We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #17 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed here twice and received wonderful service. The Hotel is clean and the staff helpful. We have enjoyed staying here both times. It is minutes from downtown San Diego. Breakfast was delicious but a bit crowded. The coffee is awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've had good experiences with Hampton Inn in the past, and due to a last minute change in travel plans we needed a place to stay near San Diego for a couple nights. We were not disappointed!

THE GOOD:
Staff:
-Staff was friendly, quick to respond to questions and needs.

Room:
-The room was spacious and well decorated.
-Bed was comfortable
-Bathroom was well stocked and not bland and drab.
-Lots of space to store our luggage/clothes.
-Room was MOSTLY clean (Will detail otherwise later)

General:
-Pool was nice, but not heated
-20 minutes from most everything we were doing (SD Zoo, downtown, etc)


THE BAD:

Staff:
-Housekeeping needs to tighten the leash on some of their people. They apparently think they can do a lackadaisical job and get away with it.

The Room:
-The room had not been vacuumed after the last guest departed
-Dresser drawers had debris (crumbs, makeup pencils, etc) still in them from previous guest(s)
-Bathroom sink had what looked like a small pube hair in it
-One of the phones was sticky beyond belief

General:
-Internet was slow. Painfully slow. I'd almost equate it to dial up.
-While I enjoyed the bed, my wife thought it was a bit soft.

THE OTHER:
-While the room issues were listed under BAD, the hotel staff took note immediately and made sure everything was taken care of. They also comp'd the first night for the problems. Every other aspect of the hotel, cleaning wise, that I could see was excellent. Mine may have been an isolated incident.


I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I was in the SD area and needed a room

Room Tip: High floor, away from elevator, but that's pretty much true everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Clean hotel and one the best deals in San Diego with complimentary breakfast, parking and internet. 24 hour complimentary coffee is a plus if you love coffee. The hotel is not far from San Diego's main attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I recommend this hotel and agree with the good ratings it gets on Tripadvisor which is why we booked it in the first place. It was very quiet and great value. The lobby and breakfast area are kept very clean and are comfortable. There are free newspapers and a TV in the breakfast area. The breakfast included cereal, fruit, waffles, muffins, bagel, eggs, and bacon or sausage- a lot of selection. The rooms are nice and clean, a little dated in decoration but not old or run down. The beds are really, really comfortable. There is free Wi-Fi. The front desk and cleaning staff were excellent. Lots of parking and it is free and safe. We stayed for 4 nights and had no issues. The room had everything you would expect-hairdryer, iron, fridge, lots of towels. The commute into San Diego was easy and we got to all the tourist attractions quickly and with little traffic. Great place to stay with a family and kids or on business. My one complaint is they didn't have a hot tub/ whirlpool spa. The outdoor pool is nice but a hot tub would have been nice to warm up in. San Diego is a great city to visit. The people are very friendly and there is so much to see and do. This was our first visit and we had a great time and will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were close to everything in San Diego. Travel time was good to get to Balboa Park, USS Midway Museum and north to visit friends. Miramar runway is just to the north of the hotel and the marine fighters were practicing their touch and go landings in the evenings. It was kind of neat to see our flyboys in action. We were told they were getting ready to deploy so doing the extra practice. Only lasted a few hours and then quiet. Kind of neat to see them in action. Had a great time and the perfect venue for us. Staff was exceptional and always had a smile on their face. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a very typical Hampton, but with exceptional front desk staff. They were extremely helpful suggesting places to eat and shop during my 4 week stay. They worked out a better price for me on the room to help same my client money (which I always try to do). As usual, I never got to use the out door pool. But I did stick a finger in the water and it was, in fact, heated to a comfortable temperature. For Harley Davidson fans, there is dealership about 200 yards down the street. They don't rent, but they have another location about 10 minutes to the west that does.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool. Otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutritiondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had to spend the weekend in San Diego for a business conference. The hotel location was only 15 minutes from my conference location and 25 minutes from the airport, easily found from the freeway. The price and stay were excellent. This is my third stay at this hotel and I will definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kimberlee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £88 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing