We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for a soccer tournament.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #134 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel was nice and easy to find. Rooms were very clean (good job housekeeping). I liked the fact that they had extra towels, pillows and blankets. The room and bathroom were small, but my family of five had no complaints. Staff was very nice and welcoming. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Menu was small, but the food was very satisfying (again, no complaints there). The only complaint I do have is that I found the previous guest's Kraft cheese slices and Cesar salad dressing in the mini-fridge. It bothered me that they had not thrown it away. My youngest child would've eaten the cheese had I not told her to leave it alone. I'm not one to trust eating something that had been left behind. Overall, our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 704nikkic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Handlery as a couple just wanting to enjoy a vacation in San Diego. We had ideas of what we wanted to see while we were in town but the hotel made our trip so much more. They had wonderful suggestions that mad our trip all the better. Our room was clean, comfortable bed, enjoyed having a fridge. To pool area is large and beautiful. The food is excellent and reasonably priced, we ate a number of meals right at the hotel and they were happy to recommend where to try other food as well. The part that really made our trip was Jeff and the shuttle service. He is willing to bend over backwards to make sure you know the secrets about making the attractions as easy as possible for you to navigate. The hotel staff is very friendly!!

Room Tip: Our 1 king bed room was perfect for the two of us for seven nights. Comfortable bed, bedding, pillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Good service, good cleanliness, and excellent (but paid) breakfast. The location (Hotel Circle) is not pedestrian-friendly, which is compensated by a complimentary shuttle and a car rental agency conveniently located at the lobby. Front rooms get some noise from the freeway, even with the balcony door closed. There is also a small restaurant with good food by the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lzbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here for a family holiday and although we could not fault the hotel, it does feel targeted at business people.

We eat in the restaurant for both breakfast and some evening meals and the food was excellent.

Service in both the restaurant and rest of hotel was slow but always polite and helpful.

Was informed that the pool was heated but when we used it, it certainly felt cold!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooner_and_Fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days..a little out of the way but their shuttle can take you to old town etc plus the bus stops in front of the property. We had the Sunday prime rib meal ( salad ,bread, prime rib and a glass of wine) for $20 each. it was a very nice meal. Staff was very attentive!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennywn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was there for a conference, and the management was very good to us: good room rate, good facilities (lots of room in our poster/exhibit room!). The food was very good, for all meals. .. I heard many positive comments. In addition, the staff was very friendly and accommodating.They made us feel welcome. Location is great.Everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable. .I slept well both nights. Everything functioned in my room, including the internet.

The downside: yes, the sleeping rooms look like they might need some updating. The bathroom was annoyingly small (no counter space. .. but that would be hard to remedy). The most difficult part was, because we were attending a conference, we had a fair amount of luggage/items to carry in. . there are no elevators, and no help. We struggled getting our items up and down the stairs!

Room Tip: I would try to get one in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It is obvious the rooms have not been updated in years and that routine checks are not made to make sure things are functional and in good repair. The room was old, there was nothing high speed about that internet connection (the slowest I have come across in any hotel), the tub faucet was not firmly in wall; the hair dryer was old, broken, and did not have a barrier in front of hot grills (safety hazard); there was insufficient light to see/use the coffee pot with drapes closed; and nowhere to hang hand towel or toiletry bag in bathroom. The bed and pillows were not comfortable and there was only one type of pillow. No one responded when I tried to schedule a wake-up call or when I called the front desk - let both ring over 25 times. To a person, the employees were wonderful, and the room was neat and clean. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suerober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,317 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#161 of 278 in San Diego
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Address: 950 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £73 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing