We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place located close to everything in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #132 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked this hotel with Hotel Tonight (app for hotels that have free rooms per day) and was pleased with the service and room. Unfortunately, we could only book a King and we have our teenage daughter and son with us but we were able to get a rollaway for her and he slept on the floor. Luckily there were plenty of linens to accomodate us. The pool area is actually quite large and goes to 10 feet and there is a large spa located nearby. The only con I could see was that the lounge/bar area had weird hours so my husband had to go inside to the restaurant/bar to get our poolside drinks. We also booked at the same time as a large football team but the noise was kept to a minimum. There is a very large mall nearby with anything you could want which is good since it did not appear the Handlery had a minimart of any kind for those things that you forget. Overall, we would stay here again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neighture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I travel here on business almost monthly. Have stayed here four times now. Always great,. Room is quiet...bar drinks are great...breakfast really good. Bar/Restaurant dinner selection is not really great but not terrible. Staff is very courteous..helpful. Never a problem .
Best I've found for the price. I dont use the shuttle to and from any attractions so that doesnt apply. For a business traveler...its great. Wifi and internet is not great...but I had trouble all over San Diego for that......

Room Tip: pick a room in one of the buildings away form the main building. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Myself and husband stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly and provided us with a map to guide us around the area.

Jeff the shuttle driver was really friendly and took us to the San Diego Zoo (well worth a visit) and then collected us later on in the day. He also, arranged a taxi to take us to the airport at a much cheaper rate than we could have secured ourselves, which was appreciated!

Room service was great and offered a wide selection of options. We did not have the opportunity to visit the restaurant.

The room was clean and spacious, and had a coffee machine and complimentary Wi-fi which came in handy!

We hope to return to San Diego in the future and would definitely book this hotel again!

Room Tip: The rooms closer to reception have a better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolBohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Recently we stayed at the Handlery Hotel in San Diego for a little R&R and to escape the heat at home, where the temps in Palm Desert reaches over 105 this time of the year. We were joined by good friends of ours and we could not have picked a better hotel to stay at.
From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were made to feel welcome. The gal at the front desk made sure we had an excellent room and it was. Jeff, the bell captain and all around guy was a delight, helping us unload our car that was full of baggage for four. He even filled up the ice buckets for us.
The hotel property and decor was pleasant, although a little dated. The location on Hotel Circle North was an ideal spot to explore the city of San Diego. We visited several of our favorite spots, Seaport Village and Balboa Park. Whenever we returned to the hotel after a day of enjoying the 75 degree weather Jeff was there to ask us about how our days of sightseeing went.
Our hotel room was mostly quiet, even though we were not far from the pool. We had breakfast at the "Broken Yoke" each morning, which is located a few miles away.
The only downside was my making wrong turns too many times. My GPS came to the rescue and managed to guide us around the city.
Overall, our stay at the Handlery Hotel was wonderful and my wife and I would highly recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are easy to get around, no waiting for elevators, etc. The pool can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertrat161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights, loved the place, staff very helpful. Love San Diego. Meals in Postcards very nice, pool nice and big, grandchildren loved the pool and spa. Shuttle bus to Old Town was handy, thank you Handlery.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NannaS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed on two separate nights in May and June 2014 and we found the staff very friendly and helpful to us, the location, the shuttle service and pool excellent. It was very good value for money. A very good experience.

Room Tip: Our first room was 327 and we liked it because it was on a corner with large windows on two sides wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were welcomed by Elsa who kindly loaded our luggage on to a cart and waited for us to check in. She took us to our room and mentioned where amenities were located. Julia, Amanda and Theresa were extremely helpful with maps, and letting us know transportation options available with the hotel's shuttle to the Zoo, Sea World, Old Town and the Fashion Valley Mall. Trains and buses are available from the mall and we did not feel the need to rent a car. The shuttle driver Jeff was very friendly and suggested restaurant options in each area of the city we were destined that day and even gave us a discount coupon for Sea World. He was very personable and could talk sports with my husband which impressed him! Cameron was pleasant and happy to provide us with drinks and food at the pool. Ray was a town car driver available to the hotel who helped me get to church in Old Town on my first day there with short notice and was also willing to take us to the airport. His rates were less expensive than a taxi and his car was much more comfortable and clean. We stayed 11 nights and enjoyed day trips each day. Ray suggested Coronodo Island for a beach day where we enjoyed a clean family beach setting. The Coronodo Hotel is worth seeing and Ray was happy to drive us both ways. The staff at the Handerly made our vacation to sunny San Diego a lovely escape from the winter in Calgary!

Room Tip: A second floor pool side room was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,422 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Courtyard San Diego Central
#38 of 286 in San Diego
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Address: 950 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £78 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing