We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pass this one by if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #99 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Rafael, California
1 review
“Pass this one by if you can”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The rating of 3 is because the pool area and hot tub are nice, although I've never seen the pool have an open bar (it's always closed up, even in mid August, really?) and there is no food service or bar service unless you go inside to the bar near the front desk. Ok, let me say that we had to change rooms twice. First room was in very back of bldgs with view of a concrete wall and an apartment building (bad). The sink was clogged so we moved to Rm #2 same wing. Could not get shower to work by pulling up spigot on spout, plus room right by security door which slammed every 5 min or so. Especially at night (ugh). Moved to Rm #3 in Main Bldg. Nicer room with a deck overlooking hills and Hwy 8. High ceilings. Had a bottle of champagne waiting for me in this room (for the inconvenience? thanks ..... appreciate that really I do).
Bed was OK, not too soft, but fine. Bath is very small. Shampoos, soaps are fine.
I did find the stay to be a bit pricey, but this is Fashion Valley in San Diego, and the prices are higher. Parking was included with my package stay. There was a wedding going on the Saturday night we were there so very crowded in pay lot. A beef I had.... When trying to check out the night before we left because we were departing at 3am,(just to see if I owed anything, walked into a mostly deserted lobby, with one check out clerk helping customers, and several other employees standing around basically doing nothing, stood there waiting for 10 - 15 min or so, and no one offered to help or ask if they could help me. Guess that was not their job. The clerk was trying to check in a couple who had a language barrier so everything that the clerk told the female, she would then translate into Spanish for the male. So we just all stood there and waited out the translation session .... ugh! Would have been super nice to acknowledge that you had a customer just waiting and waiting... so I walked out.
Well, won't be back again, sorry but too many negatives to the positives.
Oh yeah, one more thing, you charged my husband $.25 for two sets of plastic cutlery wrapped in plastic. After spending approx $700 for three nights there, REALLY?????!!!!!
OMG

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJeanne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    348
    261
    123
    64
See reviews for
391
312
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Where does one start! We have stayed at Hotels all across America and this has been the worst by far. We stayed at this hotel for a Conference and must say were very glad when we left and certainly won't be returning. We are regular visitors to San Diego and this is definitely OFF the must stay at list. The Hotel is old, dark, still back in the 80's and has a musty smell when you walk into the foyer. We were greeted at the Reception Desk only to be told we were on the first floor (with stairs only) and that there was NO lift. When told this, I thought it was joke, only to discover it wasn't. We had 5 heavy suitcases which were difficult to manage. The first night we had dinner in the dining room (and it was the last), the meal was disgusting. I ordered Steak and clearly asked when ordering if it was plain or came with something on it. I was told it came plain. I did repeat this again just to make sure as I can’t eat meat soaked in sauces. I took a bite and discovered the meat had clearly been marinated and it was unpleasant. 3 people asked me if I enjoyed it when they noticed I wasn't eating the meal and I told them it was inedible, nothing was done about it (very poor in my opinion and not good customer service). I might add one was the General Manager who told me 'well other people think this meal is nice' and she walked off. And of course things only got better. The room was clean, but very small and extremely noisy as we backed onto a very BUSY freeway. The bathroom wasn't big enough to fit 2 people in (barely 1) and there was nowhere to put your bathroom toiletries. Would you like to hear more? The walls are paper thin and we could hear what was playing on the TV in the next room and the occupants discussions, so not cool! We didn't have a vehicle with us so this didn't affect us however, I did over hear several people complaining about the cost of parking when they had already paid to stay, they were expressing how they felt ripped off. I will also mention that we had recently stayed at The Venetian in Las Vegas (a 5 star hotel) which was pure luxury, a 1 bedroom suite with a bathroom which was as big as the entire bedroom at the Handlery and all this was the same price we paid....you decide!

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myopinionreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estela D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Myopinionreview,

We are sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant. I will make sure to forward your review to our management team. Your feed back is appreciated.

Thank you,
Estela D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights & loved it.

Yea the location may not have the best scenery but the hotel itself was very good all the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and I would recommend any other couples to stay here. The pool was just beautiful and the spa which we swam In them both everyday! The restaurant had beautiful food and I was very happy with my stay. The room got cleaned everyday, no personal belongings were moved or touched.

If you have kids, this will be perfect. They play a projector screen with kids movie on it at night which you can watch sitting in or around the pool and spa.

Very happy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stephntrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estela D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Stephntrent,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We would be more than happy to have you as our guests again soon. I am very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the family movies that we play on Friday & Saturday nights by the pool area.

Best regards,
Estela D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

They need to be competitive. Cant believe they charged us for parking. There was no breakfast. I have stayed at many places where the price of the hotel is reasonable and they offer free breakfast. They need to be more competitive.There was no soap in the bathroom. Freezer needed defrosting.

Room Tip: Avoid if you do not want to pay for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estela D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Fatima S.,

We appreciate your feedback to help us provide better service to our guests. I am sorry to hear that there was no soap in your room. This will be forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper. I am hoping that one of our staff members was able to bring you the soap once they were notified.

Thank you,
Estela D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice place! Rooms are nice, bed is comfortable, grounds are well kept, staff is friendly and helpful. We needed connecting rooms. Front desk suggested their Parlor room, it's a beautiful suite with an extended balcony. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you're looking for connecting rooms, ask for the Parlor suites. As a bonus, you get an exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina012California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estela D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Marina012California,

Thank you for the marvelous comments! We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!

Best regards,
Estela D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly Staff. The rooms are a bit small, but an overall great experience. Pool bar is fun!
Just about every room has a great view. It is two minutes away from a golf course and 10 walking minutes from the Fashion Valley mall!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmespino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estela D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Pmespino,

We are always happy to hear feedback as well as praise about our staff. We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Estela D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Ok I had a great time at this hotel, but I don’t get the area. There is a string of these resort hotels on hotel circle, which is basically a frontage road of the I-8. Not sure what that is all about. The hotel is fine once you are inside, but not scenic. If you are looking for a beach hotel is not it.

Once in the side the interstate is left being and the hotel is quiet and comfortable. It is built around a pool court yard and conference center. The rooms in the main building are nice and have balconies over the pool. This maybe a good or bad thing depending on what you want. The other buildings are pretty standard. Nothing great and a bit overpriced with views of more parking lots. Service was great and the staff accommodating.

If you are here for a wedding or convention the hotel is fine if not it better than average but not "very Good". Your call.

Room Tip: Try to stay in main building, avoid the other ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estela D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Oldensign,

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you,
Estela D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#136 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#146 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Property: Handlery Hotel San Diego
Address: 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing