We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #168 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
victorville ca
Level Contributor
187 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with excellent service!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was my first experience with the Crowne Plaza Hotel and truly enjoyed my stay. The Crowne is located in the Mission Valley (Hotel Circle) area with great shopping and dining nearby. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from Old Town- you don't even need to get on the freeway!

Check-in was great. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The lobby is very pretty with a small waterfall right outside. This hotel participates in Green Engage and offers a $5 food/dining credit if you opt out of housekeeping.

Rooms are a little dated with old pictures that did not match the tropical theme of the rest of the hotel. Unfortunately, they were not extremely clean. When we got to our room, my daughter noticed a blue Advil PM pill on the nightstand (not ours!). Also, there is quite a bit of dirt/grime on the sliding glass door track/ Thankfully, our bed linens were fresh and clean. We were in room 1638 that has a great view of the pool and a lovely balcony. I loved the fact that there was a small refrigerator and microwave. One really nice touch was the Sleep Tight kit that was provided. The Temple Spa aromatherapy kit included an overnight face mask, body spray, and leg gel to help you relax and prepare for a restful sleep. Loved it!!!! Taking everything into account, the room was comfortable.

Restrooms are also a bit dated.The showers are old and worn looking, however, the shower head was great and had excellent water pressure. The towels were fluffy and large enough. I liked the Temple Spa shampoo and conditioner. Bring your own blow dryer, as the ones provided have no power!

The grounds are beautiful. There are lovely waterfalls, a great pool, glass elevators, lots of greenery, etc. It is nice to have a tropical theme throughout the hotel. Very relaxing.

Overall, I would stay at the this hotel again. We were very comfortable here and it is in the perfect location!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannenavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear shannenavila,

Thank you for your review. We are excited to inform you of our guest room upgrades to begin in October!

We appreciate your kind words about our excellent service, and look forward seeing you again​

Best wishes,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    320
    181
    106
    79
See reviews for
237
186
44
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would not stay at this hotel if i visit San Diego again, the only person that was friendly or seem friendly was the person at check in.

However over time it seemed apparent Crown plaza was not cooked up as said to be,
First of all at night time the first night i got there the walls are Paper Thin, meaning the people above me in their room was having a Party ( I stayed there for Comic Con), I had been out ALL NIGHT in preview night watching that and walking around and was completely exhausted and got very poor sleep the nights i was there. I could also hear knocking noises on doors and closing of doors, talking, ect.

This place needs many Renovations! My own door to bathroom was rotting away! Nasty!

Also Breakfast Buffet was not a good experience either; the first three days i was there i decided to use the coupons just to try the buffet, however it became apparent also the food was not good. The Foods were cold including the Eggs, and also the Potatoes were not well cooked and did not very tasty.
The staff was too busy to be asked to bring out Fresh Buffets to ask and also i had to ask for coffee Twice once on one occasion. I should not have to ask for coffee twice if i want coffee.
Also Also The person at the desk when trying to make a late Check out was not flexible at all in terms of that, she said latest was 1 PM that was fine i said and she made hassle of it I then call the person to pick me up in the morning and then cancel my late check in because i wanted to leave.
Also Staff did not know how on directions on downtown, in my opinion if you work for Travel place or hotel you should at LEAST know Basic Things so people like me NOT from the area can find around. I had to get completely lost one occasion downtown and asked the locals of San Diego to find my place.
I had a bad experience with this hotel, the only reason i give them two star instead of 1 is because the beds are comfortable and that is it, also i suppose maid did clean room but that was it and also I was not aware you had request a refrigerator room and also one on occasion i overheard conversation maintenance had to fix someone's broken refridgerator. Glad i did not ask!
Will not stay here again! Next time if i do Comic Con i will try to stay closer to Gaslight District (assuming those rooms are not booked up) or closer to the Trolley like one set of people that was there third time to comic con.
Would not recommend this hotel unless you do not mind putting up with all these things.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitcherator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear mitcherator,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, we appreciate for informing us of these issues. We rely on our guests to inform us on how we are doing so that we can make the necessary changes to enhance the guest experience, we will be renovating our guest rooms in October. In regards to breakfast, the Director of Food and Beverage has been informed.

We hope you give us another chance in the future. I hope you enjoyed your time at Comic- Con​.

Sunny Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We made the mistake for staying at an Oceanside marina hotel the first night of our girls vacation and so was disapointed that we almost just went home. Myself being a loyal Crowne member called at dawn and had a room for us in 10 minutes! I frequent the Crowne in Redondo Beach and am very pleased every time. The Crowne is San Deigo was professional, helpful, and rolled out the red carpet for us. My friends and I have agreed to NEVER stay anywhere but the Crowne when we plan now, I always know what I'm getting and I get the very best at the Crowne EVERY TIME.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review cynthia n. We appreciate your loyalty to Crowne Plaza. It's our pleasure to continue to roll out the red carpet for you every time you stay with us in San Diego!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very welcoming staff on arrival. Good size rooms and free wifi but alas no fridge in room. Very tropical feel with good eating facilities in the hotel and laundry available. Good beds and most rooms have balconies which overlooked the pool. Plenty of parking although you have to pay. Good location and courtesy bus made trip to Old Town San Diego and other nearby attractions easy. Very good service from staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANDY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
​Dear Landy31,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that you had a welcoming and relaxing stay with us. Thank you for your recognizing our staff we appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights over a busy long holiday weekend. Bonus that every room has a balcony to enjoy fresh air. Pool and hot tub stays open into the late night so that was a plus. Room decors are a bit outdated but clean. Comforter was made out of some sort of plastic material and heavy, so that was the biggest downfall. Location is great but they charge a parking fee of $12 per day with in/out privileges. Ate a late dinner in the bar area one night and food was ok and not too expensive but staff was friendly and attentive. No fridge in rooms so bring a cooler. Overall good value for the location and pets are welcomed for a fee. My room was over the hot tub area so it can be loud at night but we just shut the balcony doors. Hotel is a Polynesian theme so lots of plants and tiki feel. Easy access to freeway and shopping mall close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sProWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for you review 10sProWife. We appreciate you kind words about our staff! In response to your concern, the Director of Housekeeping has been informed about your comforter that was placed in your room and future guests should not encounter the same problem. We appreciate you letting us know and look forward to your return.

Sunny Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for about 30 years and are always pleased with how it is upgraded periodically to be on par with any hotel in the vicinity. The room this time near the pool was a delight, and the breakfast package was a good option. The dining room is lovely and service is very gracious. I love the tropical gardens and waterfall and my grandson enjoyed the glass elevator. We will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Darla525,

Thank you for your amazing review! It's always a pleasure to read a review from one of our repeated guests. We pride ourselves on excellent service, and we are delighted that you continue to experience it for 30 years now.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Sounds like they are moving furniture above our heads, day and night. A/C is an enigma (good luck figuring it out). Noise, slamming doors, Yuch. Maid service was very good. Repairs and maintenance crew was good. Would we come back? Probably not.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Mason W,

Thank you for your review and for mentioning the issues you encountered. We are sorry for the A/C and noise issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured, the Director of Maintenance has been informed about the A/C and to make sure the balcony chairs have the proper padding so it doesn't make so much noise when guests are out on the balcony.

We hope you give us another chance in the future. If you have any special requests before or during your stay please don't hesitate to ask any of our staff!

Sunny Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#98 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing