We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but needs a face lift” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #165 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK but needs a face lift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a 3 day stay in San Diego at this large Hawaiian themed property last week and it was pleasant enough. Our pet friendly room was located at the back of the property and was pretty dark and looked out to the parking lot. This place does need a serious facelift though. The room furnishings were right out of the sixties and well worn . The room and bath were very clean. The worst part for me was the uncomfortable sheets. They felt like they had been starched and were rather scratchy and cold feeling. We tried the Islands restaurant for breakfast and it was quite good. So was the excellent sushi bar known to be one of the best in San Diego. the lounge which is adjacent and part of the sushi bar was lively and the bartenders very friendly. The court yard pool area makes you feel like you are in Hawaii for sure.
Parking in the vast lot was difficult on a Saturday night because of a wedding in one of the banquet rooms. OK in a pinch or if you like scratchy sheets.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms can be very noisy until 10 PM. Rooms near the back are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you recognizing the cleanliness in the rooms, delicious breakfast and award winning sushi bar, our friendly staff and our tropical landscaping!

In regards to the bed sheets, we apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. The Director of Housekeeping has been informed of your comments as it will be looked into.

It is exciting to inform you, starting October the guest rooms will begin to receive a facelift with new furnishings and amenities! We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    311
    177
    103
    76
See reviews for
230
184
43
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Really nice hotel, room was a bit dated but clean. The residents seem to be mostly older couples which brings a very friendly relaxed environment. We got free parking and free wi-fi on our stay, though I'm not sure these are always free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roryhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Roryhy,

We appreciate taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! Thank you for rating our hotel 4 stars “really nice hotel.” In October we will start updating our guest rooms, updating the furniture and amenities to improve the guest experience. We hope to see soon!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a little gem this hotel is!! We took our adult children & granddaughter to the San Diego Zoo and wanted to "make a weekend of it" so decided to stay in San Diego overnight. We used to stay in Old Town, however the hotel we frequented is now another brand & double the price. I chose the Crowne Plaza for proximity to the zoo & Old Town and am very glad that I did! The Hawaiian theme in the lobby carries through out to the pool area; very lush foliage, a large pool & good sized hot tub were a nice surprise. We happened to catch two weddings between the time we arrived until we went to dinner. We were told that the hotel was at capacity & even though the courtyard/pool area were "busy" when we headed back to our room after dinner, it didn't look or seem crowded.

Our rooms were nice, the beds firm & the pillows comfortable. The shower head was great, who doesn't like a rain forest shower?! The Wi-Fi was a bit slow, but it was free so I'm not complaining!

Our son & son-in-law utilitzed the gym, not too big yet it had everything they both needed to squeeze in a workout.

My husband, son & I had appetizers and drinks in the bar before dinner. The chicken egg rolls & hot wings very great and the beers ice cold! With everything we ordered, I'd say each item was about $9 on average. A bit pricey for some, but hey..........we were on "vacation" and didn't mind spending more for the atmosphere.

We had dinner at the Islands Restaurant & my son-in-law was able to order off the Sushi Bar menu. All of our meals were plentiful in size and the wait staff was extremely courteous & attentive.

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and highly recommend it for EVERYONE, not just families!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heartkrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Heartkrazy,

Thank you for sharing all of your family’s experience on TripAdvisor! It was enjoyable to read that your family had a great time and experienced most of the amenities we have to offer to our guests.

We look forward to your next visit and we appreciate your highly recommendation to all of your readers!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Crowne Plaza is located in Mission Valley, outside of San Diego city centre, and close to other hotels, so getting around San Diego can be problematic if don't have a car. yet the hotel offers a free shuttle service, which connects with major interchanges.
The hotel is "Hawaiian-themed" which is a bit weird, but one can get used to it. It has a very nice swimming pool, and the inner courtyards are leafy and shady, thanks to sole rather old trees, which disguise the rather bland architecture of the complex.
The rooms are big and well appointed. The hotel is not particularly new or luxurious, but I stayed there for 6 nights for a conference and I found it very comfortable.
The hotel offers a bar and a restaurant. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but the sushi offered at the bar was rather good.
The only bad thing I can mention was the automated message from their Massage Center which, for some strange reason, I received always at 4:30 am, waking me up in the middle of the night. I asked to remove this message, but the hotel staff were unable to find the technical glitch in the telephone system. Unfortunately this affected my quality of sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard as they are quite and the noise from the highway will not affect...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a 5 USD voucher for customers opting not to have their room done. I am wondering if this might not be a scheme to reduce personnel. It would be better to give guests the option to keep linens and towels, while having a quick vacuuming and trash can emptying.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idsiatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear idsiatrip,

Thank you for your review and the 4 star rating. It was great to read that you enjoyed your 6 night stay at our hotel and being very comfortable while attending your conference.

We apologize for any lack of sleep you had due to the automated message from the Massage Center. This was the first time something like that had happened, after many tests with the Massage Center phone system we were able to fix the issue.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the “Go Green” program, your comments have been passed to the Director of Housekeeping. Rest Assured, it has nothing to do with reducing personnel. There might be confusion on the difference with Do Not Disturb sign and the Go Green door sign. If any of our guests would like their room serviced please don’t hesitate to call housekeeping, we will be happy to service your room or any special requests.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel MIranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Strange, strange property.

I literally logged onto the IHG website to make sure that I was at the right place. Ish.

This property is so dated, and so out of touch with rates and amenities, I am really surprised its even a Crowne Plaza.

Location is great, but at Hotel Circle, you have your choice of every brand and name of hotel. I made reservations here because of the reputation of IHG, Crowne Plaza and my experience with hotels in the IHG portfolio. This place is a mistake!

We arrived and had one room for three nights, and another for our parents for two nights. We reserved online.

No matter! Adam at the front desk changed our preferences for two Queen beds for an adult & two kids to an 'upgraded' room with a King bed. I protested and he told me they were sold out. Is that my problem? Amazingly (sarcasm) he was able to find an ADA room.

We get to the room after a several minute explanation of how to get there to find a security lock that doesn't work, stained ceilings, stained and soiled carpets and decor and furnishings from the late 80s. The wallpaper in the bathroom had rust on it. I forbid my kids from taking off their shoes. Gross.

My parents room was a bit cleaner, but smelled of disinfectant. And by smell, I mean so overwhelming, we left the doors open to ventilate it.

We decided to stay one night, and I went to the front desk to see if there was by chance another room, or another hotel that they could recommend. Nope!

We ate dinner at a painfully average coffee shop in the hotel. I was surprised that we were smacked with an added on 18% gratuity for the service. I have not seen that before for a party of 6. No matter.

Next morning, we broke out and literally booked with a competitor across the highway.

Sad,sad property. Bizarre experience.

Room Tip: Choose a good room? Here's my tip: book ANYPLACE else in Mission Valley.
See more room tips
Green Features: So grossed out by the accomodation, I didn't pay attention.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear DWX5;

Thank you for alerting us of the issues you had at the hotel. Please except our sincere apologizes for any lack of service issues and not able to accommodate your room request. Rest assured, your comments have been addressed with our Director if Housekeeping and Front Office Manager to follow up on.

We appreciate you letting us know and we hope the places you visited in San Diego were pleasurable.

Again, our apologizes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for a week attending a conference and follow-up work. Rooms were clean and comfortable and included a min i fridge and a microwave. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. They do an excellent transport service to many attractions like the Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, The Old Town San Diego, and the Fashion Valley, etc. There are two food options at the hotel but one would benefit from just taking a lift to the Old Town where many choices are available. Breakfast buffet is less than OK and meals not the best I have tried. Sushi Bar has a good reputation but was only better than the restaurant.

The lunches and the welcome reception provided by the hotel was very good. May be they have two chefs, one good mainly for functions and one not at all good for the restaurant! Overall, not a bad stay for the price we paid. Certainly stay again if I need to visit San Diego but will avoid meals.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are good value and spacious with free WiFi.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel has a nice towel re use programme. You can opt away daily linen service and they will give you a $5.00 food voucher.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanberraTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear CanberraTom,

Thank you for your four star review! We hope you had a great conference while staying at our hotel. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay overall that you will be coming back to stay with us again! We apologize for not having a great experience at our restaurant, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve, your comments have addressed with the Director of Food and Beverage.

We look forward to you return!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The place is dated but not too bad. The bar area was too cold to sit for long and what is the point in HD TV when each TV has poor signal reception which makes them only just bearable to watch. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly, food was ok. For three English lads on holiday it was fine but that's all

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Scott T,

Thank you for staying at our hotel while visiting our great city! We appreciate your acknowledgment of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel rooms. In regards to the lounge TV's we apologize for the inconvenience as we are in transition of adding High Definition to our new remodeled lounge.

Sunny Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#97 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing