We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #32 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just arrived back home after our second trip to the Hampton Inn-Kearny Mesa. Once again I have found this hotel to be clean, welcoming and deserving of its rating in San Diego. If fact, it should move up a few positions in listings of hotels in San Diego. Yes, the hotels by the ocean are beautiful, but this hotel is only 5 miles from the ocean and much easier on the pocketbook, especially for traveling families with children and/or seniors on a fixed income. Breakfast has a wonderful assortment of items to pick from and the staff always replentishing items as they run low. Thank you to all at Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzie0461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    230
    62
    12
    14
See reviews for
264
153
46
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Centro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The mattress would slip off the box spring so we had to straighten them a couple times in the night...do not know why this was happening. There was not a table in the room. So if you wanted to eat a meal you would have to use the desk. The in room coffee maker would leak and make a mess, we have used this type of coffee machine before at other locations without a problem. The air conditioner worked but it would have been nice to open the window even if only a little bit. The room and hotel were ok but not the best for the money. Sorry to be this harsh but it is the truth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont CO, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice accomadations ,, Centrally located and Interstate close , yet quiet .. Exercise room was fully equiped , Pool was warm and staff attended with fresh towels put out early each day . The breakfast buffet had a variety of selection with changes made each day ..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

As usual this place was impeccably clean and service was great. My only complaint is I was unable to sleep after the sun came up because there was no way to close the heavy drapes. With only a sheer to bloke light I was awake whether I wanted or not. It was a personal trip so I had planned to sleep later. Great place if you're an early riser.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathylawson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonsdkmgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you were not able to sleep very well in the morning. I wanted to take a moment to let you know that I did double check the rooms blackout curtains. There are 3 layers of drapery and they are the ones closest to the window. I am thinking they may have been tucked back a little more than usual for your stay and you did not see them. I have advised the Housekeeping department and asked that they pull them in a little bit to make them more noticeable in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope that if your travels bring you back to San Diego, that you will choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is clean. They have a breakfast in the mornings. They gym would be nicer if they had some free weights. The people were very friendly. The Hotel is very close to the Highway so it's a great place to stay if you are going to numerous areas around the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooddentista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband, three-year-old and I went to San Diego for the first time last week. We looked at places to stay until we were blue in the face. I was very worried about staying close to everything we needed and also someplace quiet and clean without paying upwards of $200 and up. Thanks to the reviews here, we decided to give the Hampton Inn a try. We rented a car and thankfully this hotel is located right off of the freeway. One exit and you're literally right there. That was helpful since I'm not always the best with directions! The staff was very nice and super friendly. We booked a double room and the room was nice and clean. The beds were super comfortable and the pillows were super fluffy! We had plenty of towels and anything else we needed, such as soap. There was not one time I needed to call for anything - they had it handled. We had a hot breakfast every morning. It varied from eggs and bacon, to omlets and sausages. Every morning there is hot oatmeal, pastries, fruits, cereals, a DIY waffle machine and hot coffee/juices. Everything was delicious. They have a heated pool and that was a nice surprise. My husband loved the gym! Nice equipment and it is kept very clean.

The only minor complaint I had was that one of our nights there, you could hear some plans fly by overhead. It was very loud. But it stopped after 10 PM and we didn't hear any planes fly by the rest of the week at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This Hamton Inn is a nice place to stay. They treat you very well and the help with all your questions. The beds are great to sleep on and the room was quiet. I stay here every time I work in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peter A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#11 of 279 in San Diego
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing