We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #51 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

We chose the Embassy Suites in La Jolla due to the location - not to mention the free hot breakfast.

The hotel was nice, clean, and the staff friendly. There was construction going on downstairs - currently the gift shop and lobby area are undergoing renovations. We did not hear construction noises so that was good.

The room was very spacious with a separate living room/office area and then the bedroom. I couldn't find the fridge/microwave at first but they are hidden behind a set of doors between the two rooms.

We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but we did have the free hot breakfast both mornings we were there. They offered omelettes, waffles, pancakes, bacon, sausage, breakfast potatoes, pastries, cereals, bagels, and fresh fruit and other things that I can't recall!!

We actually extended our stay by one night. Our request was promptly taken care of and we even were given the promotional rate for the 2nd night as well.

The only negative about our stay was the sound of little kids running around downstairs in the atrium/lobby level early in the morning. The sound really carries and it seems that parents had no control over their little "cherubs" in the morning. (And we had our daughter with us so I'm not anti children! ) Oh, and our room keys kept getting deactivated for some reason. (they were not touching anything that would cause that to happen!)

The pool was indoor and on the small side. It was a bit crowded when we ventured there in the afternoon. However, it was still functional.

The hotel is across the street from a mall (University Town Center) that has a lot of shops and restaurants. There is a PF Changs Restaurant in the same parking lot as the hotel - we ate lunch there one afternoon.

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emmysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    481
    190
    69
    27
See reviews for
644
228
35
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

Couldn't fault the Embassey Suites, great rooms with a seperate lounge/TV area which is handy when you have young children that tend to sleep in, breakfast was great ( busy at peak times though ) happy hour from 5.30pm-7.30pm was a must with all drinks and snacks free.

The glass elevators were fun which the kids loved, as they did the indoor pool, the shopping mall right accross the street was also very convienient as it has an ice skating ring.

If we visited San Diego again this would be the only hotel we would consider , a fantastic place and ONE OF THE BEST hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Andypandyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

Great Rooms!
* Rooms are large and newly remodeled. They just finished remodeling all the rooms in March. Decor was contemporary and classy, using dark wood. The rooms include a wet bar, microwave and fridge.
* New large flat panel TVs (42"?) in living room; regular (though large) TV in bedroom.
* We were told that they improved the sound-proof quality of the rooms, which I believe is true because we didn't hear a peep from anyone else's room.

Breakfast Buffet was chaotic:
* The breakfast area was too small for the number of guests in the hotel. It was a nightmare trying to get food. The line for the omelets stretched 15 people long. There seemed to be lines for everything and such tight quarters that people were constantly trying to get by you with trays of food. The food was just so-so. Good pancakes, though. Limp french toast, bland scrambled eggs, overcooked omelets, good crispy bacon. Potatoes consisted of nuggets of deep fried "tater-tot" things.
* They serve Starbucks coffee in the coffee urns, but it tasted burnt most of the time.
* They were frequently out of things like clean silverware, plates, bowls, milk, fruit.
* Now Embassy is going to remodel all of the common areas in May 2007. They may fix this whole breakfast situation by making the area more expansive and efficient. I wouldn't go during construction, though.

5:00pm Snack Hour was kind of fun:
* They only serve potato chips, tortilla chips, pretzels, and salsa.
* However, they serve shirley temples for the kids and any alcoholic drink for the parents (including, for me, a Midori Sour). Coffee and tea also included.

Indoor swimming pool was good and bad:
* It was nice having an INDOOR pool since it was 62 degrees outside. Pool was clean and well-kept.
* However, pool was small and extremely noisy. Tons of kids running around, screaming, making canonballs, splashing. My 2-year-old and I stayed near the stairs and we made do. I'm glad they had the pool because my son loved it; but I just wish for my own sanity that it was bigger so that the kids would be spread out more.
* I did appreciate the fact that the pool is right near the elevators so that you wouldn't have to traipse through the lobby in your robe and swimming suit.

Front desk people and concierge were really helpful and just plain nice. They got a crib into our room in record time. When we called to ask why the heater was only blowing cool air, they offered to send someone up right away. When we explained that our son was already asleep and therefore we didn't want a repairman to come and wake him up, they promised he would be very quiet. I thought that was cute. We still didn't take them up on the offer that night, but he showed up the next morning anyway, which was kind of nice.

Overall, I really enjoyed staying here but would go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Liked — Gorgeous rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet was a zoo.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank petrovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2007

My husband and I stayed here March 26-28 for a business meeting he had in the Miramar area.

The room was very well appointed, comfortable, and the staff was wonderful. The parking however, sucks. $17 a day, though it includes in and out privileges. The garage is so narrow it only allows one car
on the path at any time, and if there are 2 SUV's parked at an angle against each other, you may well be unable to get past them. There were always plenty of spots available, but there is no handicap access to the top 2 floors.

The breakfast (complementary) area was extremely packed, but was really quality food, hot, cleaned often, and attended well. The morning staff truly excelled.

There were 3 busses of soccer and lacrosse high school students that arrived on Thursday night, making the pool, breakfast area, and lobby
pretty much unpleasant for anyone over 18, and the elevators were apparently, play things. Not a whole lot the hotel staff could have done other then the way it was handled (pulling kids off elevators, doing an excellent job with the breakfast even with the cramped conditions, etc.).

The lukewarm water was unpleasant on Friday, but Saturday it heated well, after a few moments.

University Towne Center (UTC) is right across the street, and was a wonderful day trip for me while my husband completed his meetings.

La Jolla Shores was a mere 10 minutes away, and the concierge was wonderful in getting directions and information about the goings on there.

Overall, an excellent stay that I would recommend to anyone, especially business travelers taking along a companion, as there's much to do, and it's easily connected to the San Diego Metro system through busses.

The lobby is really relaxing, and the setup was truly wonderful!

  • Liked — Complementary breakfast, lobby area
  • Disliked — The entire parking situation including no elevator
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suburban Area of Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2007

I initially had some concerns that the remodeling might still be underway during my stay, but upon arriving, I found everything to be very fresh and immaculate! The executive suite was newly remodeled, and I loved the layout, furniture, fixtures, and everything else. It truly is comfortable and relaxing! The flat screen TV in the living room was a nice surprise, and the bed was so comfortable that I actually felt I was asleep at home.

Since I always got downstairs on the early side (due to normally being 2 hours ahead by living in the central time zone), I really enjoyed the breakfast, and was able to find lots of fresh selections and plenty of tables available. It does crowd up considerably if you choose to go later, though!

The pool was very nice, but in all fairness, some of the parents really overindulged in letting their small children run wild! I can well understand the enthusiasm of being on vacation and having as much fun as possible, but I wouldn't want to think that anyone would get hurt as a result of kids running around on wet pavement or jumping into the pool almost on top of someone else (it almost happened to me!), etc. Perhaps the hotel should consider setting an hour or two aside for adults to swim, while children could do something elsefor fun.

  • Liked — Everything was very nice looking, clean, and comfortable
  • Disliked — When the central phone system went down on a Saturday and stayed down until Sunday!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2007

Stayed in a "business suite" here for a week that had a desk type piece of furniture but no chair and a TV on it so it was not usable as a desk. No wet bar and no table/chairs and their website advertises that every suite has this, High Speed Internet was only wireless and the only place I could get a usable signal was sitting on the floor near the door. Parking is $17/day and the garage has 1 driving lane for up and down traffic and it fills up quick so you may or may not park there even though you paid for it. Plus when you get to the top it is still 1 car wide so you have to back down 3 levels all while stopping the traffic coming up, telling them there is no parking and then telling them they have to back up as well. I will not be going back here.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank Neutron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2007

Good points:

- very clean and well furnished
- friendly staff
- nice beds

Problematic for Business Travelers

1) No speaker phone in room. Very annoying if
your business is global and requires extensive
late night conference calls. Inexcusable for
such an expensive Hilton property.

2) Mobbed Breakfast Area. This property clearly
markets aggressively to get huge families on
vacation from Latin America. Makes the breakfast
area hopelessly unusable. 30 minute waits for
everything. Even worse, there is no nearby substitute
restaurant (a solution I have used at other Embassy Suites)

3) No hot water circulation system. Not a business
travel problem, but inexcusable for such a premium
property. Have to wait 5-10 min for the hot water to warm
up all the pipes between the basement and the top
floor before you can take a shower. Premium properties
worldwide usually have a system that constantly
circulates hot water on each floor to avoid this lag.

4) Inept laundry service. Was 2 hours late. But they also
forgot to charge me for it.

5) Expensive and clumsy parking system. Garage is
reasonably nice, but they want $17/day for it and
they have to fumble around with your room number
every time you drive in and out. And they also have
trouble keeping track of your charges which requires
multiple visits to the front desk to correct their
cooridination problems.

6) Slow room cleaning. Rooms still not serviced at 4PM
on some days.

7) Sealed Windows. Again, not a business travel problem,
but I hate hotels that won't let you get fresh outside
air into the room... particularly frustrating when you
are near the ocean and can't enjoy the offshore ocean
breeze in your room.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DJH-in-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing