We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value for the money - Especially the Business Traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #32 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for the money - Especially the Business Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

One of the nicest Hampton Inns that I've stayed. I'm a Marriott Courtyard customer, but based on my stay at this Hampton, I may have to reconsider if they're all this nice!

Nice bathrooms with Marble, clean tub, spacious. Great bedding. At $130/night - this is a great value for the money. I don't normally rate "chain" hotels.

Coffee and morning breakfast??? Well let's just say that there are plenty of restaurants in the area too. :-)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeh_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    226
    62
    11
    14
See reviews for
258
150
45
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during new years. I chose this hotel based on the other TripAdvisor reviews, and I was happy that I did! The service was excellent with quick check-in and check out. I requested a "quiet room away from the elevator" because this is usually what I am left with when I ask for the AAA rate. This time they actually honored my request! The rooms were spotless and clean, and the lobby very homey with free coffee, tea, cocoa, water and lemonade available. The staff was always smiling and welcoming. There is also a nice tank in the lobby that makes it even more of a relaxing area.

Breakfast and wifi were free. I was on the top floor (Room 500) and unfortunately did not have a great wifi connection. I did, however, have a nice view of the pool. There were two computers in the lobby area that were free to use. There was a pool, meeting room, and work out room on the lobby level.

Breakfast consisted of cereal, donuts, toast/bagels, fresh melons and whole fruit, hardboiled eggs, do it yourself instant oatmeal, scrambled eggs and either sausage or biscuits and gravy. Beverages were 4 juices, tea, coffee, cocoa, milk. It was similar from day 1 to day 2, so perhaps they could have changed it up a little bit. There was no do-it-yourself waffle iron, but perhaps there wasn't much counter space for it. The breakfast area is pretty small, but they are nice enough to offer you trays so you can bring the food up to your room or take it on the road if you have a busy day planned. Let me say, it was more than enough to keep me happy. The staff was really good about keeping an eye on it and always refreshed it. I have been ot other places where they purposely delay refilling food to save money. That was NOT the case here, they monitored it and kept the food coming!

The hotel is close to the 163 freeway which is a quick shot to downtown. I liked it better than staying in the hotel circle area. There is a lot of Chinese food down the way on Convoy and a 99 ranch, Food4Less and WalMart if you need to purchase anything.

The room itself had a nice fluffy bed. It was if you were sleeping on a giant pillow. There was also a small couch, a desk, a large LCD TV and a small fridge in the closet. I did not see a safe (if that is important to you) but did read that the front desk had one. There was also a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. The room heater was a little bit on the loud side, but I am a light sleeper. Everything inside the rooms and hallways was clean and new. Another slight complaint is that the elevator was a bit slow.

All in all, my complaints were minor and I had a good time at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I were to be in the San Diego area. By the way, the neighborhood is not that bad (crime wise)...it has a lot of small businesses and is right by a freeway, so it certainly does not have a "neighborhood" feel to it, but it is not unsafe or scary. I would recommend those who are visiting San Diego to stay at this hotel as it is very centralized to shopping as well as the attractions and was reasonably priced!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

This is by far the best Hampton Inn that we've stayed at. The quality of this hotel is superior, from the lobby on up to the rooms themselves. It was so nice that we extended our stay an extra night - the beds are fantastic, nice breakfast assortment, lots of parking and it's only a few minutes to everything around San Diego. There are a few restaurants down the road from Panda Express to Subway. Check in and out was easy, quick and professional - hotel was extremely clean. Only minor flaw was that there is some sort of convention center behind the hotel and they were having a loud concert of some sort for a while - other than that it's an absolutely fantastic place!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rara111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

I would normally consider a Hampton Inn a 2 star type of hotel, but this hotel was far better then I expected.

The rooms were all recently redone, and the beds were very comfortable. The huge flat screen tv and granite bathroom counters were a nice touch. The room also came with a refridgerator (it took me a bit to find it as it was in the closet). The morning breakast was hearty and the gym equipment was all brand new.

The only con was that the walls were pretty thin and the maids were a little pushy.

Great for business!!!! If your looking to just visit San Diego, Id reccomend staying a bit closer in. Its not far, but its at least a 10-15 min ride on the highway from downtown SD and at least the same to the closest beach.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jaid96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

I was a bit worried about this hotel considering there weren't many reviews and the ones we found seemed to be only so so but we were pleasantly surprised. The location is not bad (we did see 2 "gentlemen's clubs") but it's not a seedy neighborhood. There are lots of fast food restraunts and other restraunts in the area to choose from. The hotel is clean, our room was very clean, the staff wonderful and the beds super comfy.

The pool is a bit small and on a Sunday morning the woman handling the breakfast wasn't able to keep up with the demand and there were some grumpy people waiting around to eat.

Coming from a family who spends a lot of weekends in SD this is wonderful option to get away from the dreaded Hotel Circle!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

I know this is an older hotel, but they have done a wonderful renovation job. The beds are soooooooooo comfortable, the bathrooms are new(ish), they have new HD TV's and our closet had a small refrigerator. The staff was very nice. The fitness center seemed nice and they offer coffee, tea, lemonade and hot chocolate 24/7 in a very nice lobby area. This is not the place for you if: you need closet space for clothes, a relaxing spa at the end of the day, a good breakfast ,mind sitting at a desk with the air conditioner blowing on you or a comfortable bath tub. Breakfast eggs were disgusting, but there are a variety of pastries and fruit, and it is crowded at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfordfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

We were staying at a Hampton Inn further North of SD over the New Years holiday and decided on the spur of the moment to drive closer in to the city to be near some planned activities. HHonors was closed on the holiday, but the staff at the Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa helped us resolve a problem with Hilton points so that we could have a reward stay. I have stayed at dozens of Hampton Inns around the country and this one has some of the nicest accommodations, as well as a very helpful staff. I would definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Liked — comfortable room, huge plasma TV !
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Austin2Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#11 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing