We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a real Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #158 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I believe this hotel was the old Red Lion. The hotel was older but nice. It's not up to the Crowne Plaza standards though. The hotel staff was nice. The only issue we had was in the Islands Restaurant. My sister ordered the tasteless, warmed up breakfast buffet (that was prepared three hours before) and was $15. She said it was one star out of five. She has had better free continental breakfasts in other hotels. I ordered from the menu, but had to ask for our waiter twice and he still never showed up! The nice hostess (Michelle) ended taking my order and serving me. I also had to repeatedly request (decaf) coffee refills and the waiter still never showed up. The hostess again had to step in to serve me. Not sure what is going on in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicksmom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear nicksmom99,

We are sorry to read the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, however we appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to improve the guest experience. The issues you mentioned have been discussed with the Director of Food and Beverage and restaurant staff.

We really hope we will have another occasion to welcome you.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

A very nice place to stay. Centrally located with good restaurants near by and in house. Located near the Marine Recruit Depot, Midway aircraft carrier, and many other attractions. Two mall are located nearby along with Old Town with is always a great place to eat and shop.

Room Tip: if you are early to bed ask for a room away from the swimming pool as quest can be a little noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear curtis w,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about our property and for mentioning how centrally located our hotel is to all attractions and beaches San Diego has to offer. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego!!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Cynthia was very personal and very professional in her job. She was very outgoing and helpful with local cusine. She was also helpful with local attractions and hotel requirements. She and the breakfast hostess make this stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: the wifi and internet service was lousy. it worked at about thirty percent of the time. the wifi dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loser900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear loser900,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay!

We are thrilled to see you had great experiences in our club lounge. Also glad to read you recognized our go green efforts. We will inform our club lounge staff of your nice comments with a special thanks to Cynthia!!

In regards to internet you comment have been addressed to improve WiFi in the guest rooms.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose this hotel because it had a restaurant on site. It is old but the rooms are nicely done. The grounds are tropical and beautiful. The problem was the heat did not work after 10PM and did not restart until around 8AM. It was Feb. and very cool at night. The room was in a shady spot so it was damp. The restaurant had a very limited menu and was not to our taste. The staff were amazing, both the waiters went totally out of their way to please. Kudos to those two young men. To be fair the other restaurant was under reno so not usable. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on the sunny side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear dustyview,

We appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. It was delightful to read about your nice comments about our staff and our tropical oasis. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with heat not working in your room. We have checked our records in February and did not find any issues with our boiler that would cause any heat shutting off, rest assured we will continue to inspect these type of issues.

We would like to invite you back as will begin redecorating our hotel with a new updated look in our guest rooms by the end of the year. We will be completing the redecorating in our lobby, lounge and restaurant by this Summer. With the new modern look and the repeated excellent customer service our staff provides to our guests it will no longer be an “old hotel.” Please do not hesitate to call of with any special requests.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Hanalei Hotel in San Diego is a great experience! Brittany was professional and friendly making me feel like a guest at home. The entire staff was pleasant and appreciative. The bed was new and comfortable. The pool and hot tub were very clean and fun. The location is in the heart of San Diego and has easy access coming and going. Great property!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Lyle S,

We are grateful for your wonderfully positive feedback.

As you discovered, we are blessed to have a warm and caring staff that love coming to work every day. I have personally shared your review with all the staff and Brittany!

It has been our privilege to serve you and hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I went to the Crowne San Digo as my nephew was graduating USMC boot camp. The staff was wonderful, pleasant in every way. Answered every question. Treated me like a King. Room service was reat, fast, efficient and the food was wonderful.

Room Tip: Location- great, Price - great, staff great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Congratulations doctuk on your nephew’s graduation!!! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We were delighted to read the kind words of our staff! It’s exactly the guest experience we strive to provide to every guest. We look forward to your next visit!

Sunny regards,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here recently while touring SDSU and UCSD. I was disappointed in our stay as several things in our room were either broken or unacceptable. Two lights had burned out bulbs, the coffee maker did not work, and the shampoo & conditioner bottles were empty (used by the previous guest?). The rate was decent but that is only because they charge for parking and the breakfast is over priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth H,

Thank you for staying with us and we hope the college tour visits have been a great experience for your daughter and family. Please except my sincere apologizes for any lack of issues in the room. We appreciate you for informing us of the issues you encountered. Rest assured, I have addressed your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and our Maintenance Manager to follow up on so future guests may not have the same experience.

We do appreciate you letting us know and we hope you give us another chance on your next visit to San Diego. If you have any special requests or come across any issues during your stay please let any of the staff know so that we may correct them immediately. Should you need any assistance feel free to contact me directly at 619-297-1101 ext 3109.

Again, my apologizes!!

Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#133 of 278 in San Diego
1,240 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £72 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing