugely helpful. Otherwise the hotel was clean and quiet and the suites were well furnished. I always like having a microwave and fridge, and the wet bar sink is a bonus. Not only can you walk to PF Chang's for dinner, but across the street is a nice open mall with plenty of dining options. Each morning I commuted to downtown San Diego on I-5, and there was never any traffic. The trip took about 25 minutes door to door. Would definitely stay here again, especially if my family was with me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear ajlbb,

Thank you very much for being our guest and delighted that your stay was EXCELLENT, from the location, convenience to the Westfield UTC Mall and PF Changs, and downtown. Fabulous that your suite was perfectly appointed and lovely and clean, we are indeed very lucky to have a brilliantly talented team here at the Embassy Suites.

We all look forward to the next time your travels bring you to San Diego-La Jolla.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived at the Embassy Suites in La Jolla for a business/mini vacation. In our room was old pizza in our microwave and the refrigerator was not working. I called the front desk to express my disappointment. The night manager Liz was very accommodating. She sent someone up to the room immediately to clean the microwave, fix the refrigerator and attending to any additional needs my family and I had. She ensured the remainder of our stay was taken care of . She was pleasant and definitely knows the true meaning of customer service. The hotel had an amazing breakfast, perfect location and perfect for large families. Our family will definitely return to this hotel. Thank you Liz you are an awesome manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sophia W,

Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to correct the challenges you experienced upon arrival, this certainly was a rather large hiccup on our side and we sincerely apologise for this.

I am delighted that your introduction to Elizabeth was one that not only allows us the luxury of calling you our guest again but that her actions and attention delivered a great experience.

We appreciate you and truly look forward to seeing you all again.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here 4 nights on a business trip. I have spent the last 8 months on business travel, mostly between Palmdale and San Diego. I'm a big fan of Embassy Suites (a HHonors Diamond member), I love the concept of a 2 room suite, which is especially important when my family comes to visit while I'm on business travel.

I would call the room a ES "classic". What I mean by this is that yes, it offers a 2 room suite, but the classic ES is dark and out dated. They still have popcorn ceilings, nicked up furniture, and lumpy beds. They design of this room is strange, there are doors that hide other features, block normal things etc. I didn't realize until day 2 that we had a microwave and mini fridge because the door was blocking it. Not a big deal because we ate out.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels (I'm a Gold Marriott member too) and I can compare this hotel to other Embassy Suites across the country. This location reminds me a lot of the Washington D.C location (just outside IAD). The layout is almost the same, though this one seems bigger. There is a really nice Koi pond/river in the atrium that my kids were mesmerized by. The D.C location had George and Martha (swans) swimming in their atrium.

I really did like this hotel, but there were things I can compare to the other ES I have stayed at recently. This is a LARGE hotel, and I am constantly amazed at how they can pull of that many guests at breakfast. They require you to "swipe" your room key when in line at the omelet station. I'm not used to that with the other ES I stay at frequently. It really wasn't a big deal, and I'm sure its because of the large volume of people they have. The downfall is the quality of the food, it is average at best and you have to wait in a somewhat long line. Having stayed in many ES in the last year, I give this a "middle of the road" rating.

Positives: Great Staff, everyone was very courteous. Another positive is that that its an Embassy Suites, and you get a 2 room suite (great for families, best hotel concept ever). The evening reception is every day (usually only M-T).

Negatives: Elevators were extremely busy and long wait times. The room was slightly dated. Parking was $22 day, my company pays for parking, but for a family on vacation it is definitely something to consider. The indoor pool was cold (to my standard).

Overall, this hotel was average, I really appreciate the great customer service they provided, though I would probably stay at other hotels next time I'm on business in San Diego, either Hilton Bay Front, Homewood Suites (Liberty Station), or Residence Inn (Scripps or Carmel Mountain).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear DesertFlyer,

Thank you for being our guest and would like to extend my sincerest thanks to congratulating the team here for delivering great service, especially from a well traveled guest as you are it means a tremendous amount to us.

I apologise for delivering average in other areas of your experience and would like to ensure that we are attending to most items that you mentioned. Sorry for the challenge in locating the microwave and fridge they are as you said hiding behind a French slatted doors, although tidy and out of the way, certainly out of sight. We will be drawing up a small sign to ensure future guests will not have this challenge.

Delighted that you enjoyed the lovely Koi environment, recently we added Ozone to the system which is making this feature look fantastic, of course our younger guests love feeding Koi also (food available at guest services).

I am very sorry about the inconvenience caused by the elevators and breakfast being busy during your stay, I have passed this information on to the culinary team to see how we may improve on this experience.

We truly appreciate everything you mentioned and we are attempting to correct and better our hotel, I am again so very happy that the team here delivered excellence in service.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in San Diego. Everyone in the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Examples: 1. kids were swimming and the manager brought out beach balls and swim rings. 2. Front desk gave out fish food for kids to feed the fish in their fish pond. 3. During the manager's reception, they put on a kid friendly movie in a separate room--- our kids loved this--- and I'm sure guests traveling without children appreciated having the kiddos off in one area so they could enjoy their drinks/snacks too! The rooms were spacious and very typical for a newer Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momk5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Momk5k,

The pleasure was all ours, thank you for being our guest. I am delighted that you and your family had a brilliant stay and that my colleagues made a great stay a fabulous experience.

We all look forward to the next time your travels bring you to the lovely San Diego-La Jolla area, until then.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Was here for just a single night for business and found the suites very good indeed. The suites were well furnished and were just right. The checkin was quite smooth and took about 5 mins at best. I particularly liked the sitting area within the suite and bathroom was well designed. The best part of the offer was the free breakfast - not the very best but good enough to get your day started. I chose this place as it was walkable distance to our office.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adityarrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear adityarrao,

Thank you so very much for being our guest and your nice comments to your recent experience. Being that you are such a seasoned traveler and seasoned contributor we are very thankful that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, spacious suites, and location.

I have passed on this comment to the Executive Chef to ensure that our guests complimentary made to order breakfast experience continues to be enhanced.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed with my family. Selected this as it is a 2 room suite.

Bad:
Very noisy elevators; The sofa bed in the living room is a joke. You can feel pretty much every spring in the sofa bed. There is a dripping sound from the AC. Check in took a while... they compensated with a free parking pass.

very old fittings.

Good:
Spread in breakfast is decent. Decent Location. good space within the room. not cramped.

Room Tip: select something away from the elevators. Dont chose this hotel because it has two rooms. the sofa b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJ .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear VJ,

Thank you very much for being our guest and delighted that your experience with the team and service here was excellent.

I am sincerely sorry that your HVAC unit had some challenges, the sofa bed being so very uncomfortable and the noise from the elevators.

We have just recently purchased new mattresses for the sofa beds and will investigate why your suite may have had this challenge. We have passed on the HVAC comment to try and determine what we could have and can do to resolve this matter.

If you allow us the luxury of being our guest in the future we will certainly ensure that your suite location is away from the elevators, especially if you have one of your party sleeping in the living room, this would ensure a comfortable and quite experience.

Thank you for allowing us to understand these challenges and I am sorry that you had them.


Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing