We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Ranked #33 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed the location, the breakfast, the pool, and the comfortable rooms. We would stay here again. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and appropriately furnished.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBNipomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    242
    66
    12
    14
See reviews for
278
159
50
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel is very clean. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate, and there was daily variety. The front desk staff was always welcoming, helpful, polite, and ready to serve. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Just returned from this hotel for family visit. Very good rate for San Diego, not too far from attractions, My only complaint is there are no blackout drapes on the window. The parking lot lights kept the room too light at night Bed very comfy nice flat screen TV. Had breakfast at Original Pancake House excellent is a few miles from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denacat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonsdkmgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback on our property. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the lights in the parking lot and were unable to find the blackout curtains. I wanted to take a moment to clear up any confusion regarding them. They are available in each room, and are the third layer of window covering right after the sheers, they sometimes get tucked pretty close to the wall and are not very obvious. If you have any questions regarding them while you are a guest here, there is someone always available at the front desk to assist. Once again thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I came to San Diego to bring my boyfriend to the Zoo - we go to the zoos around us all the time and I decided this would be a nice treat. The front desk man was very nice and efficient, and gave me my keys and told me where my room was located.

The room was much more than I expected it to be. Comfortable and HUGE bed, clean sheets, a sofa, a huge TV, and a giant bathroom were waiting in my room. There were plenty of towels, a bit of a small closet, but overall a great, spacious, clean room. No funky smells or anything of that sort, and no sounds from any rooms around us (which I know were occupied).

In the morning there was a breakfast buffet, which wasn't really impressive, but it was a "free" breakfast and it was all you can eat. Check out was easy and convenient. Overall, no one poked and prodded me too much, they weren't overwhelming and they accommodated me as I needed. I definitely like this hotel because of the location, the rooms, and because everything went very smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melisandre04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed here from 5/4-5/6. This was wonderful place to stay. I have never stayed at a Hampton Inn before and never intended on staying at one. After reading the reviews I figured I would give it a try. I was glad I did. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly at check-in. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. It had a big flat screen television. I was impressed with the free morning breakfast that was served each day. It included cereals, pastries, fruit, juices and there was also egg and sausage. This hotel is not close to any major attractions but is close to the freeway. I usually stay at Courtyards so this was a pleasant surprise. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talimoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My husband, five year old, and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights based on the positive reviews. We were not at all disappointed. My kid didn't even want to leave. He loved the hotel and wanted to stay in our room most of the time. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, the room furniture was modern and clean, and the decor was very tasteful. And I must emphasize, EVERYTHING including the bathroom, was immaculate. I am very picky when it comes to hotel cleanliness and this place was spotless, from the lobby to the hallways to the room itself. The breakfast was tasty, with a nice selection of items to choose from (hot and cold) and there was fresh coffee available all day. We plan to go back to San Diego (we live in LA) just so we can stay at this hotel again :)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123puff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Fantastic hotel for business travellers. Love the free wireless and breakfast. Gym area is sleek and well-located.
Beware, if you're in rooms 108 or 208, you're windows face the pool so that could get noisy during busy summer months.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wwwstudyofmakeupcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing