We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,048)
Filter reviews
1,048 results
Traveller rating
286
352
202
123
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
352
202
123
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki oasishotel circleold townhawaiian thememission valleytropical feelbit datedfashion valley mallsea worldshuttle servicefree shuttlehotel restaurantnice poolcomic confitness centerbalboa parkla jolla
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 1,048 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I don't know what some of the other reviewers are complaining about...this hotel, although older, is super nice. I guess if you prefer the standard cookie cutter, boring lodging accommodations, you probably won't like this property. This Crowne Plaza is in a great location...very centralized to most SD attractions. The rooms, while not ultra modern, are perfectly nice rooms. Rooms are clean. The interior atrium and courtyard with pool are gorgeous, and extremely relaxing. Hotel restaurant and cafe have pretty good food, albeit a little on the expensive side. Contrary to some other reviews, parking was free. Staff were very nice and helpful. Had a little trouble making the key card work upon first entering my room...front desk was called, and maintenance was sent up right away. Most impressive was after my stay...inadvertently left some of my nice jewelry in the safe upon check out. This was discovered by me a day later...called the hotel, and with some checking around was told that my jewelry had been located and would be mailed back to me. 2 days later, arrived safe and sound. That kind of honesty is nearly unheard of nowadays, and really left a great impression. I would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The North side of the property(away from freeway) is quietest. Get an atrium room if you want peace and quiet, a courtyard room if you want to be close to the pool/spa. Upper floors are best if you don't want to be bothered by noise from neighboring units.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Eryn P,

Thank you for writing such a great review on your recent stay!! We appreciate all of your kind words about our hotel and recognizing our honest staff making sure you got your jewelry back to you safe and sound!

We are honored that you will be returning to stay with us. We look forward to your return and please don't hesitate to let us know of any special requests you may have. .

Warmest Regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The thing I was most impressed with was the staff, friendly,helpful and always with a smile. The hotel is very clean and the grounds are well manicured. The shuttle to Old Town and the Mall was a real plus as we didn't have a car. I would recommend this hotel and would love to visit it again.
P.S...the pillows are wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Anne W,

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our great staff! Your kind words have been shared with them and were excited to hear you had a great stay!

​We look forward seeing you again!

Warmest Regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When I just arrived, I thought this is just a normal motel. The rooms and building all look dated. But they have a very nice Hawaiian style garden. The room has a decent size and quiet in the night even it is just next to highway. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is free for us and is not bad. They offer shuttle to Old town and seaworld, but not to airport. Overall, this is a good place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear bobster30,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we know your time is valuable!
It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience some the services and amenities we offer.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The entrance into the property can be a little slow if the parking gates are down. Cars back up on the two lane Hotel Circle. This is suppose to be the higher end of the Holiday Inn chain. The rooms are large and there is a flat screen tv even in the cheaper rooms. Rooms have balconies that overlook a nicely kept garden with water running over rocks. There are places there to sit and just take it in. There are two eating places plus a small mini-mart with small items and gourmet coffee. The hotel practices green policies that award a $5 credit for each night (except for check out) that you pass on housekeeping. The credit is easily usable at the mini-mart as well at a family style restaurant with reasonably priced items. The check in process was quick, and each staff encounter was professional and friendly .

As I said this is the higher end of Holiday Inn so you don't get free breakfast, free internet, free business center services and you may or may not get free parking - check before you go. Location on Hotel Circle always provides fair access to the freeway. One difference from other properties is the pool and jacuzzi are not located together, a minus if you have a family and want to rest in the jacuzzi while the kids swim.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are pricier and require key card access.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear TomJ56,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful gardens and our go green incentives, as many of our repeated guests enjoy the Hawaiian ambiance. Thank you for recognizing the staff for being professional and friendly, the staff strives to provide exceptional service at all times.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you on your next visit in San Diego!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed here on business trips several times now and I think it is time to look for another place. The quality of service here had deteriorated since my first stay about 2 yrs ago. The front desk lacks the motivation to welcome IHG members or guests. Either you're a non-member or Platinum elite, you can be rest-assured to wait awhile for a cold welcome service. The club lounge welcoming feeling does not differ much from the front desk either. I absolutely didn't expect a red carpet welcome but a little pleasantry can go a long way. Gone are the days of courtesy knock on the door for linen change and has been replaced by 'open-this-goddamn-door' knocks to kick you out of your room -- housekeeping did not get informed that the Platinum member had requested for a late checkout time. These incidents can help eliminate the awkward feeling and embarassment between housekeeping staff and guests that makes one's stay at this hotel not worth the return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeeWeeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear GeeWeeez,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay. We would like to give a sincere apology to you for any inconveniences and the poor service you experienced. It's not the typical service our guest usually experience at our property as the staff has an excellent track record on customer service.
Once again, we appreciate your review, the staff is well aware and will continue to strive for every guest to experience the same service. We can only hope you give us another chance. If you have any special requests please don't hesitate to ask.

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews