We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give this place a chance when it reopens, we like it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handlery Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #95 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Give this place a chance when it reopens, we like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

I worried myself sick about staying here Nov 14 - 17 because of the reviews of others despite having briefly stayed here in Mar 2003. I should have trusted my own views. We arrived late on Saturday evening and check in was very polite and helpful. We got a king size room over looking car park and freeway. Luckily my husband and I don't mind traffic noise. The aircon in most hotel rooms drowns out everything else. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a little small but you only use it one at a time. The hotel was very empty waiting to close for renovation but staff in Postcards for breakfast and Jeff (?) the courtesy bus driver were great. We didn't have a hire car and managed with this bus and the trolleys and buses to and from Fashion Valley Mall. It is not downtown and not at the beach but for the cost of a UK Premier Inn it is perfect for a short break. Thank you Handlery management and staff and best wishes for reopening.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, owner at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 19 December 2009
Dear MarionSpence
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Handlery Hotel and Resort. I apologize for the air conditioning problem you experienced and the noise from the car park. We have already begun our renovations to the hotel and will be addressing the airconditioning units in all rooms. In addition to new bed linens, furniture, ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions, we will be double paneing all guest rooms that overlook the car park. Thank you again for your feed back and for staying at the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    344
    260
    120
    64
See reviews for
390
309
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

It was a late arrival after a long drive from Los Angeles, heavy suitcases...and NO elevators.....bit of a down side getting up to the room. Room furnishings were very outdated, but clean. Balcony room overlooking the pool area which was beautifully lit overnight and very inviting for an outer city hotel. Handy shop and tour desks for planning day trips, etc. Only ate breakfast here, but the fruit platter was worthy of a picture but I ate it before that could happen. Staff were helpful and friendly. If your in San Diego to see the sights of the city, then unless you like driving and are familiar with the roads I would suggest this might not be the place for you. There is a local bus service that can get you in and out of town for $5.00 a day ( hop on/off ) , but I personally did not use the service. A very large shopping centre/mall within walking distance with a large food hall is another alternative for eating close by.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiebocephus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, General Manager, Pete Lassalette at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry about the inconvenience of no elevator. In your future stays with us, please allow our bell service to do the heavy lifting. We truly do want your stay to be comfortable.

I am glad you are aware of our renovation. Handlery Hotel & Resort is very excited to re-open next February with 4 star accommodations at 3.5 star prices. We look forward to any future visits you might plan with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

I had a package including breakfast and parking whilst visitg a convention locally. The hotel is "mature" but renovation is promised soon. The room itself was fine but the windows were loose and let in a lot of traffic noise as it looked over the car park to freeway. The american breakfast package was limted with no substitions and the waiter was rather rude when pointing that out. Could have been a language difficulty, other wise the staff were well motivated and polite. Free parking was a bonus!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, General Manager, Pete Lassalette at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests stay and welcome your input . I would like to share with you that part of our multi-million dollor renovation includes double paning our windows to lesson outside noise. This renovation will be complete Feb - 2010. We look forward to any future stays you might have with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunny uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

we stayed for 5 nights in nov 09 had a most welcolm reception from the girl on the desk hotel location is good for everything we needed, a short walk from the hotel is a mall which you can access without going near the main highway and there you can for 5 dollars all day ride the trolleybus to any place The men on the desk booked us tickets for the zoo and seaworld and the city tour at reduced rates and provided a free shuttle to anywhere we asked . Staff were helpful, rooms clean and tidy, food was excellent and our waitress freindly and chatty, after reading some of the comments left by people that had a bad time i can only assume they expect too much or are incapable of looking after themselves we honestly could not fault this place

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fullheadofsteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, General Manager, Pete Lassalette at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Handlery Hotel & Resort. As a family owned and operated hotel, we strive to give each guest the best service we can. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return when we have completed our multi-million dollor renovation in February 2010.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Had a 4 night stay here as part of a 2 centre stay in California. The welcome when we arrived at the hotel was not the best we've ever received by any means, with a receptionist demanding a $400 (about £280!) deposit before she'd handed over our room keys. We've had to pay deposits before but felt that this was excessive, especially considering we had no warning prior to travel and our room had been paid for in full. Eventually after a little bartering they agreed a $100 deposit for the stay, but I still didn't enjoy having to argue that ridiculous sum as soon as I arrived. We'd been staying at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco for the previous 4 nights and they required no deposit from us whatsoever. The rooms were motel style and were very average, we had a loose toilet seat which meant a call to maintenence. One good thing though was the provision of a fridge... v. useful. The air con was ok, but again not the best I've come across.
Now the best part of this hotel was the pool area - and a good pool it was too. Especially the hot tub! There always seemed to be clean towels on the sun beds too, and sunbed space was plentiful.
The hotel is situated on a freeway, a little out of the way from the main attractions of San Diego. The only thing within walking distance really was the Fashion Valley Mall. We didn't drive but found the local public transport to be very good, with a 3 day pass costing around $12. The hotel ran a free shuttle to the Old Town which you normally had to pre book in advance, but from the Old Town you can reach the tram and bus network for the city. A member of hotel staff called Kevin often drove the shuttle bus, and he was always very helpful and able to offer advice on things such as which bus route to take etc, and even had advice for our return journey back to the airport.
I'd love to return to San Diego, but would maybe consider staying elsewhere. The rooms are in need of a bit of an update as the bedding and other furnishings furnishings felt a bit cheap, but if the rooms were refurbished, I'd probably give it another go.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdseye77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, General Manager, Pete Lassalette at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I do wish to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the time of check in. We are always trying to improve the guest experience and will take your comments into consideration. I am excited to share with you that we are renovating. Handlery Hotel & Resort will re-open next February after a multi-million dollor renovation. I look forward to another opportunity to provide you with a fantastic vacation experience both at the Handlery Hotel & Resort and in San Diego. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Great time ,Staff was very helpful to all of our needs. Rooms were comfortable.
Pool area was clean and hospitality room personnel were very pleasant

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Were to start. ??? From the room that was tiny and next to a huge carpark or the terribble food in the restaurant or the disgruntled staff who decided to go on strike outside the Hotel wavin placards and screaming at us to"take your Children and run" , needless to say the kids were frightened and Management couldnt even take the time to see if they were okay, or to the fact that it was sooooo far way from anything that you had to get a Taxi to cross 8 lanes of traffic to get to decent restaurant............ the list goes on . Just dont stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwibrit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, owner at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear Guest,
First, let me apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at the Handlery Hotel and Resort. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay as we have always taken pride in exceeding our guest's expectations. I am following up with the management staff regarding your feedback to ensure we return to the high standards that we are famous for. With regards to the union activity, we have endeavored to reach an amicable new contract but have not been successful and believe the proper way to achieve a settlement is at the bargaining table and not by intimidating our guests or staff. We will be closing the hotel in November as part of a complete refurbishment to the property and I am confident that our product and service will meet your expectations. Thank you again for your comments and my apologies that your stay was not an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#149 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Property: Handlery Hotel San Diego
Address: 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing